We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder woods experience”
Review of Wonder Woods

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panchgani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wonder Woods
Reviewed 14 May 2012

On a recent unplanned trip to Panchgani with my family, I happened to stay @ wonder woods. The resort is very thoughtfully designed and it reflects the interest the Owner has in it. On the first day we stayed in leaf nest, a good room but not much of natural light into it, so we shifted to Wood nest the other day, which is located near the swimming pool area {which was not operational}. This room was good with bathroom given the real jungle like feeling... It had a hammock in the verandaha.. The food was good, only the breakfast was a bit dissappointing with not much of choice into the same. The surroundings are pleasant. There were go karting bikes, but they were not functional, so my kid was dissapointed that nether the pool or bikes were there to play.... Wonder woods can be definately be my choice on my next visit...

Room Tip: Wood nest surely, only if you can adjust without AC..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just had a recent trip to Panchgani & stayed @ wonder woods resort, the resort is creatively constructed & has a nice surrounding to it , however the room,tent house where we stayed was horibble it was made of cloth and the kitchen of the resort was bang nex to it so whole time there was noise from the kitchen & the washroom of the kitchen, coudnt sleep a wink at day time....also the bed provided was creaky which made a lot of noise...pls do visit the resort but do not stay @ the tent house room...there are other good rooms there which are much better placed & secluded also...where one can sleep peacefully & rest better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Wonder Woods is a spacious property situated below Panchgani's landmark Table Land, about 1km from the market area. The rooms are spread out over several cottages, some of them in heritage colonial style.

We stayed there twice this September at negotiable and reasonable off season rates. On both our stays we were the only guests. On weekends, occupancy is high even during off season.

Liyakat Shaikh the proprietor is courteous and friendly. The staff too are welcoming and polite. Our room was bright, airy and extra clean, aesthetically furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and large with good ventilation and a lot of light.

Parking is more than adequate and there is a play area with several activities on offer to keep children thoroughly occupied.

On our first visit, we thoroughly enjoyed the typical local home cooked meals, deliciously prepared by their lady cook of long standing. On our second visit we had a grouse as the meals were not prepared on time inspite of our placing the order well in advance. The same cook seemed to have an attitude this time, taking it upon herself to decide at what time we should eat dinner and breakfast. The previous day, the cook lady had called us while we were out and asked us our choice of meals but surprisingly in the evening when we came back, she offered us something totally different which did not appeal. We then said we would buy the veggies from the market which she could cook and gave her two different veggies at about 6.30pm, telling her to prepare both. At 8.50pm she served us just one vegetable and said she had kept the second one for the next day! The second instance was that we had ordered a simple breakfast at 7am, she sounded diffident but said okay she could do it by 7.30am. At 7.30am there was no sign of breakfast though the cook was very much in the kitchen. After two reminders, she served us at 8.50am. We declined the order but agreed to pay for it as she said she would be in trouble otherwise. It was not a very nice way to end the otherwise good stay.

We suggested to Mr Shaikh when we checked out that the catering required sorting out. He apologised and I hope he does something about it for Wonder Woods is otherwise, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Check all the rooms available and then decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Clean but basic rooms, helpful host (mr.shaikh), and a good location close to the panchgani market. Excellent value for money from a pricing point of view. Please note that the rooms are fairly basic and cannot be compared to a 3* property but are way above an mtdc.

The only con is the food which leaves a lot to be desired in every aspect - options, taste, speed of preparation, service (no room service). A trip to the market or nearby hotels is therefore essential for a good meal.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gogi_Iimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panchgani hotels
1.4 km away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#5 of 15 in Panchgani
229 reviews
0.0 km away
Pan Hill Hotel
Pan Hill Hotel
#7 of 15 in Panchgani
31 reviews
0.5 km away
Ravine Hotel
Ravine Hotel
#3 of 15 in Panchgani
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 15 in Panchgani
85 reviews
0.9 km away
Sherbaug Theme Park and Resort
4.1 km away
Exotic Home Stay - Panchgani
Exotic Home Stay - Panchgani
#22 of 51 in Panchgani
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder Woods

Address: Plot No 240, Panchgani 412805, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Panchgani
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Panchgani
Price Range: $33 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Wonder Woods Panchgani, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing