We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to the beauty of Lakshadweep islands”
Review of Bangaram Island

Bangaram Island
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bangaram
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We flew in from Kochi to Agatti by the only flight operated by Alliance Air in the morning. Be sure to carry a printout of your entry permit for Lakshadweep since this is verified by the airline prior to check-in. At Agatti airport the representative of SPORTS helps you with the taxi to the jetty to catch ferry for Bangaram. The ferry takes between 45 to 60 minutes depending on the type of vessel.
At Bangaram, you are received by the resort manager who then briefs you about the facility and arranges for you to be taken to your cottage. Currently only non-AC cottages given to tourists, since the AC cottages are reserved for Govt. staff. We were told that there are plans to convert cottages to AC in the near future.
The cottages are comfortable and have an air-cooler that is periodically replenished with water by house-keeping staff. There is no provision for hot water in the bathroom. Another thing to be kept in mind is that the bathroom water stinks of sulphur. It is preferable to fill the bucket and let it stand for few hours to reduce the smell, prior to using it. The resort provides 1 bottle of drinking water per person per day in the room. Housekeeping staff does the rounds daily to clean the cottage, make the beds and replace towels.
A decent buffet breakfast is provided catering to Indian / western palate. The lunch buffet is mostly South Indian style food, although spice levels are way down (bordering on bland / insipid) to cater to foreign tourists. The dinner buffet is served on the beach and has a mix of Indian / Western style dishes, with similarly bland spice levels. The baked items and desserts were consistently good.
Bangaram is the sole island in Lakshadweep where liquor is served, although the choice is limited.
The resort provides various water sports activities like kayaking, knee-boarding, water-skiing, wind surfing, banana ride, glass-bottomed boat, turtle watching, snorkelling, etc.
Snorkelling is excellent near the ship-wreck in the lagoon (shared with Thinnakara island) and the water level is shallow enough for sunlight to reach the sea-bed for great visibility. The timing for this visit has to be according to the tide level. The other spots are deeper and the visibility is impacted. Various types of coral and fish are found in abundance, although some level of coral bleaching / dead coral is seen. Comparatively, Kavarati and Minicoy have more number of shallow snorkelling spots for greater sea-life / coral visibility.
Scuba diving for first-timers is done near the shore itself without a boat, since the beach in front of the resort has a steep gradient and quickly reaches a depth of 6 meters.
Depending on the tide, one get a great sunset view from the sand-bank near the helipad side of the island. During low tide, one can walk across to the sand-bank.
On a full moon night, the moonlight is enough to light up the beach for a cosy walk after dinner. Prior to moon-rise, when the night sky is pitch black, you may be able to experience the momentary glow of bio-luminescent plankton on the shore when the waves hit the beach. It is as if tiny flickering green lights are strung up on the beach.

One can easily walk around the island in about an hour along the beach paths (no concrete / tiled pathways on the island). There is a lake in the middle of the island that provides the piped water. But it is not a beautiful sight and has greenish water. The beach on west side has comparatively more shallow water than the east side,

The resort provides packed breakfast for the ferry ride back to Agatti island since it is usually early morning.

Special mention for Mr Asif & Mr Salim from the water sports team and Mr Mohammed from the restaurant / bar.

Recommend a stay of at least 3 nights to enjoy fully.

Date of experience: March 2018
12  Thank Himalay_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"turtle watch"
in 7 reviews
"non ac"
in 6 reviews
"water sports"
in 24 reviews
"scuba diving"
in 28 reviews
"speed boat"
in 7 reviews
"resort staff"
in 5 reviews
"crystal clear water"
in 6 reviews
"during low tide"
in 4 reviews
"the cottages"
in 3 reviews
"sand bank"
in 2 reviews
"early morning"
in 3 reviews
"foreign tourists"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"glass boat"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful corals"
in 2 reviews
"boat journey"
in 2 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018

You can walk the perimeter of the island in 45 minutes. The beaches are beautiful and lovely to swim in. The front of the island where the resorts are does not have a gradually sloping beach. The beach drops suddenly and can be dangerous if you don't know swimming.

Date of experience: February 2018
6  Thank Nutan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

It was a heaven among the islands of the Lakshadweeps. We started from Agathi in the early morning as our friends arranged a good boat and the boat man want a high tide for the safe journey. We were 10 of us in a group, with sufficient food and water in store as there is very few option in the island.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank AnamikaK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

The island is beautiful but I thought Thinnakara was even more so. Very romantic and private. The food is delicious. However there is not much to do: no parties no music just a canoe, snorkeling or maybe a windsurf if you have enough wind.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

My family including my 6 year old daughter visited Bangaram during the month of December, 2017 and we would like to share our expertise of our visit to Bangaram Island. I last visited Bangaram in 2008 when it was run by Casino group , so a lot of anticipation on how it will be under SPORTS now.

Heavan on Earth
To our satisfaction , once we reach Bangaram that pristine charm of the old Bangaram resort is still maintained. We really enjoyed our 3 nights stay at Bangaram Island presently operated by SPORTS (Lakshadweep Tourism) and earlier operated by Casino. We have really enjoyed the mother earth natural beauty right from sun raise to sun set during our 3 days stay. Our rooms are neat & clean, the comfort of sleep is good and I think its not right when folks expect things like AC/hot water etc. CGH Earth originally created this resort as close to mother earth without any modern comforts and you stay in the lap of nature , that was the USP of the resort and I hope it stays like that.

Five Cheers to Food
Our package is inclusive of food and it starts with morning high tea / coffee, breakfast, lunch, evening high tea / coffee and Dinner. The quality and spread of food items and varieties are really excellent and not repetitive. The timing to serve the food was maintained picture perfect and always 15 to 30 minutes earlier than the schedule. The service level right from breakfast to dinner was really excellent and all the serving staff served the food / our special requests always with smile. Shaafi who heads F&B and his team are just great.

Water Sports
Bangaram is having the best excellent water sports team in Lakshadweep headed by the dynamic Asif who is ex-Indian Air Force . On day 1 after our arrival and lunch we have gone for kayaking with our 6 year old daughter. We have reached nearest land point and spent some time with our kid. Next day morning we saw the entire land portion submerged into water due to high tide. After our Kayaking we have gone other side of the island to see the sun set and the walk to witness the different colour of the sky during sun set was really excellent and memorable. Dive instructor Mohammed was such a wonderful host to walk us around the shallows.

On Day 2 we have gone for Scuba Diving and we could able to see the underwater world to the maximum extent. The important point is this was our first experience on diving and we dont know the swimming too. The team lead by Dive instructor Mohammed was really excellent and they ensured our safety and made us to see the underwater world. After our Diving we have gone for snorkelling near old ship wrecks and we could able to see colourful fishes right from small to big sizes including star fishes.

After our snorkelling we have gone for turtle watch in the see through glass boat. We could able to see so many turtles and we are able to witness the speed of the turtle swimming in the water. On day 3 we have gone for shore snorkelling and after that we got our life time experience on WOW Thriller boat which tied up with speed boat and thrown us into middle of the sea. Wow board experience was real thriller. Here also Mr.Asif and his team done real excellent job to give us maximum experience.

Our Overall Experience Right from our entry to the Bangaram Island till we exit we have really enjoyed to the maximum. The General Manager Mr. YUSUF was present during breakfast, lunch and dinner without fail and ensured we are enjoying the food and we could able to see he had his food only after all the guests were served. This was very nice of him and exposed the quality of service he was providing to his guests.

Some little Draw backs

Water odur was not good and the colour of the water takes 30 minutes to settle down due to its sulphur content below the island . Although nothing to be worried as this is real natural remedy for our body also as its good for sking, but now they are trying for desalination plant also.

The other thing is its very difficult to contact the SPORTS authorities Cochin office to get our booking confirmation after remitting the amount into their account as advised by them. After trying so much we followed up so many times to get the confirmation.

Tips for booking:
• Would be cost effective to book direct with SPORTS , although contacting their Cochin booking office is little difficult
• Atleast take 3 nights/4 days plan to cover maximum stuff

Anyone of you need any more insights , you are welcome to reachout

Date of experience: December 2017
22  Thank Vipin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangaram Island also viewed

 

Been to Bangaram Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing