We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
692
271
43
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
271
43
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paper making cgh earth elephant grass mile restaurant coconut lagoon snooker table cgh group thatched bungalows tiger club brunton boatyard eco hotel main restaurant cooking demonstration solar panels individual cottages trees and plants southern india
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately, the check-in experience is important and ours was not good. We arrived at the Spice Village at 1.00 pm and our room was not ready. We were tired after a long drive and wanted to rest. Instead, we were ushered to have lunch at the restaurant, which we did not want. Our room and access to wifi was still not available after we finished our lunch. We sat outside our room until it was ready at 2.30pm. However, the room was lovely: clean, roomy and homely. Food at the Spice Village was expensive. Staff service was very friendly and helpful. Probably other properties in the area that would be better value.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Spice Village!!!!

First of all let me apologize to you for the delay in getting the room on arrival. Unfortunately we had a late group check out on the same day,which was the actual cause of the issue. But I know there is no excuse, when it relates to the guests comfort. Will try our best to not to repeat these kind of issues in future. Believe apart from this particular issue, you had some quality time in Spice Village. Hope you will give us a chance next time to provide our best of service.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General manager
Spice Village

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We have just returned from Kerala and were lucky enough to spend some time at the Spice Village Hotel. The grounds and cottages are beautiful and very peaceful. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel special and very very welcome. You really feel their enthusiasm about the hotel. iThe food is excellent, the spa is excellent. The activities available are excellent. We loved the museum bar and the tiger club and all the history and nature attached to the property. Our one regret is that we only had two nights there which was not enough. Could not fault anything.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Spice Village!!!!!!!

Delighted to know that your stay with us met with your expectations. We always strive to improve and provide the very best in services to our valued guests. Excited to see the cation you have given "Home from home". Looking forward to your next visit to your second home soon!

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Excellent property, excellent service, excellent food, excellent amenities, excellent staff.Hence a stay for less than 2 nights would be doing injustice to the place and for your money too. Its an organic resort, most of the resources are generated within the periphery of the resort. Ample of activities to do in the resort. The resort is placed just 10 minutes from Periyar wildlife Sanctuary main gate. This resort is ideal for couples, families, solo...

There is no television in the room as holidays are meant to be spent outside the room and rooms are meant to relax, but if you don't believe in this philosophy then carry your own entertainment dosage on your laptop and tabs. Carry mosquito repellent.

If you are in Thekkady, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Spice Village!!!!!111

A big thank you for your great feedback on the experience you had with us. This will definitely encourage the entire team members to enhance the service quality. It gives us immense pleasure to know that people like you are appreciating and accepting the strong philosophy and concept that we follow in cgh, where we try our best to preserve the culture,tradition,history and most importantly preserving our mother earth. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This hotel was fabulous. The room, service, food were exceptional. My only regret is that we did not stay for longer.
We had a little bungalow which was spotless.
The restaurant was buffet style and had a lot of choices. Could not decide which dessert to have, so had all 6!

Stayed: September 2016
Thank sugarpuff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Spice Village!!!!!!!!

Delighted to read your feedback on the experience in Spice Village. Will definitely convey it to the team members. Am sure we will meet next time for a much longer stay. See you soon.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

What a wonderful place, very helpful and friendly staff, gorgeous little houses to stay in, very roomy, very clean, lovely smell of spices everywhere. Fantastic breakfast. Great location. Sooo relaxing, would highly recommend to anyone considering.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Guest

"Greetings from Spice Village"....

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback on this travel forum. Your positive commendations to the entire team has already been communicated to them and it is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services and facilities as it is what we strive for every day.We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again for another experiential holiday with us.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews