We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place for Lunch and Dinner”
Review of Restaurant Ambadi

Restaurant Ambadi
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Thekkady
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ambadi is Thekkady’s first heritage hotel built in the likes of a traditional Kerala village. The resplendent architecture and buildings blend with the stunning background of the wildlife sanctuary. Traditional hospitality greets you to a fine experience, blending the modern and the antiquated.
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We had chapatis, beef fry, beef curry, chicken chilli, puttu, fried rice and kerala parotta. All were good. But go with kerala cuisine and you will enjoy. Given that Puttu was good, I guess breakfast also will be worth a try.

1  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Restaurant Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback about our restaurant Aditi. We are really thankful to you for providing an opportunity to serve you and it was nice to hear that you enjoyed the food. It is wonderful to read such lovely comments from our guests as we feel encouraged by your kind words of appreciation. We have shared your comments with our entire team who are all delighted.
Thank you once again for your lovely review. Our entire team will look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

We had 3 meals here. Dinner, breakfast and lunch. Food quality was consistently good but service was slow. One should consider having food here if one has sufficient time in hand.

Thank NeerajG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Restaurant Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review on trip advisor. While we are glad you appreciated our food quality, we are sorry you were disappointed with our service. Your concerns have been informed to the team members and we assure you that corrective actions will been taken to avoid future recurrence. We do hope to welcome you back once again and serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Chicken curry - chicken was not cooked properly. We could not eat it..
Beef fry - they burned it. We could eat
Garlic nan - ordered it but what came was normal nan

Luckily the ghee chapati was ok.

All in all we had to walk out without having lunch

Thank ajitmathews82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Restaurant Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

We are really thankful for taking time to share your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have experienced with the food served. Your feedback enables us to continue to strive towards improving our services. However, we have requested our staff to specifically take note of the factors which caused inconvenience to you and assure you that effective step will be taken for rectifying the same immediately.
We once again thank you for the feedback and look forward to welcome you back again to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

The food was average..We went for the lunch and the service was very poor.We were waiting for the food for a long time.We ordered for biriyani and the raitha was served after we finished the meal.Such a terrible experience

Thank Nirmal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Restaurant Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

We thank you for visiting our restaurant and sharing your feedback with us. Firstly, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and appreciate you for pointing out the factors which need improvement for providing the finest service to our valuable guests like you. We will definitely take necessary steps to rectify the problems in future and shall instruct our team members too. Your feedback enables us to continue to strive towards improving our services and look forward to welcome you back to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We had lunch at this place as it was recommended by the staff at the hotel we stayed. Good service but the food could have been better. We ordered veg thali meal and it was poor not the ordinary thali meal you will expect. Overall, its not to our satisfaction.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sylvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Restaurant Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you found our services good but disappointed with the meals you ordered.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Your valuable concerns have been passed on to our team and measures have been taken in the best interest of our valued patrons.
We, once again, apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Ambadi also viewed

 
Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Restaurant Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing