We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Holiday”

Whispering Palms Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kottayam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Palms Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We stayed her for 2 nights in early december. It is a great hotel with good staff. There were performances by the pool both evenings. The food is good, though you might want to try the ala carte option for variety.

For activities, there is nothing much. You could go for a cruise in a house boat, the hotel will arrange for it. Or you could just spend time sitting near the back waters and taking in the beautiful view.

It might be better to take a lake view room if your budget allows.

Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asterissk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Whispering Palms Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2007

This is a beautiful resort set just beside the big lake. I was here for 5 days with my wife. We were looking for tranquil vacation in nature and we got just that. Resort has nice lake side rooms. It hasa a small pier to enjoy sunsets and quiet mornings, hammocks, nice swimming pool with a breeze from the lake and very nice indian cuisine varieties. Only one problem was there are lot of bugs in the night but thats outside the room so that was not a big deal for us. In short, we liked the stay and are definitely coming back whever we can.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank sarangd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We set out to stay at another hotel that several friends had used and recomended. We were disappointed that space was not available and I used this site and our agent in India to find the best replacement. We were totally impressed with the result.

This is an India based chain (Abad) that seems to be able to serve the Indian market as well as the western one with an approach that works. There are several types of accomodation but ours was a huge cottage with a private garden and a Kerala type exterior washroom. It was amazingly modern, spacious and very pleasant.

The food is buffet style Indian with a huge selection which allows us western types to see and taste the variety. I don't think anyone could walk away unsatisfied and you could learn a lot.

Service was great. Bars non-existant although they're happy to provide ice and mixes. Locale, pool and views supurb.

If you are looking for all the comforts of a western hotel, this won't cut it. If you are looking fo a 5 star local experience with great service, you've found it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

Great all inclusive resort in Kerala. Nice pool, wonderful location near the lakes, when you rent a lake boat it will come and pick you up at the pier in front of the hotel.

Clean and fresh pool

Lots of choice of food, mostly veg.

No alcohol available, able to buy your own and drink in your room, none in public areas.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank Lambert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

This hotel was stunning, beautifuly located on the watersedge of the infamous Keralan backwaters. The room was lovely and the food was good to. The swimming pool was very good with a stunning backdrop, however be warned - the bathrooms are open air with a mosquito net as a ceiling - however the bugs will get in! - a tip is keep the light of, the door shut and make sure you take insect repellent!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank samloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
0.0 km away
The Windsor Castle
The Windsor Castle
#5 of 28 in Kottayam
175 reviews
0.0 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
181 reviews
0.0 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
0.0 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
741 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Kottayam

Been to Whispering Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Resort

Address: New Nazareth Church Road | Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kottayam 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range: $104 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Hotel Kottayam
Whispering Palms Resort Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing