We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and professional ayurvedic retreat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Kottayam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2010

From reception to kitchen staff to treatment ladies... people were so nice!!! The place is so magnificent and what makes this place so special is definitely people who work there. Founded by a father of the wife who run this place, now managed by the husband who is an ayurvedic doctor. The doctor is so thoughtful and passionate about what he does... I really had a very special time there. I think the doctor's passion and dedication influence the way all the staffs work there. Treatment ladies are very well trained and work extremely hard and very attentive to my needs. Foods are sourced by the doctor's father everyday, prepared by long family friend lady, served by a very nice guy who has been there for two years.

There was a medical consultation everyday and he really cared about my well being and my goal. The treatments are at least twice daily and mostly conducted by two ladies at a time... which is very rare.

Any arrangement is possible by the reception lady and other front office staffs. My request to go on backwater in the morning was made possible by hiring a private boat guy who is a family friend of theirs, accompanied by the founder of the place (the father of the wife who runs the place) We got a personal guided tour of backwater by the father along with specially packed breakfast for the trip. My three ocklock departure was escorted by two front office staffs who especially got up at 3 in the morning and dressed just to send my luggage off. They saw me off until my car drove off from the property. Really, speechlessly nice and heart warming.

The accommodation itself is very basic and yoga classes are nothing so special but experience was so magnificent. there are many who are regulars and keep coming back every year. There are many who also come with the real symptoms to be treated in ayurvedic methods as the doctor is a real medical professional.

Highly recommended who is looking for authentic treatment and looking for laid back, local retreat. there is no other place like it!!

PS Supposedly, there are opening up #2 property in years time as the founder's son is also getting an ayurvedic medical degree in a year time. Stay tuned!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gourmetseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 555 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2010

It is not the first time we did visit The Athreya. The treatements are excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpfull. Thanks to the whole Athreya team for the good time we have spent here. We will come again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ewalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I stayed for two weeks in September, toward the end of the rainy season. The Ayurveda treatments were very relaxing, the staff extremely friendly and the rooms clean and quiet. This is a place for someone trying to get away from a pressured life. The doctors at the Athreya are extremely attentive and customize the treatments to fit the needs of their clients. Here, the emphasis is on the treatments and trying to improve the guests' health. But there are plenty of options for shopping and treatments to keep things interesting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pathfinder111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I began my year in Athreya with a wonderfull ayurvedic treatment. Since we arrived we received the best atention, really serious treatments with profesional people.
Dr. Sreejit is a great doctor and a great person, he was atending us personaly and everyone in the resort make us have a really beautifull experience. I definitely will go again as soon as I have the chance.
If anyone is looking for a deep ayurvedic health treatment don´t hesitate to contact them, I saw amazing recoverings of many deseases, and Im sure that the love and kind that they give to all the patients with the good medication makes Athreya one of the bests ayurvedic centers in the world.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
4  Thank Sietelunas2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Very friendly and welcoming .clean with essential facility. Good treatment. Great Treatment and great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paz_10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
11 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
891 reviews
13.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
25.6 km away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Windsor Castle and lake village heritage resort
7.8 km away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
5.1 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 29 in Kottayam
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athreya Ayurvedic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athreya Ayurvedic Centre

Address: Pakkil, Kottayam 686001, India (Formerly Athreya Ayurvedic Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kottayam
Price Range: AU$266 - AU$341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Athreya Ayurvedic Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athreya Ayurvedic Hotel
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing