We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
315
14
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews neema and prasad vypeen island her husband a short ferry ride cooking lesson great grandfather beautiful house sao gabriel fort cochin fabulous cook cooking class lovely family home away from home local culture welcoming hosts ensuite bathroom wonderful hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nothing is too much trouble for Neema and her family. We had a very comfortable night's stay here, with an amazing dinner and breakfast (and plenty of it!) As other reviews say, this homestay is only a short ferry ride across to old Fort Cochin. Neema had a good iterinary of suggested things to do and see in Cochin, and she will also help with bookings elsewhere in Kerela. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Based on prior tripadvisor reviews, and on trip-planning email exchanges with Neema, we had high expectations of our stay the Bungalow; our experience exceeded all of our expectations.

Neema and Prasad are very engaging and congenial hosts. Prasad spent more than 20 years sailing freighters around the world. After they married, Neema sailed with him for more than 10 years. Several years ago, when their daughter, Olivia, was ready to start school, they returned to Kochi, where Prasad now is a harbor pilot. And we consider ourselves very fortunate, indeed, that Neema started the homestay as a hobby.

The Bungalow has been in Neema’s family for several generations. It is a beautiful and well-maintained 3-story home. Neema and Prasad gave us a tour of the house one evening, and we very much enjoyed hearing about its history. Our room, a suite with connected bathroom, was perfect.

The Bungalow’s location in a residential neighborhood on Vypeen Island across from Fort Kochi was also a plus. There appear to be no hotels and no other home stays on Vypeen. It is a short walk from the Bungalow to the Vypeen ferry dock, where there are also a number of small shops selling snacks, fruit, water, etc. It is a short and enjoyable ride (2 rupees) across the mouth of the harbor to Fort Kochi. Also, there is a small Hindu temple down the road from the Bungalow, and several small Christian shrines between the Bungalow and the ferry dock. It seems Vypeen has a long and interesting history, and I wish we had found the extra time to explore it.

My wife’s cooking lesson with Neema was outstanding, and so was the food – at every meal. We had planned to splurge on a fine dinner in Fort Kochi one evening. However, after eating Neema’s cooking, we decided that we were unlikely to find a better south Indian meal, and so did not even try. We are also grateful that Neema was so generous in sharing her recipes.

Moreover, from the outset, Neema was very helpful in planning our trip. She responded promptly and thoroughly to each of my emails. And she also helped make our travel arrangements elsewhere in Kerala, including booking a houseboat for one night and a driver for four days. The houseboat was excellent. And, the next day, Neema telephoned just to make sure all was well. The driver and car she arranged were also first-rate. Everything Neema arranged was flawless.

We are glad that we now have friends in Kerala, and only wish we had stayed more than three nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAAMSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed with Neema Prasad and their lovely daughter Olivia who welcomed us into their beautiful home which had been in Neema's family for many generations. The location of The Bungalow was excellent with the ferry a 2 minute walk and our guest room's were very comfortable, clean and on a seperate level to the family with air conditioning and overhead fan's. Neema was an excellent cook and we had memorable, informative and interesting conversations and interactions with the family including Neema's elderly parents. I highly recommend this friendly and beautiful homestay. Regards Jenny

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This will be a most memorable part of our around the world trip. While I have traveled to India before, this was my first trip to Kerela. I wasn't sure what to expect but the ease at which we have been taken care of by Neema and her family has made this the perfect way to begin our Indian segment. Our room is spacious and comfortable, the food delicious and Neema has taken care of every possible concern: arranging for a taxi to pick us up upon arrival, information and directions for future sights, thoughtful conversations about life and travel. The location is ideal for it is a 5 minute walk to the 3 minute ferry that crosses the canal to Fort Cochin, which is fun way to begin and end the day. The comfort and loveliness of the family, their home, their generosity of time with needed information makes this a perfect introduction to South India. I wholeheartedly recommend this home stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt part of this lovely family. Neema did everything she could to ensure we had a wonderful 5 days in Cochin and saw all the sights. The bungalow is spotlessly clean and Neema's cooking a real treat. The location is ideal for ferry hopping around the islands and is only a short walk from The Bungalow. We agree with the previous reviews and have no hesitation in highly recommending a stay in this fabulous heritage property.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nippynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews