We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bungalow Heritage Homestay
Ranked #7 of 488 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent two nights with Neema and her family at the beginning of February 2012. The stay made a wonderful start to our tour of Kerala. We endorse everything written in earlier reviews and can recommend a stay in the Bungalow wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillHeadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

What a great find The Bungalow was! Neema is such a helpful host and incredible cook. She helped us with our itinery and even found a local tailor for us. The house is full of character and we appreciated being in Vypeen too.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allaround1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I had a very nice welcome from Neema and her family. The whole heritage property is beautifully kept and extremley clean. The food was delicious and fresh as Neema did go shopping on the day of my arrival for dinner in the evening. It's a very hospitable family and you will most likely meet all of them. The room was very big with also an attached, big bathroom with a European shower. If you are looking for a quality accomodation with very nice hosts at affordable prices you should stay here. It's ony a short ferry trip over to Fort Kochi. Neema is also very helpful in suggesting trips and places to vist. Many thanks to all of you for making my stay so wonderful - unfortunately I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Switzerland_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Myself and two friends travelled to Kochi in late January 2012. When organising our trip, we stumbled across the Bungalow Heritage Homestay on Tripadvisor, and with all its excellent reviews, we simply had to enquire. From our very first email, Neema organised our entire 5 day Kerelan adventure including accommodation, taxis and activities across Alleppey, Munnar and Kochi itself - we hardly had to lift a finger! It was great to have Neema's input with accommodation, as there are so many places to stay in Munnar and houseboat companies, it can be overwhelming. Neema only sends her guests to places she has personally inspected and hence, our accommodation in these places was fantastic.

Neema, Prasad and Olivia were more than hospitable hosts. We felt right at home when we arrived very late in the evening after a delayed flight, only to find dinner had been kept warm and waiting for us. With the copious amounts of delicious food, you will never go hungry at Neemas! Be sure to double check lunch/dinner prices at the Bungalow, as it can be more expensive than eating out. However, the quality of Neema's food is far superior to any other meal we had in India!

The rooms were fantastic; spacious, clean, airconditioned and with access to a large bathroom with constant hot water (after travelling in India for 5 weeks, you realise that this is a real treat!)

All in all, I would certainly recommend the Bungalow Heritage Homestay to all travellers looking for a relaxing, friendly and hospitable homestay. For those travellers on a budget, it might be good to know that improved living standards in Kerela (comparative to the rest of India) means things are generally more expensive. But in saying that, Neema was worth her weight in gold!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Bungalow Heritage Homestay was a great experience and a perfect way to end our travels in India. Neema and her family were very welcoming to us and ensured we had an enjoyable stay.
Prior to our trip, Neema assisted us in organising a houseboat tour and a trip to the tea plantation which guaranteed our week would be well planned and stress free.
Neema's cooking is delicious and there are always plenty of options; your bound to be offered multiple serves. Neema was very accommodating with allergies and went out of her way to ensure she did not cook with anything that I could not eat. The dinner is somewhat expensive when compared with food prices in India but there is always plenty on offer!
The rooms were lovely and spacious with great AC, hot water and comfortable beds. The Bungalow is kept very clean and has a homey feel. I would definitely recommend the Bungalow Heritage Homestay if you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy some South Indian Cuisine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Russ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
335 reviews
1.4 km away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
180 reviews
0.9 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 36 in Ernakulam
457 reviews
1.4 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,456 reviews
1.2 km away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#12 of 488 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalow Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalow Heritage Homestay

Address: Near St. Theresa's Chapel | Vypeen, Kochi (Cochin) 682508, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $85 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bungalow, located at Vypeen side of the harbor mouth of Port of Cochin, with its own history and culture. Built in 1930, this heritage building of Vypeen is a mixture of Portuguese, Dutch and Kerala architectures. Vypeen is a meld of Portuguese, Dutch and English influences; where history is alive even today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bungalow Heritage Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalow Heritage Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing