We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still don't now what to think...”
Review of Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casino Hotel
Ranked #25 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Liedekerke, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Still don't now what to think...”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Almost a year has gone by since we stayed in this hotel and still we find it necessary to tell the story as it happened.We stayed here for two nights on a tour through Kerala,saturday & sunday of the Easter-weekend.The hotel is located on Willingdon island,so we were separeted from the noisy citycenter which pleased us. On arrival we where greeted by a very friendly gentleman, he came to sit with us in the lobby and explained all there is to now about the hotel. Check-in was done in no time. We where provided a nice room (picture 1) with view at the garden and swimming pool,plenty of pillows on the bed and nice clean sheets. A/C turned silent and efficient. The bathroom showed some signs of ageing, we encountered a problem with the flush system (which was repared without delay at first demand).Diner at the seafood restaurant (picture 2) was just great,with freschly-caught fish and prawns,only minus: because of Easter no wine or beer was served.First day breakfast was really a treat: a young and superb friendly lady helpt us to chose out of three different types of breakfast:Continental, Kerala-style or Indian.Being a food-lover i chose The Kerala breakfast (picture 3) which was nice:rice-pancakes with chicken,coconut-cream,carrots and ginger. Same story over at lunchtime,new flavours and combinations which we tasted and highly appreciated.Came Easter-sunday....we went for breakfast with high expectations because of the day before everything was so great. A waiter came to us and aigain we could chose inbetween the same types as yesterday, at the same time a lady had just finished her breakfast and another waiter came to organise her table,suddenly he came to us from behind the waiter that was helping us and almost threw the used breadbasket on to our table with these words: "There is your breakfast !" The first waiter was almost speechless and he practically runned away. This event was such a downfall...how is it possible that something that appeared so great was annihilated by just one person??What did we do wrong?? We left the restaurant quitly, went to or room, packt our suitcases and checkt-out. Untill today we remember the face and name tag of this person.This kind of behavior is very bad if you wish to uphold the good name of the establishment.This story really happend as it is told.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kretenzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    244
    95
    33
    16
See reviews for
154
179
37
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was our first hotel in a tour of Kerela. We arrived in the (very) early morning, but were due to check inthat afternoon, but the hotel staff kindly agreed o check us in on arrival so we could sleep, so we effectively had an extra night for free. This was typical of the kind helpfulness of the staff. The hotel wasn't the most modern we stayed in during our trip, but its slightly worn feel added to the atmosphere. The dining room across from the main entrance was very good. It was well placed to take a walk to sample some of the local life. Take a walk to the tourist information ofice at the docks.. terrific atmosphere. Also take a walk around the corner to the local diner (can't remember the name, three letters something like BHT). We had a meal for two with lashings of fresh juice for 300 rupees.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WellingtonTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vive President Marketing at Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on your stay with us at Casino Hotel. Casino was the first hotel we opened which laid the foundation for many more resorts across South India in the last 56 years and retains a lot of the old world charm that it was born into.
Thanks for you kind remarks on its team; we look forward to seeing you at some of our other resorts in the future.
Regards,
Anjali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed on 2 separate nights during our tour of Kerala. It is on Willingdon Island and whilst this was a longer drive from airport, we found it quite well placed for visiting Fort Kochi or for travelling on to Allepy. Friendly staff, large comfortable rooms. Bathrooms slightly tired but full bath provided. Buffet dinners offered wide choice and eat as much as you like. However on second evening, we were the only people in the restaurant and although the band were there, they obviously decided it was not worth playing just for us! Good size pool however got badly bitten by Mosquitos in the early evening. There was some kind of union demonstration outside the hotel when we left, which was slightly un-nerving but all was fine. Overall we found this to be a relaxing, quiet location with good food for breakfast and evening.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your thumbs up for Casino Hotel and it's location. Willingdon Island is truly a quiet oasis in the otherwise bustling Kochi.
Have noted your feedback on our bathrooms and the mosquitoes.
We hope you might come back and visit some of the other resorts run by the group on your next visit to Kerala.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriolo Romano, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The location is away from the bustle of Kochi/Ernakulam on one hand and the old fort area on the other. However communications are frequent and inexpensive. Auto rickshaw, Taxi and Ferries are available.We find the name "Casino" misleading, this is not a flashy, glitzy "palace", but a quiet, well kept Hotel. The staff is friendly and obliging. If we go back to Kochi, we will return to this moderately priced Hotel. The bathroom amenities were presented in little terracotta ware, plastic is totally avoided, (except for payment!)

Room Tip: View of the pool, even room numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed at the casino hotel recently with friends. The place has its own rustic charm and old world feeling but the hotel is in dire need for someserious renovation. The services levels and friendliness of the staff are above average. The sea food restaurant is a great place in terms of food and ambience. The all day dining requires a make over. The house band plays fabulous music. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nausher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 km away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#18 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
833 reviews
1.8 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
704 reviews
6.1 km away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 9 in Vypin Island
322 reviews
2.4 km away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel

Property: Casino Hotel
Address: | Willingdon island, Kochi (Cochin) 682 003, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): $61 - $153
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Decor Styled hotel captures the essence of Cochin, which is at once cosmopolitan and traditional and enables you to travel gracefully between these two worlds - right from that moment when you are greeted into the hotel with a warm welcome. From then on you experience the richness of simple, natural, yet elegant interiors of the hotel that carries tradition and modernity with elan. You'll experience this duality of space and time even in our restaurants and in the exotic fare - ethnic, Indian and continental - that is dished out, which is perhaps why, an experience at Casino Hotel is so exotic, yet so familiar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Casino Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Casino Hotel Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing