We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent service, walking distance to Chinese fishing nets and other sights”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Victory Dawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victory Dawn
Ranked #95 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, excellent service, walking distance to Chinese fishing nets and other sights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed one night at Victory Dawn in January 2012. I am a single female traveller. Victory Dawn was by far the most charming hotel I stayed at during my travels. It has a B&B feel with a dash of colonial charm -- high ceilings and wooden fans. My room had two double beds and was exceptionally clean and spacious. The room also had a lock.

I was greeted by the manager and he made me feel welcome. The breakfast is delicious -- both the "western style" and the "Indian style." If you're interested in the Keralan Kathatkali dance-drama (amazing! go see it!), you can also buy your tickets from the manager.

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk away from all the main Kochi sites, like the Chinese fishing nets and the theatre for Kathakali dance. It's also close to restaurants recommended by the Lonely Planet. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoquaxTheKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The staff at this hotel were so pleasant & helpful. The rooms are big, airy & clean. Breakfast was OK but a bit limited. A choice of Indian breakfasts would have been nice, but for the price think it was good value. My husband & myself would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandF022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiroshima
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Very beautiful white palace in Fort Kochi.Good location,big and super clean room,full goods in bathroom and full breakfast (they serve really nice Kerala local food as well),and specially staff are all so friendly and helpful!
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ataroundtheworld1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I was a little worried about our stay here given some recent reviews but overall we had a great stay. We had requested a great room on the 1st floor and that's what we got - the middle suite on the top floor. The bedroom and bathroom were both huge and well furnished. We always woke too late for breakfast but grabbed something at the lovely coffee house next door. The location was great for some key sites and restaurants. The only down side was that we ordered a cab from the hotel and they wanted to charge 1000inr more than all the travel agents nearby. Apart from that it was great

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amynmalachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is a middle range hotel but great for three days exploring Cochin. Staff very sweet, breakfast very good and rooms clean and comfortable. But very central and an easy walk to the harbour front. Good place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 km away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#120 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 km away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#75 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 km away
Fort Heritage
Fort Heritage
#170 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#91 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 km away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#85 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 km away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#41 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victory Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victory Dawn

Property: Hotel Victory Dawn
Address: Ridsdale Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): $147 - $191
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victory Dawn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is my pleasure to introduce to you my latest hospitality venture, Victory Dawn in Fort Cochin. Following on the heels of the highly acclaimed boutique hotel Koder House, Victory Dawn is an attempt to bring yet another exclusive experience to discerning travelers. A former Tata tea company bungalow, Victory Dawn is set close to the beach and the Parade Ground in Fort Cochin - an area where English, Portuguese and Dutch influences abound. Tea cultivation and production played a very important role in the commercial history of Kerala and in its heyday, this tea bungalow hosted many influential officials. Like Koder House, Victory Dawn pays tribute to an era and preserves this atmosphere in an authentic manner. The bungalow offers six large rooms refurbished to retain all its age-old charm as well as modern facilities like internet data port and TV in each room, business centre, foreign exchange, electronic safe, doctor-on-call and laundry etc. We hope your patronage and support will continue to be with us as we embark on this new venture. Help us to make it a success as we attempt to give our distinguished guests yet another exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victory Dawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victory Dawn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing