We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 105
USD 84
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cochin(Ernakulam)
USD 99
USD 86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tissa's Inn(Kochi (Cochin))
USD 50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
USD 84
USD 66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 93
USD 59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flora Airport Hotel(Nedumbassery)
USD 78
USD 61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 117
USD 64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brunton Boatyard(Kochi (Cochin))
USD 186
USD 158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trident, Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
USD 82
USD 68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
34
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperiyar riverboat triprashmiantiquesstockedhostspropertyrooms
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Cranganor riverside chateau. Will truly take your breath away when you walk in. Wide open spaces, the broad river front, beautiful water bodies, elegant Ikat sofas, a colour coordinated floor to ceiling library, tasteful antique furniture, oxide floors, an infinity pool, wooden swings, picnic tables, a quaint little spa..Pick up a book and relax in those lounge chairs, sit on the swing and watch the world go by, jump into the river to cool yourself down, kayak around the island across, there are endless things to do..Or one can do absolutely nothing, lounge by the pool, watch the spectacular sunsets from the comfort of your verandah and enjoy the lip smacking gourmet food..All in all, an experience to truly relish. I intend to go back..time and again!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 636suchitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This was a sudden trip planned to make my wife's birthday memorable. Infact the first trip that we ever took alone without the kids !
I knew Vineeth and Rashmi, the youngish owners of this slice of heaven before. They gave up plum corporate careers for this place. I came out of curiosity to see what Vineeth had done on his own !
And boy what a place he has created !.

Disclaimer - I have no vested interest in this place and it was a fully paid trip ....so this review is as honest as it comes

The hosts are amazing and warm and of course very educated and civil
It just doesnt get any prettier than this. I will let you decide after you see the photos I upload
The staff is locally sourced from the village and are super warm , enthusiastic and eager to please. They are also proud to work in a place in their ecosystem.Jose the the chief Chef used to work in the royal household of Qatar before - make sure you meet and chat with him and ask him what he can cook for you - yes its that interactive here !
Oh,, BTW the seafood is mostly supplied by the fisherman straight from the river / backwaters where the resort is located. Definitely doesn't get any fresher ...
If you just want to wallow in natures beauty , then I highly recommend this place, If you want to explore the Mujris heritage and the ancient synagogues (the second oldest in the country), the old Jewish burial ground, or the church established by St Thomas, then its probably the best place to be. I went by boat to all of these places. Takes much more time than by car, but you are treated to sights that will make the gods jealous.In addition, all the claims Rashmi and Vineeth make on their website are true. I actually did a trip to Allepey for a houseboat ride and Athirapalli falls on day trips - super !
Without a doubt, I can say that these were the best 4 days we have ever spent together.
These guys have only 9 rooms. I daresay its going to be difficult to get space here once word gets out of this little gem on the mighty river Periyar ....
And the best value for money I have had in a long while.

Room Tip: No tips - all rooms have a fantastic view . 7 rooms on the ground floor and 2 on the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlrvvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Cranganor offers a wonderful, quiet place to retreat. The owners, Rasmi and Veenit are fabulous hosts and the chef is amazing! Situated on the banks of the river, the views and wildlife make the stay truly remarkable. I highly recommend this for a get-away in Kerala.

Room Tip: Great spa-like facilities. Enjoy!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hawleyj2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The Cranganor History Cafe is a wonderful resort set by the Periyar river. 2 acres of serenity and liberation. The setting is such that there is a lot of breathing space and not crammed with brick structures. The hosts are the best attraction of this place, they made us feel at home in a second and engaged with us without any element of intrusion. Vineet is a history buff and Rashmi is a people-person; the ideal combination for anyone running a business like this. The food was absolutely stunning. Nothing to complain. I hope you guys do well. We are coming back soon.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank drjjcherian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Stunning & unspoilt nature makes for a unique setting for this comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated hotel which caters for adults and children alike. Vineeth and Rasmi, the owners, made us feel immediately at home and were constantly attentive but never intrusive. Thanks to them we got a taste of rural India which would normally be very hard to come by for a visitor, at the same time taking care of the smallest detail to ensure our comfort. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank D1704GScristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews