We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aadrika(Chikmagalur)(Great Value!)
USD 84
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annapoorna Castle(Chikmagalur)(Great Value!)
USD 18
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brindavan Homestay(Chikmagalur)(Great Value!)
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
Bandekallu Homestay(Chikmagalur)
USD 98
USD 83
Priceline
View Deal
The Grand Krishna(Chikmagalur)(Great Value!)
USD 38
USD 34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Serai(Chikmagalur)
USD 325
USD 254
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captains Bungalow(Chikmagalur)
USD 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Athigiri Homestay(Chikmagalur)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
53
28
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
28
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee barnresponsible luxuryinside the cottageeach morningmain cottagewhite curtainsdining areasweet staffcolonial stylebooking confirmationprice chargedhot waterclose to naturehomely experiencehome stayspic and spancity life
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Halli Berri cottages is a beautiful estate and ideal for the kind of people that the estate attracts. It isn't a resort or hotel, but provides a homely experience. The staff are always there to help, very courteous, and do their job well. The family that owns the estate is very nice as well and welcoming. We had a very content stay, but would caution people who are looking for hotel type service and attention or lots of on property activities. The food is absolutely fantastic, and the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. I highly recommend this place for folks who are looking for a trip off the beaten path.

Room Tip: Jackie and MIka are spacious, and have a nice view. Pebble pop, foyer and fantasy are smaller with estate activity around them.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anandkoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalima500, Owner at Halliberri Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you for your review.
It’s heartening to know that you enjoyed the experience ; a way of life that is simple and yet so fulfilling.
This is our desire ;to get you to experience life on a plantation.;off the beaten path.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The place exceeded our expectations, the ideal place to unwind after a long break from your last vacation. The stay at the plantation is quite interesting, you get to learn a lot & meet some amazingly simple people like Prasana & Ram, not forgetting the friendly dog Luck. Highly recommended to all who are looking to relax & enjoy a quite holiday, not for those expecting luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalima500, Owner at Halliberri Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi ashley,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the peace and comfort of your estate stay.our aim is to for you to unwind and relax, in an area which is remote and get to experience our way of life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Good:
- Location(Quiet and secluded rooms; but estate is easily accessible from main road), Room decoration and cleanliness, bathroom, overall ambiance, food(not exceptional; but definitely good), estate walk, estate cafe at the entrance, booking, check in/out, staff attitude, No-TV, limited mobile coverage.

[Disclaimer: Visited this place during May-2017 i.e, about 8 months back.]
Not so good/ Needs Improvement:
- No bathroom amenities except for small piece of soap (if you forget anything else; there is no option to buy anywhere nearby). Not clear on how this aligns wrt eco-friendliness or responsible-luxury or whatever.
- They arranged barbecue based on my request. Thank you for accommodating the request! But quality like that of Paneer and marination was not good for the price charged.
- Lizard in rooms(Lots of them!). Egg shells when we entered; promptly cleaned immediately though. Room was clean except for these as such.
- Though staff available were courteous and well behaved and helpful; they were not hospitality trained. They had limited knowledge on how to get the hot water boiler turned on or set right; in the morning they struggled for a long time to figure out what the problem was. But they did help with some calls here and there. Took us on estate walk; but the guy who came with us had limited knowledge of the estate.

Note: This is cottage stay and not home stay (claimed clearly so in their website).

Room Tip: Ask for the ones near to the hall where food is served.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naghegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalima500, Owner at Halliberri Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear sir,
Thank you for your review. All points noted.
As we were going through a transition with new staff we apologise for their limitations.
The lizards are part of our environment and we try our best to keep them out, without pesticides.
As for toiletries, we do not supply this esp because people will not carry the used plastic shampoo and lotion bottles home with them. We are unable to discard these, as this is very detrimental to our fragile eco system, hence responsible luxury; we take this very seriously. Our beds are luxurious, as this is were you need comfort, our verandhas are large to enjoy the open expanse of greenery and the fresh air, and our food is home cooked.
We are always willing to learn, and always upfront about our cottages, and the surroundings, so our guests get a clear picture of what is available, beforehand.
Once again, thank you, we appreciate the time taken in writing to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

The resort is ok but not the worth how much they charge. The rooms were horrible with stains on the bedspreads and filled with lizards in every other corner. The staffs were neither empathizing nor helpful. Hospitality was very poor except for the restaurant staff. Food being limited in variety but flavorsome. The location of the cottage is very pleasant but very limited activities. There are much better resorts around this place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Preethi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalima500, Owner at Halliberri Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Preethi,
thank you for your feedback. We are extremely sorry that you were not happy at the homestay.It is not a resort.
However, i need to remind you that all the details are mentioned on the website and our collegue, who interacts with you before you arrive, would have been upfront about the conditions and facilities available, for the said price.
It is an estate homestay, and we do not provide activities, you have to enjoy the estate environment, and take walks and experience our life on the coffee farm.
As mentioned on the website insects and lizards will be all over the rooms,and you have to understand that we cannot and do not, spray chemicals, in the rooms. We are certified eco friendly.
I have spoken to the staff about the sheets being stained, if at all , and apologise for the same; i wish you had brought it up so we could have handled this by changing them. Unless specified, much in advance, we cannot cater to all needs esp as supplies have to come from town.Please give us your booking name and where you stayed, so we can check with the cook about the food offered to you and your group.
The rooms are big, airy and spacious , as mentioned and viewed, on the web site, nothing less.
once again thank you for the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

This place is just as fascinating and endearing as the name is. With just 4 cottages within 180+ acres of plantation tells a lot in itself. Properties look just the way it has been described on their site / other social mediums. Room decor is classy in colonial style. Food is homely with a decent spread.

But the true USP of this place is the staff including estate owner, Mrs Nalima. Everyone around was just so sweet and went out of their way to ensure we had the most memorable time. We are truly touched by the gratitude and kindness showered on us. My husband absolutely loved this place and is definitely going to be one which we would visit time and again !

Bird lovers and solitude seekers will thoroughly enjoy - Just go for it !!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Disha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalima500, Owner at Halliberri Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dera disha,
Thank you for your feed back. It was a delight in interacting with you esp as you were understanding of the homestay in an estate environment, where we live with nature and adjust to all its nuances.
Do visit us again,whenever convienent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews