We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
132
22
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
22
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool antique furniture poster bed coffee estate food is absolutely delicious outdoor shower common areas western ghats this place is a must visit par excellence special mention private lake peace and quiet the cottages home cooked great property stayed there for days
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

A great property with 7 villas. up in the mountains far away from the main road. A place to reach and relax before you head back home. There are options to take a walk through the coffee estate and also go fishing. The walk through the coffee plantation is really nice.

The property has a lovely infinity pool with a great view of the mountains. The food is not elaborate but good. You pay for stay and food. The staff is really nice. Its more like a luxury home stay but with hotel like facilities. The rooms are furnished with antique furniture, collected and restored by the owner. It feels like living in one of those old houses of yester years. Worth a visit.

They don't serve alcohol but you are free to take your own. The property is difficult to reach (almost 3 km drive up the mountain) so plan before. take things you will need. Well may be just ask the staff. They will help you.

Had a great trip. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose the villa next to the pool or the one a level down of the pool the 3 bed ones. They have a great view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarangiamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

I went there with friends just a couple of days ago. And I would definitely go again if I got the chance.
First of all- the location on a hilltop inside a coffee estate means it has fabulous views.
The main building has a lovely dining room, library and a verandah. The infinity pool has a perfect view of the valley. Kudos to the architect.
The rooms were superb. The bathrooms have an outdoor shower as well as an indoor tub. You might be tempted to spend all your time in the room. That's why they don't have room service. It's actually a good thing -You should get out and enjoy the outdoors
The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was quite good actually.
A bit on the expensive side, but I'm not complaining.
The only warning - it is about 60 km from Chikmagalur town.
You've been warned. You should go.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Peter_J2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out to review your Villa Urvinkhan experience. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. We are touched and humbled by the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed the location, food and service shown by our team.
Thank you once again for choosing Villa Urvinkhan as your preferred destination in Chikmagalur.
If you are travelling from Bangalore the next time around, there is a different route you can take and do not have to go all the way to Chikmagalur Town so this will save you some time as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Villa Urvinkhan stands true to the principle of harmony between nature and architecture. The most stunning part is the location on top of a hill with an infinity pool and a huge projector screen. Not to forget the natural baths and poster beds.

Food options though are limited and could be more varied for the price one pays which is nearly 6-7k/person/per night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank asata7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us a review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Villa Urvinkhan! We thank you for your feedback and hope to give you a better experience the next time around. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Villa Urvinkhan is gorgeous- around 7 villas, reception/dining /sit out very tastefully done and the sight of the infinity pool is breathtaking. Rooms have a lovely old feel, large with a private fireplace. However there was an ashtray in the room, and a distinct smell of smoke which is quite unpleasant to non-smokers. Perhaps some rooms can be made non-smoking. Massive bathrooms including an open to sky shower area. The meals are fresh and homely. However, as they charge for children there needs to be more kid friendly options. I was told the food was mildly spiced, hence did not bother to order separately. We found the food good but certainly not mild, which was unsuitable for my 6 year old. She had to make do with boiled potatoes which was the only thing they could muster up. The evening tea was a slight disappointment too. A few biscuits and felt-like-store-bought dry cake slices. Again, no beverage option for children, like a hot chocolate/juice etc. Some mini sandwiches, fresh fruit etc would have tied in well with the standard the property is trying to promote. Tariff is all meals included even for children hence better arrangements were expected. Housekeeping- several bulbs in the room were missing or not working. Had to ask for an extra pillow several times and was eventually told to help myself from a cupboard in the room. There were mold marks on the pillow. Quality of toiletries can be improved as this is not a mid range/budget homestay. Welcome drink on arrival can be a more healthy/fresh option rather than a fizzy sprite which we didn't drink. Hot water in the bathroom is an issue. Takes a really long time. We have to let the water run for at least 5 mins before it starts heating- felt awful to be wasting so much water.
The property has a guided walk to a private lake for fishing. It was a lovely experience- we each caught at least 5 fish before letting them go again. A couple of fish were injured.I hope this activity is sustainable.
The booking experience was fairly smooth. The owners were kind enough to allow a last minute cancellation of an extra day due to unforeseen work related travel. Unfortunately the refund process took more than a month.
Overall, it's a lovely property- certainly unique in its location and the way it has been done up. Quite remote so best just to unwind & spend time in the property itself. It's a great concept- the experience can be improved especially for what they charge.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nomita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us a review. We value your feedback and take it positively as there is always room for improvements. However, I would like to add that if you had mentioned any of this at the time of your one night stay with us, we would have been able to improve your experience.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

One of the best places I’ve been to. And there are tons of reasons to visit again.

The hosts are absolutely amazing, and so are the staff. Service is flawless. The ambience and decor make it super easy to unwind and relax.

A special shout out to the infinity pool they have overlooking a spectacular view. Definitely made it so much harder to leave.

The booking process is fairly simple too. Overall, we were extremely pleased with just about everything at Villa Urvinkhan.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank RebeccaE1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your Villa Urvinkhan experience. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. We wish to express our sincere gratitude for the wonderful review you have offered us.

Thank you once again for choosing Villa Urvinkhan as your preferred destination in Chikamagalur. We look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews