We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
132
22
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
22
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool antique furniture poster bed coffee estate food is absolutely delicious outdoor shower common areas western ghats this place is a must visit par excellence special mention private lake peace and quiet the cottages home cooked great property stayed there for days
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Villa Urvinkhan stands true to the principle of harmony between nature and architecture. The most stunning part is the location on top of a hill with an infinity pool and a huge projector screen. Not to forget the natural baths and poster beds.

Food options though are limited and could be more varied for the price one pays which is nearly 6-7k/person/per night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank asata7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us a review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Villa Urvinkhan! We thank you for your feedback and hope to give you a better experience the next time around. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Villa Urvinkhan is gorgeous- around 7 villas, reception/dining /sit out very tastefully done and the sight of the infinity pool is breathtaking. Rooms have a lovely old feel, large with a private fireplace. However there was an ashtray in the room, and a distinct smell of smoke which is quite unpleasant to non-smokers. Perhaps some rooms can be made non-smoking. Massive bathrooms including an open to sky shower area. The meals are fresh and homely. However, as they charge for children there needs to be more kid friendly options. I was told the food was mildly spiced, hence did not bother to order separately. We found the food good but certainly not mild, which was unsuitable for my 6 year old. She had to make do with boiled potatoes which was the only thing they could muster up. The evening tea was a slight disappointment too. A few biscuits and felt-like-store-bought dry cake slices. Again, no beverage option for children, like a hot chocolate/juice etc. Some mini sandwiches, fresh fruit etc would have tied in well with the standard the property is trying to promote. Tariff is all meals included even for children hence better arrangements were expected. Housekeeping- several bulbs in the room were missing or not working. Had to ask for an extra pillow several times and was eventually told to help myself from a cupboard in the room. There were mold marks on the pillow. Quality of toiletries can be improved as this is not a mid range/budget homestay. Welcome drink on arrival can be a more healthy/fresh option rather than a fizzy sprite which we didn't drink. Hot water in the bathroom is an issue. Takes a really long time. We have to let the water run for at least 5 mins before it starts heating- felt awful to be wasting so much water.
The property has a guided walk to a private lake for fishing. It was a lovely experience- we each caught at least 5 fish before letting them go again. A couple of fish were injured.I hope this activity is sustainable.
The booking experience was fairly smooth. The owners were kind enough to allow a last minute cancellation of an extra day due to unforeseen work related travel. Unfortunately the refund process took more than a month.
Overall, it's a lovely property- certainly unique in its location and the way it has been done up. Quite remote so best just to unwind & spend time in the property itself. It's a great concept- the experience can be improved especially for what they charge.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nomita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us a review. We value your feedback and take it positively as there is always room for improvements. However, I would like to add that if you had mentioned any of this at the time of your one night stay with us, we would have been able to improve your experience.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

One of the best places I’ve been to. And there are tons of reasons to visit again.

The hosts are absolutely amazing, and so are the staff. Service is flawless. The ambience and decor make it super easy to unwind and relax.

A special shout out to the infinity pool they have overlooking a spectacular view. Definitely made it so much harder to leave.

The booking process is fairly simple too. Overall, we were extremely pleased with just about everything at Villa Urvinkhan.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank RebeccaE1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your Villa Urvinkhan experience. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. We wish to express our sincere gratitude for the wonderful review you have offered us.

Thank you once again for choosing Villa Urvinkhan as your preferred destination in Chikamagalur. We look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We had heard about this place from several of our friends, so we decided to give it a try. And we were just not disappointed at all! Lovely place, they have a wonderfully done up property with beautiful and carefully selected furnishings, very large and comfortable cottage rooms, and then to go with the tasty food and very warm service with a smile. We really enjoyed every bit of our 2 night / 3 day stay there. The infinity pool looks very beautiful, wish we could have used it (it was quite cold). They have a nice little fishing spot a km away, and we tried out hand at that as well. Otherwise, we can just relax outside amidst really beautiful natural settings! This place has only 5 or 6 cottages, so it would really be a nice place for several friends and families to go together and stay here. Overall, will certainly visit this place again sometime in the future!

Room Tip: Room 6 has very lovely views over large bay windows!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagdish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us a review.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Villa Urvinkhan!
We thank you for your words of praise and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I've visited Villa Urvinkhan twice and I guarantee that there will be more visits to come in the near future. If you're looking to relax amidst scenic beauty, an infinity pool, a luxurious villa with the most tasteful decor and a staff who makes it their sole mission to make you comfortable, here's where you got to go.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjana G, Owner at Villa Urvinkhan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review. We are extremely happy that you had a memorable holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back..soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews