We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Indian Style”
Review of Jayamahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jayamahal Palace
Ranked #312 of 833 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in the 'kings' room in the main part of the building. It was a lovely large room, with a swing bed suspended from the ceiling at the foot of the bed. My daughter was so delighted by this she claimed this as her sleeping spot. The bathroom was large and nicely done also. I felt like I was being immerced into Indian royal living while in the room.

The breakfast was not that grand, but the food ordered for lunch and dinner was fantastic and well priced also - which was a bonus. The hotel itself is a little tired.

We were given free internet access in the main office which impressed me.

The pool was a small walk away from the hotel building and was large and clean. We enjoyed a few hours of respite here.

I did not feel the hotel was centrally located at all.

If you prepare yourself for the above and specify and confirm the good room, I would recommend this hotel. It was reasonably priced for what one got.


NB - Be sure to specify which room you want when booking, as there are other rooms that are similar to budget motel rooms which would leave anyone feeling like they have been cheated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed in December 2010 as part pf a long rodar trip

The hotel was renovated a while back and in some places looks impressive but unfortunately not everywhere. The breakfast area especially needs some work although the restaurant and bar area are very good. The place hosts large celebrations and local weddings which may be thier main source of income as the hotel side was slightly jaded.

The room we were given did not match any of the rooms on their website so be careful when you book. The room is described as Standard I would suggest that it is pretty basic but everything worked. We mentioned a leaking A/C problem and the Hotel manager dealt with it promptly and moved us.

Breakfast was also average but the Restaurant was good both the service and the quality of the food.

I would suggest as a one or two day stop over this place would be fine.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TC0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed here for a few days part of my wedding party and the what strikes you immediately about the place is the charming if small palace that radiates a very Victorian feel, and the manicured gardens in the surroundings and the great outdoor restaurant really goes a long way into ensuring a true experience of royalty.

Stayed in the Peacock Suite in the main Palace, and I liked the fact that it had a tinge of groundedness despite it's apparent grandeur. Beds can be a little harder than you'd like, and maybe some parts of the hotel might need some more attention and mending but overall, being in a place like that surrounded by greenery on all sides really pushes away any form of stress and let's you soak in Bangalore for the beautiful weather city that is. With Ample Balconies and Courtyards all around it's a great place to even take a leisurely walk around with.

The Cantonment railway station is pretty much walkable distance from this place and 1km away even from the farthest gate. Located in close proximity with great food and shopping and markets around the area, and yet manages to be a peaceful oasis at the end of the day!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbafna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I LOVED this hotel! It's got a great pool, very inexpensive, lots and lots of acres for children to play in. Has a lot of ambiance and way off the road so you don't hear traffic. We were In India for an adoption and the staff here completely spoiled us. The food was excellent and the people just went out of their way to help us. We can't recommend it highly enough!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank one4all1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Hotel is in 20 acres, contains some beautiful trees and offers tranquility. Can even hear calls to prayer as well as trains coming and going since the train station is just a couple of hundred yards away. Slightly shabby in appearance the hotel could stand a coat of paint.

We had a room measuring about 6x9 metres with a bed the size of two doubles next to each other. This bed, however, was covered by a single matress and a single sheet. Situated on the third floor at the top of the stairs, getting to and from the room offered a bit of welcome exercise as there is no lift. The room has double doors with steps leading to a large terrace complete with table and a couple of chairs. There are also steps leading down to a bathroom: tub with shower over, 3 drains in the floor, plenty of space.

There are other rooms in the hotel that are smaller than this one with none of the charm or character.

Breakfasts were adequate. Service was so-so to very good. One morning I had to ask three times for tea. One afternoon four of us were at a table in the bar/restaurant area and we ordered tea for four. It took twenty minutes to arrive and turned out to be coffee. We told the waiter and he insisted it was tea. The issue was not addressed until after another fifteen minutes I asked what he wanted to do about the matter and by then he thought he might find us some tea but I told him we were tired of waiting. I told him we were not paying for something we didn't order and we left.

Dinners were good and so too was the service. During the six nights of our stay we must have had two dinners in the hotel.

But perhaps the worst service issue happened with the man managing the front desk. We had a flight to catch at 0630 so ordered a taxi for 0430. He assured me the night before that the taxi would be there at 0430. It eventually showed up at 0445 with no discernable working seat belts in the back seat. We got to the airport at 0525 and were lucky the plane wasn't very full.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddingtonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Tulip Inn Bangalore
#123 of 670 in Bengaluru
73 reviews
The Chancery Pavilion
#82 of 670 in Bengaluru
853 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
The Chevron Hotel
The Chevron Hotel
#120 of 670 in Bengaluru
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37th Crescent Hotel Bangalore
#240 of 670 in Bengaluru
142 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
The Capitol
The Capitol
#108 of 670 in Bengaluru
229 reviews
Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati
#165 of 670 in Bengaluru
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jayamahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayamahal Palace

Address: 1 Jayamahal Road behind the containment railway station | Behind the Containment Railway Station, Bengaluru 560046, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 833 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range: $48 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jayamahal Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jayamahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayamahal Palace Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing