We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
92
53
12
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
53
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool massage chair the general manager gm mr nice property f b manager premium room restaurant staff special thanks to mr front office staff rooms are big place to stay nice ambience sim card main building snow clad high altitude sickness
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We stayed at The Zen for three nights in June 2018. It is a good hotel - neat and clean with good service. Meals were good. Dinners are buffet style with plenty of choices. The waiters are very professional and polite. Mr. Thakur, the manager, is always around keeping an eye on the operations and making sure guests are well taken care of.

There is a well maintained garden with a fountain where you can walk in the morning. There is also a sitting area, kind of a patio with a view of mountains.

Overall we had a great time staying at the hotel.

Wifi is not very good. The hotel should invest in better wifi equipment.

One note about reservations: There is no web based reservation system. Unless you are working with a travel agency, you have to call the hotel directly and pay and advance towards the reservation. They don't accept credit cards for the advance so I ended up transferring money from my bank to theirs. It all worked out in the end but would be nice if they set up an online reservation system with option to pay by credit card. They accept credit cards when you pay in person at the hotel, just not on the phone.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Praveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Last month I stayed in Zen Ladakh with my office team. We had actually booked Grand ?Himalaya through booking.com but came to know that booking is handled by their travel partner Trip India in Delhi and they informed that hotel is over booked and upgraded our stay to Zen Ladakh. Upon arrival we were given the Cottages 103 to 105. View outside was really nice. Rooms were clean , Bed was comfortable , Bathrooms were big with all the required toiletries . Food was really good. We had our lunch and breakfast buffet and it was worth the price. Overall property is quite clean, also offers a covered temperature controlled swimming pool . Staff is quite polite and well behaved.
We did had a small issue post check out where they forgot to charge some 350 rupees and then kept following up even after check out. Getting calls every few mins was bit frustrating.
I checked their room tariffs later and from that standpoint its over priced. But overall we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vinayk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

It was a last minute booking so our expectations were low, but the hotel was worse than what we thought.
Pros:
- Great Views and good location
- Exceptionally friendly and polite staff
- Upgraded our room

Cons:
- Highly overpriced room and food.
- Poor travel services. We booked a car and he was really bad. It is understandable that the hotel can’t be blamed for it but the management didn’t care at all about it. Serious lack of communications between them and the driver
- Things in the room were broken and they just couldn’t fix it
- Extremely callous attitude of the management when these things were highlighted. We were actually taken to the manager/owner and he was just impossible. He just dismissed all of our concerns saying that it’s not a big deal. He then made some snide remark about how our booking was of less value because it was through a website.

At best this is a 3 star hotels and is wrongly marked in tripadvisor. Would recommend everybody to avoid if any other hotel is available in the same price range.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank abhishekg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night all inclusive package.... hospitality at its best.... supervised constantly by their GM Mr Thakur... HR Manager Mr Hitesh.... F & B manager Mr Sanjay.... the entire team at the restaurant and front office were outstanding.... went out of way each time to make us comfortable... may it be High altitude sickness by providing Diamox and necessary guidance free of cost , to make us special vegetarian and Jain food as per our requirements and also South Indian cuisine...the entire team needs to be complimented for the exemplary service and the respective managers to see the execution of the same.... rooms and cottages also well kept.... Keep it up Gentlemen.... the best place to stay in Leh..Ladakh.... cheers team Zen Ladakh...

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank drsanjayp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Highly over rated & over priced. Rooms are average but view is good.
Very poorly trained staff & very ineffective housekeeping.
The buffet spread is also very sparse and restaurant services are average.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indrajit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews