We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rohtang Manalsu (HPTDC)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rohtang Manalsu (HPTDC)
Ranked #48 of 311 Manali B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We (me, wife, son (4) and maid girl) reached the manalsu in the evening after travelling straight from shimla on a tourist cab. At first sight, we were just captivated by the beautiful green creepers on the buildings (i believe this is the unique & main attraction of the hotel). The receptions were quite and not eventful, infact, not that friendly but okay. We'd booked a suite (room no 201). The price was suspiciously less for such a tag 'suite', but we thought we got it cheap and were happy, we saw the name 'suite 201' on the door and untill we got in......it was a bit of a let down as the supposedly suite was instead a narrow rectangular room (10' x 18' approx). There is no balcony (another let down). Since we were travelling as family and had already budgeted for our expenses, so we crampped all of us into our suite for 3 days 2 nights. Nevertheless, we didnt crib about it ... and went on to visit and enjoy the Manali environments to our heart content. Luckily, we visited on October end, that we get to ski in the 'Zero point' of Rohtang Pass. Otherwise by November, due to snowfall, the road to the Pass would be closed till next Mar-Apr.
Back to the hotel, the room rates came with the breakfast (which is a good part). I love the food and we tried the Himachal special rice, was really good. The place and room were clean. I recommend this place from all aspects, but please enquire about the room sizes before checking in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shanlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    61
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
64
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I went to Manali with my family. The location of the hotel is very nice. Around 1 KM from Mall road, which is the hub of manali. I stayed in hotel for 3 nights. all basic amenities like hot water, quilts (its cold out there in Nov) T.V. are available. however, renovation in terms of good and cozy interiors are needed. Its boring white all over. The hotel has a good garden with various flowering plants, especially Roses.
The restaurant serves good north indian food. But with limited menu. I loved alu parathas. Some improvement in breakfast menu will surely benefit the people.
Hotel is very well connected to all the important places. Places like Hadimba temple, club house, nature park are at walkable distance.
Overall a good budget hotel from HPTDC.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

An ok small hotel run by the Himachal Pradesh Tourist Corp.
Location & price are the best things about this place. It's reasonable value for money and is located midway between new Manali (which is awful) and old Manali (much nicer).

Easy enough to find from the bus stop if coming from Delhi. Head uphill up the main road past Johnsons hotel & reastaurant until you see a road heading left with a sign for the Hadimba temple, it's about 300m up that road. You don't need to take an auto-rickshaw.
Rooms were reasonably clean and the shower was good, but the rest of the hotel is a bit run down and needs some cleaning & work. Staff were ok but seemingly don't take much pride in their work, which is reflected in the state of the hotel - avoid the dining room for this reason and eat in old Manali up the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wgtnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durg, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed in Rohtang Manalsu Hotel of HPTDC in Manali. Location is very near to natural beauty and food service and quality is very much satisfactory, AND THE ROSE GARDEN WAS VERY NICE, THANKS HPTDC TO MAINTAIN THIS.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aksharma_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel is approx 1.2 Km from Mall road. During summer time only package are given. But for Rs 300 more u get a very good food if U R from India. Westerners may not like the food.
But even if u do not take the food the rate is very good. U have a garden where u can spend the evenings leisurely enjoying the snow clad himalays.
They provide heaters in the room with out asking. U do not need them in summer time. I did not wear even light woolen. The climate is normal during day time in Manali. U need winter clothing only for the Rohtang visit and if u fly in the hot baloons.
The hotel's reservation can be done online easily. Another plus.

Room Tip: U select the rooms while booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank subu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
4.8 km away
The Anantmaya Resort
The Anantmaya Resort
#1 of 129 in Manali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 km away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#40 of 129 in Manali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 129 in Manali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Shingar Regency
Shingar Regency
#30 of 129 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.2 km away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 129 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.4 km away
Johnson Lodge
Johnson Lodge
#4 of 129 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rohtang Manalsu (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rohtang Manalsu (HPTDC)

Property: The Rohtang Manalsu (HPTDC)
Address: Hadimba Temple Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price range (per night): $19 - $47
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing