We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing short and sweet trip on heritage city Ahmedabad

It was a nice and best experience on our Ahmedabad heritage views... Before visiting heritage walk... read more

Reviewed 13 July 2023
DHARMI231009
,
Ahmedabad, India
Must visit if in Ahmedabad

I have lived in Ahmedabad for over 15 years, but recently decided to go on this walk. Absolutely... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2022
718anujam
,
India
Read all 188 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Ahmedabad
from AU$19.02
More Info
from AU$25.36
More Info
from AU$101.44
More Info
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
113
49
20
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
113
49
20
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city jama masjid stock exchange walk ends architecture ropes kavi swami
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Setting off at about 7.30am is advisable both to avoid the worst traffic and also the 40degree temperature. The old town is aptly named and you will see 'real' life as it was perhaps 200 years ago but interspersed with regular motor cycle interruptions. Many buildings have survived numerous earthquakes but remain solid. Most locals are friendly and most streets are swept clean but dogs are something of a nuisance. The area is blessed with Hindu Temples round every corner and we also visited a very fine Mosque. The largest in the city. You will be able to afford a donation of 100 rupees to a small food shop which will enable them to feed 5 poor people, which should make you feel good! The shops themselves are varied and interesting.

2  Thank Avante540
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We were first time visitors to India and this was our first destination on our tour. We had no idea what to expect and found this walk really gave us a 'behind the scenes' glimpse at daily life in an Indian city. Our guide, Neril, was extremely knowledgeable and his infectious enthusiasm and love of his home made us appreciate this interesting city from a local perspective. We found all the little back streets fascinating and the history that went with it too. A great couple of hours to kick start our holiday.

Date of experience: February 2015
4  Thank MJPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Heritage walk of Ahmedabad is facilated by Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation on daily base. We were at Swaminarayan Temple, kalupur-the commencing point at 8 a.m. A guide provided by AMC explains about each heritage site. The heritage walk starts from Swaminarayan Temple and ends at Jumma Masjid, Manek chowk at 10.30 covering route of about 3 km. The route consists of heritage site of Ahmedabad like Smaminarayan temple,Dalpatram Memorial, Haveli with 60 Rooms, Jain school ,Secret Passage, Some Houses of Pole, Chabutara and jama Masjid.

Date of experience: December 2014
6  Thank Jagdish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Enjoyed the 2nd visit also.. Cant believe that a govt body like Ahmedabad Municipal Corpn facilitates this walk.. People with a sense of history, city planners, students.., everyone will enjoy this 2.5 hr walk of about 1.5 kms

Date of experience: March 2015
4  Thank Vikas K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Narrow streets with intricate wood carving in the front of the houses in this 600 year old city is truly amazing.Manek chowk which is the hub of every kind of precious stones and metals is also well worth visiting.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank piushp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews