We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Arrived here 13th january for a month, booked with first choice flight was 8.5 hours due to a tail wind, was apprehensive about hotel due to all the reviews mentioning rats yes i did see some in the roof but none in the rooms you have to remember this is India and being so close to the beach, with the food waste left after a day you are going to get them but they were not a problem. Was in Bungalow 111 great social vibe every one talks as they go past in the morning and last thing at night while you are sat on the balcony having a few drinks met some wonderful people who will be friends for life. Bungalow was clean and basic totally adequate as all you do here is sleep and shower. Staff were brilliant loads of good restaurants around the area Inferno, Sheetal, Casa sea shells and for some great english food if you get curried out Ocean best bangers and mash with onion gravy around, Beach sellers are not really a problem say no and off they go the only annoying ones were the gypsys selling name bracelets and the kids who want money saying they are deaf and dumb (they are not its just a con) Fresh strawberrys on the beach don't pay more than 50 rupees for them or go to the fruit market up the road. Did all our trips with Johns boats a fraction of the price of first choice/Thomsons and better the rice boat was fantastic 5000 rupees a person three meals fishing if you want it and your drinks are free we saw monkeys and a huge variety of birds. Mapusa Market wonderful cost you ten rupees each way and its where ou get to get some real bargains. Indigo night market another must live music from the hippy community about 650 rupees in a taxi to go. some great beaches to visit are Manderin and Arunbull a taxi ride but quieter than the rest and the sea is not so rough the sea at candolim can me a bit fierce with undercurrents we know of four people who drowned so be careful. Great food at Claudinas and Bonos on the beach but we spent most of our time at sea blue Formerly Frannies shack where Francis, Marisa and Alex will look after you really well and you don't pay for sun beds there but you do on some of the more populated shacks.
Cried when i left I really didn't want to come home every night was fabulous hint for mozzies buy some citronella insense sticks they hate the smell my husband got bit once but I didn't get one bite if you do get some anti histomene tablets which will take the swelling down but they are not to bad in this area. Will I go back maybe one day but last year we went all inclusive this year bed and breakfast and next year we have rented privatly for £350 for the month so will be flying out with Kingfisher, but if you are a first timer to goa this hotel is wonderful and such a great location. If you want to ask me anything feel free to inbox I could go on praising Goa for ever.

(Oh one last thing advise getting a taxi back to airport as it took us three hours to get through to departures and will only cost you a tenner leave an hour before your transfer time as the Russians drive you nuts.

Room Tip: It has to be the bungalows for me sort of in the middle of the walkway less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wearytravellerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    185
    84
    33
    31
See reviews for
93
279
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was our 9th Visit to Goa and one of our best Hotels yet. We have stayed in Pheonix Park, Sunset Beach and Aldeia Santa Rita prior - all very good hotels but this without a doubt was the one I would go back to. I do not understand the other reviews about rats in the Bungalow roofs and dirty pool, We test for rats by leaving a cheese ball just outside the room and it was always still there! We stayed in a Bungalow but took the opportunity to view standard and premier room before we left. I would say the best value would be the standard rooms as the bungalows and premier are not worth the additional costs. The beds are really comfortable and clean, additional pillows were delivered 5 mins after our request. Fridge cost extra 100 rupees per night (well worth it for ice cold water in the middle of the night and a cold beer bought from the supermarket for a chill on the balcony). Staff very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Lovely clean white fluffy towels and bed linen. You have read the rest about basic breakfast and pool being in the shade etc BUT don't let any of these put you off. This is Goa, a place that brings back hundreds of people year after year. We are a group of 16 (all book at what ever decent hotel is available at time of booking and don't live in each others pockets) and we all go back every year. Each time we say shall we look at somewhere else for next year BUT all book to go back to Goa! The plane touches down and you feel like you have arrived home........especially when you stay at such at lovely hotel. ENJOY. Stayed 25/12/11 - 23/01/2012. I have rated the sleep quality as average as the 3 day night club set up between xmas and new year was pretty bad and did disturb our sleep.

Room Tip: We have viewed all the rooms and would recommend the standard. If you want an upgrade when you arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LeicesterChumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had a lovely time here, staff are really nice (there was a woman there who was a misery - no idea who she was) its basic but hey thats Goa.

Breakfast is toast and tea. Can order more items at a charge. There are flies at breakfast sometimes but same everywhere.

Superior rooms are A LOT bigger.

Pool is shaded a lot of the time, and dirty.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We spent a week here from Christmas Day to New Year’s Day. It is in a great location, literally just down the road from the beach and loads of shops and restaurants nearby. The place is nicely set out with lovely grounds and a decent sized pool – however, the pool is always in the shade, which was very disappointing and the water was freezing, so we spent hardly any time there at all. It was nearly always empty actually - probably for those precise reasons! The whole place was really Christmassy though, it was great. We had a superior room and yes, it was very basic, the wardrobe smelt of mothballs and we had a few ants, but it was big and it was clean with a lovely balcony and hey, it is India and it never said it was 5 star! The breakfasts were also basic – just toast, juice and coffee but you could order eggs, porridge etc for just a few rupees and the little breakfast area was nice and we enjoyed starting our day there.

We arrived on Christmas morning and on checking in they gave us an invite to their “Christmas Gala Dinner” that evening which was a lovely surprise. They had set up tables and lights in the grounds and it all looked lovely. Despite a bit of slow service to start with we had a great evening and the food was just fabulous and so much of it as well!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. We tried out a few cocktails in the bar one evening, they were fab and cheaper than some beach shacks! Apart from that, we didn’t spend much more time in the hotel but it was certainly a good base for exploring Candolim.

Must mention that we chose Candolim as we thought it would be quieter than Baga or Calangute – how wrong can you be – a 3 day dance festival took place on the beach and then a beach dance club randomly opened up just down the lane! We didn’t mind too much though as our room was at the back of the hotel and the banging beats only kept us awake one night, but I felt sorry for anyone nearer the front of the hotel or who were light sleepers!

We really enjoyed our time at the Silver Sands but not sure if we would stay there again because we do usually like to spend some time in and around the pool and we couldn’t do this here – that was the only negative and such a shame!

Must also just say that New Year in Goa is amazing – never seen so many fireworks, bonfires, parties or people, we had a ball!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jerseykathyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Just got back from the Silver Sands Hotel. Very, very disappoining indeed. Nice Staff, but it ends there. Not cleaned properly, but tidy. Fly infested breakfast room- not for us. Took the breakfast up to our Superior room [no flies] cup had lipstick on it, tray filthy stained and one time a huge peice missing from the side of it. The bungalow roofs had rats in them, the tiles had holes in them and some tiles were hanging off. The lavatory seat was hanging off, so we asked for new one. one of the towels had something horrible on it, looked like excrement.
50 yards form our room there was an Indian Cremation, the smoke and ash blew into our balcony and room.Nearby disco, Thump thump thump from 5 00pm till 11 00pm. It was mental torcher. I was ill for the last 5days there. I couldn't wait to get home. should have asked for a transfer to a better place.

Room Tip: pay for a superior room if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bettric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.9 km away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#22 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.8 km away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): $31 - $107
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing