We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dining experience with a nice view of the ocean”
Review of The Square

The Square
Ranked #7 of 397 Restaurants in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Unfortunately, I am not able to review The Square at Novotel Bheemli and The Square at Novotel Vizag separately on the Trip Advisor platform so I am forced to club the two. I will however separate as much as possible.

REVIEW OF DINING AT THE SQUARE-NOVOTEL VARUN BEACH RESORT, VISAKHAPATNAM ANDHRA PRADESH

DINNER AT NOVOTEL VIZAG

I stayed at five star resort Novotel Visakhapatnam Andhra Pradesh on the nite of December 27 2016 (next nite we stayed at Novotel Bheemli, 30 kilometers away). On that night, I had dinner at The Square, a fine dining restaurant inside the resort. There was a heavy rush on the evening of Dec 27 2016 so it was difficult for us to be seated. We were finally seated after 10 PM. There was an excellent array of very delicious food. As it was too busy and late that night, I was not able to note very well the food and staff. But suffice it to say that the food and service at Novotel Vizag were top notch.

NEXT DAY BREAKFAST AT NOVOTEL VIZAG

Breakfast was super, with a nice array of fresh juices, excellent tea and coffee. There was a nice mix of Indian and continental breakfast items. All the staff there were friendly and attentive. The ambiance was nice with subdued lighting, comfortable seating and very high ceiling, giving the place a warm and inviting look. Somebody working for Accor Hotels in the architecture department spent a lot of time and money to make sure the restaurant had a rich and luxurious feel and look. There is also a spectacular view of the walkway, the beach and ocean from the restaurant.

Overall rating of food and service at Novotel Vizag: 9 out of 10.

REVIEW OF DINING AT THE SQUARE-NOVOTEL BHEEMLI RESORT, BHEEMUNIPATNAM, VISAKHAPATNAM ANDHRA PRADESH

LUNCH AT NOVOTEL BHEEMLI: I stayed at five star resort Novotel Bheemli near Visakhapatnam Andhra Pradesh on the nite of December 28 2016. On that day, I had lunch at The Square, a fine dining restaurant inside the resort. Overall the food tasted fantastic and it was evident it was prepared by highly trained chefs.

The excellent appetizing food items consisted of bhindi cashew nut fry, Beijing chilly chicken and cream of chicken soup. Honorable mention goes to Andhra chicken curry, paneer corn tikka and chicken biriyani. The dessert spread was impressive with delicious lengcha, butter scotch mousse and dry fruit barfi. Of special interest is the mixed fruit juice shooter, made of papaya and kiwi with a kick of ginger thrown in for good measure.

Credit should go to Ramesh Patnaik the F & B Manager who works tirelessly to make sure the hotel’s patrons enjoy an appetizing meal. I also want to mention the silent but excellent contributions of R Shankar Rao (Commi I) and the Sous Chef Srikanth and the entire team of The Square including Govindhar who work hard day after day to make such tasty food.

There is an outside seating area dead opposite the sea and you can hear the waves gushing onto the seashore as you are enjoying your meal. Priceless. Gorgeous.

Excellent meal with excellent table service. I can still taste that mixed fruit juice shooter into the new year!

Job well done F & B Team at Novotel Bheemli!

DINNER AT NOVOTEL BHEEMLI

It was a dinner fit for a king on the nite of 28 Dec 2016 that was prepared for us at Novotel Bheemli. The beetroot poriyal, chettinad fish curry and dumka gosht were excellent. So was the Cantonese chicken soup and cream of mushroom soup. There was a nice selection of cheeses and butter naan was also very good. Other excellent dishes included the egg salad with mint mayonnaise and chicken salad with peanut dressing. Honorable mention goes to wok tossed fish with sweet chilli and scallion. On the dessert side, sabudanna payasam, corn flake custard and mango shrikand were outstanding. The cashew nut cake was excellent as was the kulfi and mango ice cream.

It is not only the food but the staff that makes or breaks a restaurant. Kudus to Srikanth (sous chef) for making such an amazing array of tasty food. Top credit goes to Ramesh Patnaik (F&B Manager). I observed that Srinu cleared the used plates immediately and took them to the back instead of piling them up in view of the guests (thanks Srinu). Govindhar (steward) was helpful, supportive and very attentive. And I especially want to point out that B Govind Rao (team leader steward) went out of his way to serve every guest with speed and attention. I observed that he picked up a dropped towel and he brought us mango shirkand. Govindra was very helpful and friendly and he is management material.

NEXT DAY BREAKFAST AT NOVOTEL BHEEMLI

It was the simplicity concept for breakfast: not a ton of food to overwhelm but enough to fill the stomach. Everything was nicely displayed and tasty especially the omlet with cheese and bacon which was cooked to perfection. The upma was soft and amazing and the ham and cheese salami tasted great. The tea and coffee latte were excellent. There was a good selection of fruits and the watermelon juice was really good. The chicken sausages needed more salt. Sai, a trainee, was wonderful in attending to us, as was the Team Leader, Govind Rao, who was energetic in the morning and made sure the place was spotless and clean. (He worked late the previous night and he looked sharp as a tack the next morning. Good job Govind Rao).

Overall rating of food and service at Novotel Bheemli: 9.5 out of 10.

Stephen Joseph
Bangalore

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cyberstephenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2016

this is the best restaurant in visakhapatnam. the food is great and the service is excellent. the view of ocean from restaurant is great. the menu spread in buffet is good and i guess it carters to all palates.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sashibandaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

With the twin advantages of a poolside view as well as a seaside view, The Square is the perfect spot for a relaxed meal....with great service and an excellent spread to boot!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DipuKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

They have a small spread but the food is quite tasty. Opt for the breakfast deal while booking the room - you would get 50% off. Even at Rs 650 + taxes, it is worth it. The south Indian dishes were excellent - I enjoyed the Pongal and masala dosa. They also had idlies, wada and upama. With sufficient options here and well made dishes, I did not explore other options like eggs made to order. And there have sufficient number of people moving around for you to place an order immediately.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chandramohanamritkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Great variety of continental food. Peaceful ambience and wonderful hospitality in an affordable range of 1200.

Thank VEGI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square also viewed

Visakhapatnam, Visakhapatnam District
Visakhapatnam, Visakhapatnam District
 
Visakhapatnam, Visakhapatnam District
Visakhapatnam, Visakhapatnam District
 
Visakhapatnam, Visakhapatnam District
Visakhapatnam, Visakhapatnam District
 

Been to The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing