We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Andaman Castle defines the word 'homestay'..!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Andaman castle

Andaman castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Andaman castle
Front view of the destination
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Andaman castle
Front view of the destination
Beautifull sea view from room
Private parking area
Sunset view from the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Blair, South Andaman Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Manali B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Andaman Castle defines the word 'homestay'..!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Andaman Castle defines the word 'homestay'. The active host Aamir and his family has beautifully maintained their home overlooking the sea. From sketching our travel plan to suggesting water activities, arranging for vehicle to packing breakfast- so that we don't stay hungry, you name a service and Aamir will readily be there with his assistance. We have had lovely evening sharing stories of the places. A tour planner, a local guide and now a friend, Aamir is a wonderful company to be with, not to mention his companions Laxman (who made some yummy food for us) and Prakash (who took us to places and made sure we see the best of Port Blair).
I vouch on this stay and am sure to return someday whenever I visit Port Blair the next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer Service, Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiloyGuha
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were in the Andaman Islands from the 19th to 27th of May. When I was finalising the hotels before travelling there, I was on the lookout of a property that would offer a view of the sea at a reasonable cost. Sadly, there were none! All the hotels located towards South Point (beside the sea) had very high tariffs even in the off-peak season. I had nearly compromised and booked a room in the centre of the town when I came across this amazing property right on the edge of the sea!!

Andaman Castle is a homestay but its furnishings and fittings would put many hotels to shame. The owner and his son, Amir who is involved in the daily operations go out of their way to ensure comfort for the guests. In fact, Amir's father dropped us at Aberdeen jetty when we had to take the ship to Havelock as the hired car didn't turn up due to blinding rains!
I would like to list the pro's and cons of this property for other fellow travellers

Pros:
1. Location!!! You can see the sea right from the room as the property is hardly 200-300m from the shore. Also, the entire area is filled with trees and is completely green. The road in front of Andaman Castle offers spectacular views of the sea and you get to see amazing sunrises over the Bay of Bengal. It is not too close to the centre of the town so the hustle and bustle is avoided and one can enjoy nature at her serene best and also not too far from the main city to face transport issues. In short, it is ideally located.

2. Hospitality!!! Right from enquiring if we faced any difficulty or to booking boat tickets or arranging for cars or to offering good and sound advice on where to go/not go, Amir and his father really made us feel very comfortable and relaxed during the entire duration of our stay.

3. Rooms!! Huge extremely well furnished rooms with well fitted bathrooms helped us to relax in the night after travelling during the day.

Cons:
None actually!

Restaurant is not available but they do provide complementary breakfast. Also, food can be ordered over phone from nearby restaurants which is what we did for dinner most of the nights. Tea is also provided in the mornings and/or breakfast.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this property for my fellow travellers. Please feel free to ask any questions if you want to!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BopanaMed...
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful and homely place. The rooms are neat and clean. The first floor has wonderful views of the ocean.
What makes this place special is the attention to detail and the effort put in by the owners to make your stay comfortable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MURALIKRI...
1 review
“Comfortable, pleasant and lovely home stay for families”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family and our friend's family stayed @ Andaman Castle for 5 days. Enjoyed our stay at Andaman's and it's pleasure to recommend to our friends. Our tour was neatly planned, explained and executed with personal care by the Management. We have utilized kitchen, dining, hall, etc and it's a feel at home for our family. We even enjoyed our leisure time in sea shore night walking & fishing. Overall it's a memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely atmosphere & sea view stay.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karthik L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

4 of us stayed here for 4 nights. Amazing VFM place. Clean rooms and bathrooms were the highlight. The owner Amir and his dad were very hospitable. We also had our trips to havelock n Neil arranged by them. Very reasonable and very helpful indeed. Amir also arranged for some one to get us medications to our resort in Neil when my wife injured herself. I could give it more than 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing