We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaman Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andaman Residency
Ranked #34 of 77 Port Blair B&B and Inns
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent Accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Decent option if you are looking for budget option. We stayed here for 1 day.
Room and bathroom was clean. Food was quite good, but the service was slow. We had to remind about order many times before food was served.
Check-in and check-out was quick.Hotel location is also ok. (Not far from airport or Phoenix Jetty)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amijoe2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    38
    27
    19
    19
See reviews for
64
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I went to port blair in mid of Jan,2012 & stay Deluxe Room in Andaman Residency. I took complete package for 5 days & excellent facility was provided by staff of Hotel. All were perfectly arranged & it was a life time experience. Food quality was also nice. Room service is little bit slow, but can be ignore after seeing warm & Happily Staff behavior. I also suggested some of my friends & they stay in this hotel in Feb,2012 & their experience is also fantastic. So Full marks Biju Jacob & his team.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapi_Dev_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranchi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed in the hotel for three nights. Service is horrible. Only good thing about the hotel is its location & food. Reception people are horrible.
I will give one advice, only chose for hotel if you like budget hotel, but don't take any extra services like sight seeing at all.

Room Tip: It is a budget hotel only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avinash_kamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Blair hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I had stayed at this hotel on two occasions – before leaving for Havelock and on returning from Havelock. Booked this hotel through cleartrip after reading the reviews in Trip advisor. Agreed that more than 90% people arriving at Andamans are LTC crowd who rarely travels or stays in hotels, yet such high rating of this hotel in trip advisor was actually shocking. There is nothing so special about this hotel. Rooms are basic. Location is so so. I mean there are much better hotels in Port Blair than this.

If you pre book rooms, they will try to allot one of the rooms in basement. This was the case with me on my first check in. I am sure no walk in customer will stay in those basement rooms. So I had specifically requested them not to allot basement rooms on my second leg of stay. Yet I was tried to push again into those rooms on my second chek in. After little argument, better sense prevailed and I was allotted two rooms on two different upper floors. Honestly speaking, had I not pre-booked, I would not have stayed here on my second leg of stay.

I had stayed at standard AC rooms. Rooms small and basic, barely of size 10 by 8 or so. Rooms have a TV which is installed at such an acute angle above door line that you are sure to get neck pain if you watch TV lying on the bed as the angle of viewing is more than 45 degree. The ACs has neither any remote nor any button on it works. We had stayed at four different rooms and this was the condition with all rooms. The deluxe rooms have a LCD TV, but do not expect anything more. I found geyser working only in one out of the four rooms we had stayed.

Location wise also this is kind of neither here not here. The main market Aberdeen Bazaar is about 1.5 km away. I found hotels Blue Shell, Shompen and Silver Sand better located than this one as they are very close to both Sagarika emporium complex and the market. They are also closer to the Ananda Restaurant which serves delicious dishes at about 20-30% cheaper than hotel’s in-house restaurant. One evening they forgot our dinner order. The reason given that the guy who took the order had left.

AR also has a bar at ground floor. This again turned to be local joint and hence you cann’t go there to have a beer with your spouse. Restaurant food quality is just acceptable at best. The only good thing is the staff behavior that was generally courteous.

I will again say that there are better options available at Port Blair.

Room Tip: If you have pre booked online, make sure that they do not give you a basement room. I found that fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rups33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

stayed at the andaman residency hotel for two nights. must say that the hotel staff were very friendly and well behaved. Mr. Biju , the owner of this resort deserves special mention on my part because he went out his way to arrange the makkruz tickets for me. He's a thorough gentleman and a very pleasant individual to talk to. the hotel rooms are well maintained with clean and fresh linen. the hotel is also very conveniently located with the harbour and airport close by. all in all i would say that this is a very good budget hotel in port blair.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adityaksingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
1.4 km away
Aashiaanaa Residency Inn
Aashiaanaa Residency Inn
#12 of 30 in Port Blair
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Marine View
Hotel Marine View
#50 of 77 in Port Blair
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.0 km away
The Seaview Residency
The Seaview Residency
#1 of 77 in Port Blair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Shreesh
Hotel Shreesh
#12 of 77 in Port Blair
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn
#28 of 77 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
14.3 km away
Anugama Resort
Anugama Resort
#16 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Residency

Property: Andaman Residency
Address: J N Road | beside Sagaritara Primary School, Premnagar, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Port Blair
Price range (per night): $26 - $47
Hotel Class:2 star — Andaman Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Andaman Residency Port Blair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing