We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
3
11
11
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
11
11
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phoenix bay jetty room service andaman trip walkable distance value for money market locality island
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Stayed in two different rooms on arrival and departure from Port Blair.
Located about 400m from Gandhi Statue circle and Aberdeen market and quick access to small shops. Comfortable mattress. A 160L refrigerator is provided! Wifi is available only at the reception. Room was air-conditioned(window type). Flat screen TV with cable channels in different languages. Towels, small bar of medimix soap and clinic plus shampoo sachets were provided. There was a mosquito repellent as well. Decent water pressure. Complimentary Breakfast though limited to two items (it was aloo paratha and upma on the day we had it) + bread & jam, tea was served hot and good. The other day we were leaving early and were in a hurry - they packed some toasted bread slices and a small juice pack. Responsive front desk. 24 hour hot water was there through an instant heater in the bathroom.

No lift, AC location is not apt - not sufficient cooling. Very narrow bathroom. Not even 3 feet wide. The shower is positioned facing the narrow wall!
Though they have invested in good fittings poor maintenance is causing faster deterioration. Floors in room and bathroom seemed clean, nooks and corners not cleaned properly. Shower head in one of the rooms worked well but it was choked in other room. The first floor had a stink but the second floor was ok. Cockroaches seen. Doormat at the entrance of bathroom very dirty. Floor mat at the foot of bed also not clean. The second time we stayed TV & STB remotes were missing. They dont even check things before a guest arrives. The pillows (one per person) were very thin and not at all comfortable. You have to buy bottled water.
I wish they will pay more attention to maintenance, cleanliness to improve the guest experience.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ravi_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Worse hotel, worest front desk, pathetic customer relations.
First thing i saw in my room was a cockroaches. On second day i was asked to vacate as they had more bookings even after i has already committed 2 days stay and same confirmed by them.
Better to stay away from this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LSR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We stayed in Hotel Velocity between November 21 to November 29th on various days during our 9 day trip to the Andaman Islands. The Hotel Location is a super location easily accessable opposite Andaman Tamizar Sangam dotted with busy small vendor shops. The room service was first class and food was amazing. The front desk was very very courteaus and helpful in clarifying our so many queries about the Islands. A definte place worth your money ...

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suresh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Average room with 3 start rating. Good for economical budget trips. Room size are convenient and suited for family and groups. One good thing is nearer to town. Poor value for money, can get other good options of hotels near by

Room tip: 2nd floor rooms are better
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sujish c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

we were two families that were booked in this hotel from dates 19th Oct to 22nd oct.We had booked the top categories of room.First day when we arrived we it was late,so we had no choice but to compromise.The room had a AC at 25 degrees and i was hot.There was no remote.On contacting the reception they said that the temp cant be changed and live with it.Fan had no regulator.So you cant increase the speed of the fan incase if you are feeling hot due to AC.Followed by this was the shower which just had the pipe in the name of the shower but there was no spray from which the water falls.Then there were cockroaches,Rats and cobwebs all around.We came for holiday but no to see all this.
Even the cheapest hotels will atleast be clean and not this.
Then they gave us only two blankets.Even though we paid for extra bed they said pls manage in this -we don't have extra blankets?what is this ?a joke?
Then we ordered for dinner-we had ordered chines food and amongst it prawns was one of the items.The prawns was stale and had gone bad.We called the cook who accepted this.It does not end here
When we went for breakfast next day there was only two items-Poha and bread Jam.
Poha was again stale and had gone bad,apart from us there were other GUJRATI families who started telling them to remove the stale band poha but they did not remove.One of them feel sick as they had already eaten 3-4 spoons.
On asking them to provide butter with the Bread they said that Butter is not available in Post blair.Imagine.I told them that the Poha is bad and the Bread Jam I cant eat as I have high sugar problem,but he just shrugged and went away from there.
We had pre-booked the hotel and paid the money before hand so we had to live there .NEver never go there.This hotel should close .I am attaching pictures for reference
Also pls note there is no LIFT IN THE HOTEL.YOU WILL HAVE TO CLIMB STAIR EVEN IF YOU ARE A SR CITIZEN.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GitanjalliB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews