We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Resort Bay Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fortune Resort Bay Island
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
bangalore, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here with spouse and daughter for 3 days and 2 nights.

Location : Amazing, overlooks the sea and one would never never tire of that. You get an excellent view from the rooms and also from the dining area! This is the biggest plus. Pretty close to the airport and surroinding areas include the city center and the harbour.

Price : Slightly on the higher side but given the lcoation,service and the cleanliness I guess its compromisable.

Food : Breakfast spread was excellent! Lunch and Dinner average.

Rooms : Small but offer an excellent view and room and bathroom is very clean.

Service : Pretty ok. They do take quite some time to serve lunch or dinner even if the place isn't too crowded.

Recreational Activities : There's a swing for kids and adults or one can read from the library. There's a TT room and carrom board too. They have a small play area further down for kids.One can also walk along the sea coast.

A good place to stay esp if you want more m

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drifter_bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    191
    128
    38
    28
See reviews for
188
208
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Visited and stayed here last week for 4 nights itself with my family, Wife and 2 kids. Was not that amused with ITC standards in this hotel in particular. I am bit surprised when i saw excellent ratings for the hotel . With due respect I think it has come from Couples who have stared new jorney and there marriage and have very few reasons to be disappointed but for me this hotel is no where near to be a excelent

1.) Well best part is the location . Situated right next to sea shore infact only hotel in Port Blair which is so close to shore. Views are breathtaking from Lobby, Restaurant and Rooms if you are lucky enough to get a sea view room. But you have to shelve extra money for Sea view rooms that is hard to understand .

2.) Rooms are OK when it comes to space . Would be fine for a couple but will feel crowded if you have children. Theme is all wooden with wooden floor. Here again Sea view rooms are maintained better in every aspect . Bathrooms are cramped, average clean . Balconies are again kind of OK. They offer you complementary water bottles , a tea Coffee which are in very sorry state, Very old and desperately need change. We never used them and i got same inputs from many guests i had chat with .

3.) Well Furniture, Cupboards and other stuff is fairly old, stained and need change. They provide you a mini refrigerator but that too is old and noisy . They still have old fashioned CTV's in room where many low rated hotels in Port Blair have LCD's.

4.) Electrical fixings are in Sorry state and dangerous if you have kids .

5.) But they provide Good Lenin's, Bed-sheets Again Beds are not that comfortable . Rooms are not sound proof and Light Filters through windowpanes , It is distracting when it comes to
quality sleep.

6.) Pool is Not clean . Food is Okay , Some times good and Some times Average . They try there hand on International cuisines . well Better stay away from International cuisines.
Breakfast and Dinner are buffet , Diner is better with quality Seafood .

7.) Alcohol is available and reasonable priced and so are food items ,

8.) Best part is service , they oblize quickly and proactively ,

9.) There rooms are well fairly overpriced and so is there travel desk . They will charge INR 300 for KM long trip ... Avoid it ....

10.) and there is nothing for Kids as they claim on there website no kids zone or even a swing to go with ...


11.) Location is biggest point but other things can't be ignored as Port Blair now has everything available like anyother Indian city. There prices are exorbitant for which they need to provide better services . i will give a 2.75 - 3.00 out of my 5 for my stay and that also mainly due to their service ...

Room Tip: Ask for A sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmasti
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Had an excellent stay in this resort, it is located in a quite corner and the sea view is exhilarating. Food/ambience is very good.

We had asked for a change of room and very promptly given a new one.

Drawback is the travel desk which charges quite more than others

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed in Fortune Resort Bay Island for one night one our way back from Havelock to Chennai.
We requested for sea facing room during check in which we did not get for obvious reason that those are booked in advance ( and they charge extra INR 750) . We were allotted a ground floor room and to our pleasant surprise we had an amazing view of the bay because the hotel is on top of a hill!!!
The room was very clean and complete in all aspects as you would expect from an ITC welcome group hotel anywhere else in India. Only area which would have been better was that the bathroom could have been bigger. ( It it was pretty small).
Now the best part .. the view from restaurant and the bar is just amazing . You could sit there for hours watching the bay, the cruise ships and the lighthouse across and forget about everything else.
The food at the restaurant was ok , we tried the buffet , in some cases it was cold and could have been maintained hot.. but then we were lost in the view across the bay and the sea breeze and didn t mind too much about the food.
Overall a great experience ... this place is just 1 KM from the city center and 4 Kms from the sea shell and wood crafts shops ( Sagar Emporium and Sagaraika ) if you are interested in shopping . Port Blair is a very clean and beautiful town with very nice and friendly people.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We arrived at fortune resort from chennai and were initially impressed at the lobby area and the fresh coconut drink.
Our opinion quickly changed when we were taken to our room. The curtains were filthy, there were ants in the bed and we had an awful view. We telephoned reception and asked if there were any other rooms as we were on our honeymoon and they responded that they were fully booked.
The bar are and views are lovely. We ate bar snacks rather than going to the restaurant as the restaurant is a buffet.
The pool shouldn't really be classed as a pool, there isn't anywhere to sit outside really and the pool is dirty.
The hotel is in a good location and is close to the ferry. We stayed one night at the beginning of our honeymoon and one night at the end. The room n the last evening was much better and cleaner than the first.
We had booked the hotel through late rooms, and when we paid our bill they added tax to the bill which wasn't on our late rooms confirmation. The hotel need to include the tax or state that tax is extra when using hotel brokers.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. These rooms seem slightly better than those without a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.1 km away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.2 km away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
16.6 km away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#6 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.9 km away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#5 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
35.4 km away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Resort Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Resort Bay Island

Property: Fortune Resort Bay Island
Address: Bay Island, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Price range (per night): $157 - $191
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Resort Bay Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fortune Resort Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Bay Island Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Hotel Bay Island
Fortune Hotel Port Blair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing