We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only backpackers on shoestring budget - families (esp Indians) pls avoid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aashiaanaa Residency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aashiaanaa Residency Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Kolkata
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Only backpackers on shoestring budget - families (esp Indians) pls avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is an absolute NO-NO if you are travelling with families. The place is only suitable for backpackers on budget. The rooms are small - the bathrooms an afterthought. Although you get autos on doorsteps - the place (its run out of a house by a family) is uphill making walking up and down a challenge.

I personally had a very bad experience with the owner (Shadab). A good review in Lonely Planet landed me there (along with my parents). I had expressed my intent to stay 3 days over email. However on arrival we found this was not going to work for us -

(a) Room was small for 3 people (with drain pipes running through the room) although with a good balcony,

(b) Bathroom cramped

(c)It was on 3rd floor which made it a challenging climb for my parents (although we were offered a room on ground floor as alternate which was not airy)

(d) They dont have any provisions for food (lunch/dinner) though they said breakfast could be arranged

I mentioned that we wanted to move out after staying 1 day. We were told that if we leave we have to pay for 3 days since I had expressed my intent to stay for 3 days on email !! This was the worst part of the experience

- It was not as if the place was full - there were rooms available (during our one day stay we saw more than a couple of foreign backpackers landing up there scouting for rooms) - hence the claim that they would be losing money since they had kept a room booked for us for 3 days was not valid

- The gentleman Shadab was audacious enough to say "All people from Kolkata are problematic" - very very ill behaved (to the credit of his family his brother later apologised for his behaviour and offered to give a 10% discount on room price if we decided to stay 3 days)

Overall it really left a bad taste in mouth and that too upon arrival in a new place. The place gets mostly foreign backpackers due to a good review on Lonely Planet guide. And at least I saw the foreigners getting a smiling welcome and being chaperoned around - so may be that treatment is not extended to Indians.

However I have to say that even for foreigners there are other places in Port Blair that offer a better rooms at same value.

Room Tip: If at all staying as couple and climbing stairs is not an issue take the room on top floor next to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelust72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARINEHILL, Owner at Aashiaanaa Residency Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guests,
The guest in particular had booked room with us through e-mail and booked the room with us for three consecutive nights and he had also had agreed on the price. I had also informed him that we have the rooms in the second floor. But when he arrived he was not willing to stay in our place for more than one night, therefore I asked him to pay for the other two nights also if he wants to check out. It is mandatory in each of the hotel in Port Blair that if a guest books a room for like 3 nights he has to stay there for the no of nights which he has booked or else if the guest wants to check out after staying for one day he has to pay for all the other two nights. The moment I asked him to pay him for the rest of the nights he started shouting at me and was not willing to pay for the bill, which was very rude from his side.
I had also informed him well before that our hotel is not providing lunch and dinner as we only breakfast facility in our place, complaining for the food is also not appropriate on his behalf.

with reg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    23
    13
    11
See reviews for
25
36
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

This hotel is located in Marine Hill, near the jetty from where vessels for Havelock departs. We have stayed there for 1 night only. It is a hotel run by a family who stays at the first floor of the hotel.

Amenities in the hotel are very basic and the rooms are quite small. Geysers at the bathrooms are controlled by the family who runs this hotel. Every time you need hot water, you have to ask them to switch on the geyser.

Food is not available in the hotel. As it is on the marine hill, so it is not very well connected to other part of the city. You have to come near jetty to get an auto.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jajabor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

i seems hard to find a good budget hotel in port blair, i heard many bad things. final this was recommend to me and it is fine for a budget hotel

this hotel is ok, it could be cleaner but for the price it is good.

pros:
- very close to port
- 8 minute walk to centre

cons:
- could be cleaner but it is not bad

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe_19751975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed a couple of separate nights here. The rooms are basic but clean, We couldn't get the hot water to work and the basin was on the balcony but for the price (Rs750) it was fair. You have to get a rickshaw anywhere but its pretty cheap (Rs 20-25 to the bazaar). walk down the hill to get one (don't accept the guest house's offer to provide one to the airport as its about Rs30 over the going rate). You're looking at paying double to stay anywhere better.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

It is a neat hotel near the marine jetty. it is a simple lodge where you can stay. Rooms have TV, good cot/bed, Geyser for hot water. AC rooms have airy window and the room where we stayed had a balcony facing the road.

Owner stay in the same building through a diffrent entrance.


The advanatages are
- it is cheap. AC rooms cost about 800 Rs.
- Rooms are clean
- helpful staff
- They had provided extra mattress, pillow etc free of cost

Disadvantages:
- There is no place even to have a coffee/tea nearby. Staying here is a real problem for indians who wake upto a hot chaai.
- There is no place to walk around/roam around. Compared to Andaman teal house which has lot of open space.
- This hotel is visited by foreigners. Culturally it becomes an issue, especially when you stay with kids.
- Rooms are adjacent to each other and some rooms share a common balcony
- Not having a restaurant nearby is a real problem. We are forced to pay local auto, for every meal.

This place may be good for singles or friends, but for families especially indian family need to think twice

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank venkat_saiarvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.1 km away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#6 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.1 km away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#3 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
15.6 km away
Anugama Resort
Anugama Resort
#16 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.3 km away
Cross Bill Beach Resort
Cross Bill Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Havelock Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aashiaanaa Residency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aashiaanaa Residency Inn

Property: Aashiaanaa Residency Inn
Address: Near Marine Dockyard, Marine Jetty, | Marine Hill, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744103, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Price range (per night): $13 - $31
Hotel Class:1 star — Aashiaanaa Residency Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aashiaanaa Residency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing