We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
C_WasHere

Clean, cozy, central location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2021
Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner.

This three-room lodge is the perfect location for travellers who want the views of savusavu without the hassle of booking somewhere up on the hill/out of town. It's just a 15 minute walk into central savusavu.

The host is so accommodating and really makes you feel welcome. The rooms are spotless. Loved the communal dining area where you can look at the ocean and watch the sunset. Breakfasts here are lovely!

I stayed in the garden view room, but next time will opt for the ocean view room as it has lounge chairs and of course--and ocean view.

Great place for solo female travellers as you'll feel really safe here. Super quiet and surrounded by tropical gardens! A beach where you can swim is just steps away as well.
Date of stay: April 2021
Room Tip: Ocean view room has worthwhile view
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saras Swamy, General Manager at Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 6 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your great review. It was lovely having you both here and knowing that you have enjoyed your stay. Really look forward to welcoming you back. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Hotel Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
6.8 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$150
  • Expedia.com
    AU$272
0.6 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$2,072
  • Booking.com
6.2 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Beachfront
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$324
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
11.1 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,372
  • Official Site
    AU$1,313
  • Booking.com
61.6 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Beachfront
Restaurant
Hammocking Lounge area #2
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.0 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
10.0 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
23.9 km from Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Savusavu
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
79
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
10
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020

Very comfortable, easy to get to and so beautiful!
This place is one we will definitely return to. Sara was so helpful and knowledgable - we are very grateful to her. Our holiday here was amazing.
Rooms were very very clean, the kitchen had everything you need and the views were outstanding!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YukiTravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
geckosvsv, Owner at Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2020

Bula Vinaka dear guest and thank you for such great review. We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. It was lovely having you here and hope to welcome you again to Gecko Lodge. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

I stayed at The Gecko Lodge for 5 nights this past week and LOVED it. I was traveling solo and Sara made me feel quite welcome and cared about. The lodge is sparkling clean and very comfortable. The location is convenient for walks into town as well as snorkeling. Sara arranged for a driver/guide for sightseeing as well as reservations for snorkeling. Her recommendations for local sights, etc. were much appreciated. This is a small, owner run lodge so no upscale amenities but you cannot go wrong with a stay in this serene place. Try to book the larger room facing the bay.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank DBstravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

If you’re coming to Savusavu and want a lovely, relaxing, very clean and friendly place to stay, then stay at Gecko Lodge. Sara is a great host and is full of local tips and tricks. The lodge is a 10 minute walk to town where you can get all your supplies. The rooms have air conditioning, a fan, en-suite, and a fridge. There’s also a well equipped communal kitchen. Highly recommend staying here!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TulipsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

This was one of my favourite places in my whole trip across the Pacific. Sarah is such a star and helped me to organise diving with the fabulous Korosun divers, ferry’s, taxis etc. The apartment is very spacious and well appointed. I had at the front apartment (dolphin I think) - two double beds so could sleep four. It is very private with a veranda to watch the world go by. Kitchen in the apartment has tea/coffee/milk, fridge, kettle & sink. Communal kitchen has gas hob and cooking utensils. Supermarket is 10min walk, market 15min and Sarah has bikes you can use (there are loads of taxis if not). For an independent traveller it gave me all the freedom, convenience I needed. There is a TV & DVD player (Sarah keeps a stock of dvds for you to use). Savusavu is not touristy and I loved it for that alone.

Room tip: Front apartment has the views across Savusavu bay and the private veranda.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saras S, Owner at Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Bula Vinaka ! Greetings from the Hidden Paradise. Thank you so much for a lovely review, It was really great having you here at Gecko Lodge. Hope to see you someday again....Best wishes....from Gecko Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We spent 12 days roughing it in the bush and our last few nights in Fiji we chose the Gecko Lodge. Sparkling clean, small fridge, cooking facilities and cool room was just what we needed. The best part about the lodge is the owner who took time to arrange transports and activities we loved. We snorkeled, hiked the rainforest, visited villages etc. We felt cared for and pampered. Many people in Savu savu knew her and had great respect for her and the Gecko Lodge. Excellent!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank virginia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saras S, Owner at Gecko Lodge Savusavu Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you Virginia for a great & awesome review. It was lovely having you both here. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your holiday and stay at Gecko Lodge and hope to see you sometimes again. Vinaka & Best wishes... from Gecko Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews