We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Korovesi Sunshine Villas(Savusavu)(Great Value!)
USD 83
USD 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daku Resort(Savusavu)(Great Value!)
USD 126
USD 101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 84
USD 74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Naveria Heights Lodge(Savusavu)(Great Value!)
USD 179
USD 118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 864
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 1,249
USD 1,212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 81
USD 69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 338
USD 327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat(Waiyevo)(Great Value!)
USD 396
USD 179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
368
89
42
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
89
42
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsedgewater bureedge waterfoot massagebanana leafour honeymoonmeal plangarden burenamena diversswim up barseaside restaurantwaterfall tripherbal walkschool visitfishmary roselocal schoolwraps
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Our wedding was a dream come true at Koro Sun Resort. As any bride would do, I researched many resorts on different islands in Fiji and settled on Koro Sun Resort due to their ratings, proximity to the rainforest, wedding location variety, and price. The booking process was a breeze both for us and our guests, as well as the cancellation process for a few of our guests who unfortunately could not attend due to health reasons at the last minute.

From the USA, I was able to easily coordinate the details of our wedding with Mela, our wedding coordinator, via email. As a "Type A" personality, I would assure any similar bride to trust that it will work out even if it seems like it won't. The first day we arrived Mela met with my fiance and I to review our wedding details.

We booked the "Simple Wedding" package. On the day of the wedding, Mela and Paul coordinated all of the details. Our bouquets were delivered to our bures and all the hair/makeup was done in our bure also. Once we were ready, Paul picked us up in a 4wd golf cart (i.e., mule/polaris) for easy transport to the rainforest. My groom was transported first so that we did not see each other before the wedding.

Walking up on our rainforest location made me tear up, the resort had gone above and beyond to make our day special. The flower posts and walkway was decorated better than I could have imagined. The 3-string quartet was greeting me with beautiful songs and the minister performed a short (20 minute), sweet ceremony which Mela had helped us prepare.

Following pictures in the rainforest and beach, the resort had arranged a beachside dinner (which was pulled under an awning due to a brief rainstorm - we traveled at the end of October and for the most part the weather was beautiful - both temperature and little rain) complete with candles and champagne. After dinner, we enjoyed a beautiful firework show. Much to our surprise, the resort had decorated our bure with flower petals. It was a perfect way to end our wedding day.

Besides our wedding, we enjoyed an amazing deep sea fishing trip arranged by the resort with Namale Divers, located in the lagoon of the resort. We caught a 50 lb Yellowfin Tuna, 25 lb Yellowfin Tuna, Mackerel, Barracuda, Travellis, and much more! We saw a huge pod of dolphins (20+) and the boat guides stopped for us to enjoy without charging us for the extra time.

We used the sea kayaks from our room's ladder and saw lion fish, stingrays, sharks, and tons of other sealife all from our balcony. We had a couple's massage in the Rainforest Spa and as a massage aficionado, I can say it was the best massage of my entire life! The resort arranged a private hike to a waterfall through the rainforest and then to the owner's retreat, which had the most amazing views of the resort and Fiji. That hike was a highlight of our trip! We also took a cheap cab ride ($10 USD) to and from the town for a quick market trip. Unfortunately, we purchased a bowl from a local vendor who was going to mail it to us, but we have not received it (almost 1 month ago). I would recommend carrying all souvenirs and having the resort ship them.

We stayed in an Edgewater Bure and would highly recommend that for any couple. They are far and above the best rooms at the resort with direct access to the water and isolated from the noise of others. At night you can lay on your private outdoor bed and see the stars which are so bright it feels as though you can touch them while listening to the ocean.

The food was fine. Some meals were wonderful (especially the seafood and they cooked our yellowfin tuna we caught) and others were bland. We live in a foodie environment in the US so are used to a different style of cooking. However, if we didn't like something, the staff was very willing to get us something else.

The people who work and manage the Koro Sun Resort is what makes it special. If you are considering a relaxing vacation, honeymoon, and especially a wedding, definitely consider Koro Sun Resort!

Thank you to everyone at Koro Sun Resort who made our wedding and trip absolutely amazing! You'll never know how much we appreciate it!

Room Tip: Edgewater Bures have the best view, but Edgewater Villas have a very private plunge pool to enjoy but limited view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Bula Vinaka M & D,

What an incredible write up . Thank you so much for taking the time to review us in detail. We are all appreciative of your compliments and it is indeed an honor to have been part of making your "Dream come True" on your wedding day. Wow, Mela will be over the moon about how you have commended her and her personal effort into organizing your wedding. She does take the time to listen well and our Guest Relations Coordinator, Paul helps makes it easier for her to deliver for our guests. Thank you for highlighting the Spa experience. That is our signature product and we are proud to be associated with it and most importantly, we a grateful to the Spa girls for always delivering 100% on the experience for each and every guest. Thank you for also highlighting the food experience. We have had our share of not delivering well on the menus but we make every effort to make up for it. I am grateful for your being so positive about it.
Our blessings to you both and your families. Season’s greetings to you and may you have an awesome new year ahead of you both.

Warmest Regards from all of us at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Our honeymoon stay at Koro Sun exceeded expectations! We took part in a lot the activities on offer (both free and paid) and it made for a very social experience - we often had dinner with our fellow guests and made some new friends from around the world. One of my favourite activities was the saltwater kayaking. The staff are so friendly (I've never hugged hotel staff goodbye before!), as are all the people on the island of Savusavu. One small glitch - a few of us did get very unwell after a Kava experience...but it did not affect the overall experience of our time at the resort. So many wonderful memories and experiences - we could not have asked for a better honeymoon. If I ever return to Fiji I would go back to Koro Sun.

Room Tip: Stay in the bures! Expensive but so so worth it if you're on your honeymoon!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Bula Vinaka Stephanie ,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! The kayak excursion up the salt lake river is definitely a highlight for many who added it to their list of events. So good to know that you were both involved in all that was on offer. I hope you got to experience the Rainforest Spa. Anyone coming over to Koro Sun Resort must insist on trying this when you are here.

I must agree that the small glitch on the kava experience is not uncommon. In fact kava is an acquired taste and it can go well or not so well with individuals. I think people do bear with it given the traditional and social protocol often explained about kava drinking, however, it is important to know that one is not expected to feel any sense of obligation to participate at all . You won't be thought of differently. It is just in the Fijian nature to invite people as a gesture of goodwill. There are others, whose liking for the brew is instant and they indulge themselves. To them I always encourage them to seek a 'light' mix as you do not wish them to lose their appetite and miss out on the great meals we have on offer, here, lol. Just enough of it will build your appetite. Too much of it has an opposite effect.

Thank you again Stephanie for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that your honeymoon was an unforgettable experience.

We hope to see you both again sometime later in the future.

Warm Regards,

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
Savusavu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

My stay at the Koro Sun was the last week of 7 in the southern pacific which included Thailand, Australia and New Zealand as well. The stop over in Nadi on the way to Koro Sun wasn't the greatest but was comfortable as well. The Koro Sun accommodation in the Garden Bure was great with plenty of room for a single or a couple. I did not notice any bugs or insects during my visit. The staff took courtesy to an exceptional level and seemed to know every guest by name. I enjoyed the off resort excursions and took full advantage of the kayaks made available at the activities shelter.

Room Tip: Garden Bure's are more isolated, Edgewater Bure's offer direct access to the salt water
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Bula Vinaka Marcus , We sure miss you here , especially at breakfast as our first guest every morning.
Thank you for your five-star review of us. Humbly received and very much appreciated. Yes, the domestic flight can be a challenge for some, but it gets you here. We have our national domestic carrier, Fiji link which is subsidiary of our international airline Fiji Airways covering our region well. Thank you for your positive review of our Garden bures. We have been doing some refurbishments at the Garden side, after having just completed our major refurbishments at the Edgewater. I am happy to inform you that 4 of our floating bures are back at their docks in the lagoon, I sure wished you were here to see them float back so proudly. For those who do not know yet – We are excited to announce that our iconic, one-of-a-kind Edge-water Floating Bure's are re-opening December 1st 2016!
Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of the staff. Once you arrive at our resort, you are indeed home so remembering your name is easy because you immediately become part of our extended family. This also helps you ease into the rhythm of life here. Well, you know that already.

Our warmest regards to you and your family back home – from all of us at Koro Sun and we do hope you return.

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

From arrival to departure, this was the most fabulous experience of my life. I travelled with 20friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. The resort is beautiful, the accommodations were top notch, the staff were wonderful. The food was great, the activity list extensive . we all cried when we left, it was like leaving family. Already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rampam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you Pam. We miss you guys too. It was wonderful experience for us as well to have all of you over. As Hash Harrier & Harriets group, you and your group of friends certainly got yourselves involved and taking advantage of the 150 acre property. I send you all our warmest regards from the staff . Yes, we look forward to seeing you back when you all return for the Inter Hash running meet in 2018. A post-event break with us at the Koro Sun sounds like a great idea.

Thank again for your 5 star review.

Lolomas and Love from all of us.

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We have just returned after a wonderful holiday at Koro Sun. The Staff were fantastic. They said we were Family and that is how they treated everyone. We felt like we saw the REAL Fiji and its people. Made the mistake of taking first couple of days settling in after a busy time at home then had to make sure we experienced everything before we went home. Our Bure was PV16 and we had 2 b'rooms and our own 7 metre very private pool. Not the most luxurious accom offered there but we loved it. Our outdoor shower looked out over the ocean view. Would love the chance to go back and do more. The spa treatment is an absolute must.

Room Tip: Pv16 has own private 7 metre pool. Not luxurious but very Fijian decor which we liked. Bit of a hill to get there
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janeyboucher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you Janey Boucher for your review at hand. So wonderful to be able to validate the commitment of the staff by this wonderful gesture from you. We live by our vision to always give our best always and to provide our visitors a truly authentic Fijian experience and being part of family is a key component of the Fijian experience. Thank you for being so open to it.

Yes, Bure 16 is not the most luxurious, but I am glad you loved it. The plus for us is that we have a diversity in accommodation range available as well. I am so pleased to learn that you took up the spa experience. That is a must for anyone coming to Koro Sun Resort. This is one of our signature products. Nowhere in Fiji or around the Pacific Islands can one find a Spa in the middle of a rainforest environment. Truly, natural.

We hope to see you back sometime and thank you again for sharing your review.

Warm Regards,

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews