We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind resort experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of a kind resort experience!”
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Koro Sun was the last stop on our South Pacific honeymoon tour, and was certainly the highlight of the trip. This resort is truly one of a kind with exceptional customer service, a wonderful menu for each meal of the day, pinch-yourself views of the lagoon and reefs that surround Koro Sun...not to mention the beautiful rainforest spa and waterfalls. The staff will know your name in a matter of your first few hours and truly go out of their way to ensure your stay is fun, unique and comfortable. The activities will keep families or couples busy throughout the day and are catered to people of all desired activity levels. The meals at the Main Bure are truly enjoyable, and for an extra special dining experience, try the Seaside for dinner - serving up an Asian-Seafood fusion menu. Milly, Mary Rose, Mary, Vani, Sta, Margie, John and many others make you feel like VIPs, and we truly appreciate their hard work and TLC they put into making sure we enjoyed every moment. We will miss all the great folks we met, but look forward to returning with friends and family in the future. Highly recommend this resort for honeymooners, couples and families!

Room Tip: Edgewater Bure for couples, Edgewater Villa for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 14 December 2016
Bula Vinaka Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Koro Sun on Tripadvisor. What a blessing to have been part of your amazing South Pacific honeymoon tour and most especially to learn that your visit and stay at Koro Sun Resort was the highlight. That is very humbling to read. I have also shared your review of our food with our chefs. They were pleased to learn that they delivered for you both. Thank you for your recommendation and for sending the word out on Savusavu and on Koro Sun Resort. We remain committed to delivering an incredible holiday for any of your friends or families you send our way.

Milly, Mary Rose, Vani, Star, John and myself send our warmest to you both. I will be sure to let other staff know too.

Warmest Tropical Wishes for the Holiday season and a Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    83
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
103
248
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Our wedding was a dream come true at Koro Sun Resort. As any bride would do, I researched many resorts on different islands in Fiji and settled on Koro Sun Resort due to their ratings, proximity to the rainforest, wedding location variety, and price. The booking process was a breeze both for us and our guests, as well as the cancellation process for a few of our guests who unfortunately could not attend due to health reasons at the last minute.

From the USA, I was able to easily coordinate the details of our wedding with Mela, our wedding coordinator, via email. As a "Type A" personality, I would assure any similar bride to trust that it will work out even if it seems like it won't. The first day we arrived Mela met with my fiance and I to review our wedding details.

We booked the "Simple Wedding" package. On the day of the wedding, Mela and Paul coordinated all of the details. Our bouquets were delivered to our bures and all the hair/makeup was done in our bure also. Once we were ready, Paul picked us up in a 4wd golf cart (i.e., mule/polaris) for easy transport to the rainforest. My groom was transported first so that we did not see each other before the wedding.

Walking up on our rainforest location made me tear up, the resort had gone above and beyond to make our day special. The flower posts and walkway was decorated better than I could have imagined. The 3-string quartet was greeting me with beautiful songs and the minister performed a short (20 minute), sweet ceremony which Mela had helped us prepare.

Following pictures in the rainforest and beach, the resort had arranged a beachside dinner (which was pulled under an awning due to a brief rainstorm - we traveled at the end of October and for the most part the weather was beautiful - both temperature and little rain) complete with candles and champagne. After dinner, we enjoyed a beautiful firework show. Much to our surprise, the resort had decorated our bure with flower petals. It was a perfect way to end our wedding day.

Besides our wedding, we enjoyed an amazing deep sea fishing trip arranged by the resort with Namale Divers, located in the lagoon of the resort. We caught a 50 lb Yellowfin Tuna, 25 lb Yellowfin Tuna, Mackerel, Barracuda, Travellis, and much more! We saw a huge pod of dolphins (20+) and the boat guides stopped for us to enjoy without charging us for the extra time.

We used the sea kayaks from our room's ladder and saw lion fish, stingrays, sharks, and tons of other sealife all from our balcony. We had a couple's massage in the Rainforest Spa and as a massage aficionado, I can say it was the best massage of my entire life! The resort arranged a private hike to a waterfall through the rainforest and then to the owner's retreat, which had the most amazing views of the resort and Fiji. That hike was a highlight of our trip! We also took a cheap cab ride ($10 USD) to and from the town for a quick market trip. Unfortunately, we purchased a bowl from a local vendor who was going to mail it to us, but we have not received it (almost 1 month ago). I would recommend carrying all souvenirs and having the resort ship them.

We stayed in an Edgewater Bure and would highly recommend that for any couple. They are far and above the best rooms at the resort with direct access to the water and isolated from the noise of others. At night you can lay on your private outdoor bed and see the stars which are so bright it feels as though you can touch them while listening to the ocean.

The food was fine. Some meals were wonderful (especially the seafood and they cooked our yellowfin tuna we caught) and others were bland. We live in a foodie environment in the US so are used to a different style of cooking. However, if we didn't like something, the staff was very willing to get us something else.

The people who work and manage the Koro Sun Resort is what makes it special. If you are considering a relaxing vacation, honeymoon, and especially a wedding, definitely consider Koro Sun Resort!

Thank you to everyone at Koro Sun Resort who made our wedding and trip absolutely amazing! You'll never know how much we appreciate it!

Room Tip: Edgewater Bures have the best view, but Edgewater Villas have a very private plunge pool to enjoy bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 14 December 2016
Bula Vinaka M & D,

What an incredible write up . Thank you so much for taking the time to review us in detail. We are all appreciative of your compliments and it is indeed an honor to have been part of making your "Dream come True" on your wedding day. Wow, Mela will be over the moon about how you have commended her and her personal effort into organizing your wedding. She does take the time to listen well and our Guest Relations Coordinator, Paul helps makes it easier for her to deliver for our guests. Thank you for highlighting the Spa experience. That is our signature product and we are proud to be associated with it and most importantly, we a grateful to the Spa girls for always delivering 100% on the experience for each and every guest. Thank you for also highlighting the food experience. We have had our share of not delivering well on the menus but we make every effort to make up for it. I am grateful for your being so positive about it.
Our blessings to you both and your families. Season’s greetings to you and may you have an awesome new year ahead of you both.

Warmest Regards from all of us at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Our honeymoon stay at Koro Sun exceeded expectations! We took part in a lot the activities on offer (both free and paid) and it made for a very social experience - we often had dinner with our fellow guests and made some new friends from around the world. One of my favourite activities was the saltwater kayaking. The staff are so friendly (I've never hugged hotel staff goodbye before!), as are all the people on the island of Savusavu. One small glitch - a few of us did get very unwell after a Kava experience...but it did not affect the overall experience of our time at the resort. So many wonderful memories and experiences - we could not have asked for a better honeymoon. If I ever return to Fiji I would go back to Koro Sun.

Room Tip: Stay in the bures! Expensive but so so worth it if you're on your honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
Bula Vinaka Stephanie ,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! The kayak excursion up the salt lake river is definitely a highlight for many who added it to their list of events. So good to know that you were both involved in all that was on offer. I hope you got to experience the Rainforest Spa. Anyone coming over to Koro Sun Resort must insist on trying this when you are here.

I must agree that the small glitch on the kava experience is not uncommon. In fact kava is an acquired taste and it can go well or not so well with individuals. I think people do bear with it given the traditional and social protocol often explained about kava drinking, however, it is important to know that one is not expected to feel any sense of obligation to participate at all . You won't be thought of differently. It is just in the Fijian nature to invite people as a gesture of goodwill. There are others, whose liking for the brew is instant and they indulge themselves. To them I always encourage them to seek a 'light' mix as you do not wish them to lose their appetite and miss out on the great meals we have on offer, here, lol. Just enough of it will build your appetite. Too much of it has an opposite effect.

Thank you again Stephanie for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that your honeymoon was an unforgettable experience.

We hope to see you both again sometime later in the future.

Warm Regards,

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
Savusavu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2016

My stay at the Koro Sun was the last week of 7 in the southern pacific which included Thailand, Australia and New Zealand as well. The stop over in Nadi on the way to Koro Sun wasn't the greatest but was comfortable as well. The Koro Sun accommodation in the Garden Bure was great with plenty of room for a single or a couple. I did not notice any bugs or insects during my visit. The staff took courtesy to an exceptional level and seemed to know every guest by name. I enjoyed the off resort excursions and took full advantage of the kayaks made available at the activities shelter.

Room Tip: Garden Bure's are more isolated, Edgewater Bure's offer direct access to the salt water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Bula Vinaka Marcus , We sure miss you here , especially at breakfast as our first guest every morning.
Thank you for your five-star review of us. Humbly received and very much appreciated. Yes, the domestic flight can be a challenge for some, but it gets you here. We have our national domestic carrier, Fiji link which is subsidiary of our international airline Fiji Airways covering our region well. Thank you for your positive review of our Garden bures. We have been doing some refurbishments at the Garden side, after having just completed our major refurbishments at the Edgewater. I am happy to inform you that 4 of our floating bures are back at their docks in the lagoon, I sure wished you were here to see them float back so proudly. For those who do not know yet – We are excited to announce that our iconic, one-of-a-kind Edge-water Floating Bure's are re-opening December 1st 2016!
Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of the staff. Once you arrive at our resort, you are indeed home so remembering your name is easy because you immediately become part of our extended family. This also helps you ease into the rhythm of life here. Well, you know that already.

Our warmest regards to you and your family back home – from all of us at Koro Sun and we do hope you return.

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2016

From arrival to departure, this was the most fabulous experience of my life. I travelled with 20friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. The resort is beautiful, the accommodations were top notch, the staff were wonderful. The food was great, the activity list extensive . we all cried when we left, it was like leaving family. Already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rampam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Thank you Pam. We miss you guys too. It was wonderful experience for us as well to have all of you over. As Hash Harrier & Harriets group, you and your group of friends certainly got yourselves involved and taking advantage of the 150 acre property. I send you all our warmest regards from the staff . Yes, we look forward to seeing you back when you all return for the Inter Hash running meet in 2018. A post-event break with us at the Koro Sun sounds like a great idea.

Thank again for your 5 star review.

Lolomas and Love from all of us.

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
11.4 km away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
674 reviews
5.4 km away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
4.6 km away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.2 km away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
10.8 km away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
162 reviews
18.4 km away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa

Property: Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price range (per night): $252 - $893
Hotel Class:4 star — Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our northern unspoiled location offers you the genuine warmth and friendliness of the Fijian people, beautiful lush tropical surroundings, and warm, impossibly clear waters. In a remote setting that defines paradise, Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa immerses you in a genuine Fijian experience that's nirvana to the core. In the unspoiled native north on "Fiji's other big island" of Vanua Levu, this 160-acre sanctuary was born of a nature lover's dream. The tropical retreat is etched within a coconut plantation that's encircled by lush rainforests at the edge of a stunning private lagoon. From the moment you arrive, the Koro Sun staff embraces you like family. They greet you with a song that welcomes you to your home away from home. Certainly, the Fijians are known around the globe for being the most warm and friendly islands on earth.That hospitality - coupled with our diverse accommodations and recreation - has made Fiji's Koro Sun Resort an international favorite for relaxing holidays, active family vacations and magical romantic getaways. You may experience the latter in our brand new Edgewater Bures, with lagoon front location. Our 43 private bures and villas are spacious, individually appointed decor and fully air-conditioned. Your stay is all-inclusive - from airport transfers to bountiful gourmet fare and a flurry of non-motorized water sport activities and exclusive diving at the world-famous Namena Marine Reserve with Namena Divers Inc now based at Koro Sun Resort. Beverages are additional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koro Sun Hotel Savusavu
Koro Sun Resort All Inclusive
Koro Sun Resort And Rainforest Spa Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing