We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
395
97
44
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
97
44
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bat island edgewater bure edge water foot massage banana leaf swim up bar waterfall trip meal plan garden bure our honeymoon seaside restaurant mary rose namena divers fish cocktail party coconut demonstration kids club
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

It's not exactly on the "honeymooners" circuit but this resort on Venua Levu is a nice supplement to the more traveled Yasawa Islands. The 1 hour inter-island flight is easy and the resort provides free transport to and from. We stayed in a two bedroom garden bure which was adequate no frills accommodation. If you're looking for a higher end stay, choose the edgewater bures. We had plenty to do on our four day stay, with snorkeling, kayaking, a village visit and plenty of pool, sun and bar time. If you're looking to diversify your Fiji experience, I'd give this place a try.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank bpmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you Bpmeier for the kind consideration given here. You are correct about the North and the Vanua Levu region not being a 'honeymooner's circuit'. The only key reason is because it is a fairly unknown region of the Fijian islands when compared to the more touristic regions of Fiji. Anyone out there who is keen on the less-travelled, more authentic, and uniquely-placed resorts, then Savusavu would have to be one of the places you need to consider.

Savusavu itself have a selective range of boutique resorts that would be considered ideal for honeymooners. For those of you planning a trip over to Fiji, You will find that Savusavu and Koro Sun Resort amongst a number of other regions and resorts have a more diverse experience to offer our guests. If you have four to seven days to set aside for a trip to Fiji, then consider Bpmeier's recommendation and give Savusavu and Koro Sun Resort a go.

Feel to free to ask for me on arrival or for any of the management staff, including Mary Rose, Ally or our Guest Relations Officer, Paulo, even if it is only to share something of particular interest to you that you want us to keep in mind. We will only be too happy to help out.

Many thanks again to Bpmeier for your kind review.

Our Warmest Regards,

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
SAVUSAVU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights and Koro Sun Resort and we had an amazing time, our days were spent snorkeling straight from the Edgewater Bure and finding the blue starfish and other small fish, bike riding on the quiet roads, stopping off and admiring the local locations, kayaking around in the beautiful water and to the close by islands. We also saw performances from people in the local village at Koro Sun which were a pleasure to view and we were lucky enough to visit the village to meet new people and learn more about the Fijian culture.
The food was always well presented, good sizing and always tasted great!
The Edgewater Bure itself was gorgeous, large and extremely comfortable with the best views of the islands/sunsets and water.
Most importantly the staff were friendly, funny, welcoming and so much more!
Thanks Koro Sun for such a great holiday

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank miss_sarah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Bula Vinaka Sarah B. Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor and for choosing Fiji, Savusavu and Koro Sun Resort. I love your heading, 'bliss'. Wow, for four days, you sure did pack in alot of activities. That is always wonderful to see our guests utilise their time well. I do have to add that it is equally bliss to not just do anything at all, because the environment on offer at Koro Sun Resort suits the soul too. Especially if one is looking to be rejuvenated in spirit and just wants to take time away from the rest of the world.

We appreciate your kind reviews of our Edgewater Accommodation. Mary Rose and the team there have been working to ensure that the Edgewater environment is immaculate in every sense. Oh and like you, I love the sunset views from Edgewater with the reflection shimmering over the reef waters. One just has to be here to appreciate these little wonders of nature.

Thank you for making Koro Sun Resort a part of your life over the four nights you chose to enjoy in Fiji and in Savusavu.

Warm Blessings from all of us at Koro Sun.

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
SAVUSAVU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My husband and I stayed at Koro Sun for our honeymoon and we had a wonderful time. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They greet every guest by name and were willing to assist in any way to make sure we had the most amazing honeymoon experience. We stayed in one of the edgewater bures and enjoyed jumping into the water directly from our room to snorkel and kayak almost every day. There's quite a bit of dead coral from cyclone Winston, however, there was a great variety of fish that we enjoyed swimming with. I was a little worried about the limited selection of restaurants, however, the food was absolutely delicious; my husband and I enjoyed every meal. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would absolutely recommend Koro Sun to anyone looking for a honeymoon destination!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nlj206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Koro Sun Resort on Tripadvisor. The Koro Sun Resort family are grateful for the opportunity to have played a small role in making your honeymoon to the Fijian Islands and Savusavu a truly enjoyable one.

So glad to know that you enjoyed your edgewater bure experience throughout your honieymoon stay. Yes you are right there is abit of dead coral left behind by Cyclone Winston. It will take some time for nature to heal itself and it is encouraging to see that the local villagers have reintroduced a taboo for no fishing in the reef environment the first week of every month as part of their contribution to nature's healing efforts.

I want to also highlight this point for those interested in the meal package. For those not sure about buying the full meal package up front, you can always do what others have done and that is to come on over and then decide what you want to do. Just know that we can be flexible with your needs. For newbies to this part of the Fijian islands, you should always try and get out to town and check it out - it is a quaint little local town. One of the first things you should ask for is an orientation of the resort and the activities available so you can plan your days well.

Again, thank you Nij206 for taking the time to review us.

Our warmest regards to you both,

Margaret Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
SAVUSAVU.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The people who work at this resort are like no other, we genuinely felt like we were visiting family. We traveled with a 13 and 15 year old and had an Edge-water 2 bedroom Villa. We only booked for breakfast however for convenience, we ended up having most of our dinners at the resort and I believe the cost was roughly $60 Fijian. All meals were exceptional and provided choices. We took the bus into town for a few days to have lunch which was a nice. This was extremely relaxing. We learnt how to string fish and our children did this every day, we went kayaking, and our kids loved playing volleyball with staff...another highlight. We had the opportunity to visit a village and school and this we feel everyone should do - life changing. The hotel is beautiful, well kept and the views are spectacular. We hope to return!!

Room tip: We loved being on the water. Recommend to review rooms on the hotel website as they all seem to provide a different experience.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaM599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Bula Vinaka Pamela. Thank you so much for choosing to come all the way to Savusavu and to Koro Sun Resort. It was an honor to have hosted you all at Koro Sun Resort. Rosie and Romanu send their warmest regards. Manu enjoyed the board games with Joa.

For those not sure about buying the full meal package up front, you can always do what Paul and Pamela did and that is to come on over and then decide what you want to do when you get here. Just know that we can be flexible with your needs. For newbies to this part of the Fijian islands, you should always try and get out to town and check it out - it is a quaint little local town. One of the first things you should ask for is an orientation of the resort and the activities available so you can plan your days well.

Oh for those who have dietary requirements, it would be good to let our reservations or travel agent know ahead if you have any strict requirements and the Kitchen team can be made aware. Your needs can be tailor-made. Just feel free to ask for me or my management staff in Ally and Mary Rose.

Thank you again Pamela for sharing your experiences to others at Tripadvisor especially about the activities you enjoyed. The school trip and the fishing is a must even for those who have not tried kayaking and fishing.

Our warmest regards to you, Paul , Joa and Bella. Its almost 3 months now to Christmas so wishing you all the very best in the festive season.

Love and Lolomas from all of us at Koro Sun Resort.

Margie Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
SAVUSAVU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This property has so many room options - garden, river, waterfront, homes, and bures.
There are 3 very different swimming pools. One seaside for adults only, one near the main dining area and one family pool with fantastic water slide for all ages.
The food is terrific, the service warm and personable, and the local traditional music and entertainment a breath of fresh air.
Sea kayaking, tennis, golf, snorkeling, bicycles, organized hiking - all no charge!
Local village preforms traditional song and dance on the weekend evenings.

Room tip: take your pick - many options and pricing to chose from.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Theodore J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you Theodore. So great to read here that you had experienced most of the activities that the resort offered. It is also nice to note here that you enjoyed the serenaders who perform at the resort daily. They are from our neighboring villages of Waivunia and Nabaka and they are renowned great singers of Fijian folk music with a dash of western influences thrown into their repertoire.

Your email to Mary Rose is also appreciated and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.

Very much appreciated by the team and I.

Warmest Regards,

Margie Rayawa
General Manager
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
SAVUSAVU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews