We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded All Expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Infinity Saltwater Pool, voted in World's 10 by Trip Advisor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Infinity Saltwater Pool, voted in World's 10 by Trip Advisor
Infinity Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Private Infinity Saltwater Pool, voted in World's 10 by Trip Advisor
Infinity Pool
House of Bamboo
House of Bamboo Pool
View of the pool
Lounge
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Third Bedroom
Indoor Dining
Bathroom
Reflections in the Pool
Tranquil Savusavu Bay
Sunset over the Bay
Pool reflections at sunset
Reflections of a coconut tree
Where the pool meets the ocean...
Your own Private Saltwater Pool
Beach out front
Checking the view from the pool
Views of Savusavu Bay
Cousteau Wharf
Savusavu Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Savusavu, Vanua Levu

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kenpokoch
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Expectations”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We arrived at the Savusavu airport and were greeted by the owners Bruce and Jennifer. On the way up to the House of Bamboo, they were kind enough to offer to stop in town so we could pick up a few groceries. They showed us where to buy bread and where to purchase fresh fruit and vegetables at the local market. We did not expect this. They did not have to take time out of their day so we could stop and get groceries. It was very much appreciated and very thoughtful.

Once we got to the house and they carried our baggage up to the house for us. After showing us around the house, we were left to enjoy our week long stay in paradise. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. No need for A/C as the ceiling fans in the house keep it comfortable. The house is fully stocked with appliances such as coffee maker, tea kettle, toaster etc. We found that they had everything here that we needed. If there is something that you can't find, but need, don't hesitate to contact Bruce or Jennifer.

The house does have power adapters for your electronics /small appliances and the owners also supply Pure Fiji shampoo/conditioner and soap. During our stay, we made use of the BBQ on the front deck. We should also mention that there is also a washing machine to do laundry while you're here. There is excellent snorkelling right infront of the property and split rock swim. Bring bread to feed the fish.

One thing I wanted to note is that The house is not within walking distance to town, however, taxis are cheap and will pick you up and take you into town for approximately $8 Fiji.

There are steps to be taken on the way up to the house. I would not recommend the mobility challenged attempt these daily. Having said this , the view at the top is worth it.

We had an opportunity to view the pod house. The pictures do not do this place justice. Whether you choose to stay at the pod house or the house of bamboo, you can't go wrong!

We celebrated our 10 yr wedding anniversary while here and enjoyed the romantic atmosphere Every day, we stopped to appreciate the million dollar view from the front deck and from the infinity pool. If I could give this place more than 5 stars ... I would! Bruce and Jennifer, thank you again for opening your home to us. We can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaChrs...
Chrsitchurch
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The ideal place to relax, renew and refresh”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just returned from two glorious weeks staying in the House of Bamboo, which is well equipped and beautifully positioned on the hillside overlooking Savusavu Bay.
Although there are 100 steps upto the house (not suitable to those with mobility issues and small children) the climb though the tropical gardens is well worth it. From the wide expansive deck your senses are excited by the sights and sounds of the ocean bay below an the mountains in the distance.
From the deck french doors lead into open plan living / kitchen area and the first floor of the house, which also includes a double bedroom , laundry and bathroom. Down galley-like stairs you reach the ground floor which has a era large bedroom, bathroom and "day" room.
The kitchen is very well equipped, and more than enabled us to self cater when we didn't want to go out. The laundry has a top loader and a real necessity in the tropical heat. The beds are Californian Kings, and very comfortable, ensuring a good night's rest after a day of relaxing.
The covered deck leads down onto another deck and the all important plunge pool, which provides you with a cool respite form the heat and a wonderful place to watch the yachts and wildlife in the bay below.
We hired a small 4x4 so that we could get around the island as well as travelling into Savusavu, however, there is a good bus service and a wide range of taxis .
Just below the house and along the road to culvert 63 you will find the most beautiful snorkelling. Swim out to the red buy which marks Split Rock:here you will fin Clown Fish, Angel Fish, and so many other colorful fish feeding on the coral. We Also saw turtle, dolphin and Moray ell in this area.
Savusavu is a well equipped town catering for the locals and Yacht is who venture to the safe haven of the Harbour. There are several small supermarkets, two very good bakers, a market, and an array of other shops. Do Note, however, that this is not a tourist town, which is why we chose this area.
There are several eating places we enjoyed Mel's at the Captains Table(Copra Shed) and Surf and Turf.
Alcohol is very expensive to buy so take your full duty free allowance, we were pleased we did as we enjoyed our sundowners in the deck every evening. Wine is a available, we recommend Sally's on the main street which has an excellent wine cellar,and fairly reasonably priced in comparison to the supermarkets.
If you want a very comfortable, well equipped, beautifully appointed house, with a luxurious infinity pool, in a fairly unspoilt tropical island, with views to die for .....then look no further. Paradise found.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thanks, Mike and Lorna. We will always remember you as our first guests of Pirate's Paradise! New comfortable chairs arrive next week for the living room. Come back any time and we will take you for a sail.
Bruce and Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justjj78
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Heaven”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife picked all the places to stay on our honeymoon in Fiji and I have to admit this was one of my favourites.

Brad met us from the airport and took us to the house, on the way he pointed out numerous places to shop, eat, buy pearls etc.

The house is amazing, within about 10 minutes of arriving we were in the pool cooling down, Brad even showed us around the pod house which is halfway up the hill, looked amazing too.

Anyway, back to the bamboo house, it really is a home from home you wont be disappointed if you stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The infinity pool
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Thanks again for staying with us, hopefully we will see you again for your anniversary. Kind regards Brad & Therese
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillrun1
Huntington Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the Best Places Ever!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I had read a lot about the House of Bamboo before our first trip to Fiji. I had high hopes and we were not disappointed. The house, the view and the privacy are spectacular.

When we arrived at the house, we saw a beautiful home up on 40' concrete pylons, built on the side of a hill. We quickly learned that that was the Pod house and the Bamboo House is above that. We climbed 125 steps, up. When we got to the Bamboo House, we found one of the best views we have experienced with total privacy.

Brad, the owner was there to meet us. He is a great guy and made us feel right at home.

The house is located about 4 miles from town, on a dirt road. It is about a quarter of a mile from the Jean Michael Cousteau 5 star resort. The neighborhood is safe and nice. You can not walk to town. You need to take a taxi or the bus if you don't have a car.

The house has a barbecue and a nice kitchen. We ended up barbecuing most of the time for dinner and made our breakfast and lunch. We honestly did not want to leave the house. The infinity pool and king size day bed, by the pool were our home for six days.

The upstairs bedroom is nice and has a two person bath tub that actually holds two people. The only problem with it is that there is a barbed wire fence about 10 yards behind the house and there are cows that occasion the area and make noise at night. Additionally, Mongooses are either mating or fighting at night and occasionally scream. Bring ear plugs.

The down stairs bedroom is nice and dark. You need to climb down a Amsterdam style set of stairs (basically a ladder). It has a private rain head shower in that bath.

The TV gets two channels, both Fijian. Bring your own DVDs and CDs for music.

If you are going, we found that either we burned a day in Nadi (pronounced Nan dee) to fly into Savusavu or we fly into La Basa, on the other side of the island. If you choose to fly into La Basa, Brad can arrange for a taxi to pick you up and take you to the house. We did that and enjoyed the journey across the island.

Booze is super expensive so buy your alcohol at the Duty Free store at the Nadi airport.

In town, we ate at the Country Kitchen and the Surf and Turf. The Country Kitchen is nothing like a Country Kitchen in the US. It is run by a mom and her two daughters. The food was very good and we enjoyed it. The Surf and Turf is run by an established chef who went out on his own and has a very good restaurant going.

In my opinion, Fiji is very third world-ish. The house is away from that and is well worth going to. We loved our stay at the Bamboo House. We prefer Hawaii or Tahiti over Fiji but this is one of the best places we have ever stayed at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Privacy of the House and Pool
Liked least: The distance to town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
527cath05
Beaumont, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special hidden paradise”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the House of Bamboo in October last year 2014, with my sister. We were there for 7 days. It was absolutely beautiful, a fabulous oasis on the outskirts of the main town of Savu Savu. The property has an amazing view and the delight of swimming in the infinity pool overlooking the harbour is awesome. I was so impressed with the whole experience that I went back in December with my partner. On both occasions we were welcomed so warmly by Tania, Calesi and Tom. Every thing was done with seamless effort and kindness. I quickly became connected to this devoted extended family of Brad and Therese.
Brad and Therese you have made a very classy and warm holiday home for those lucky enough to visit. The home has a lovely feel, has everything you could need and is special. The Day bed in the private tropical garden became a special island for many a glass of bubbles and endless hours of watching the incredible sunsets, while taking the odd dip in the pool.
thank you thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience at the House of Bamboo. We hope to see you again soon and for you to enjoy some more bubbles in your island paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing