We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
511
24
15
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
511
24
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bure mama private beach other guests our honeymoon new friends fijian staff communal table deep sea fishing sea plane fijian culture the entire staff welcome home long beach picnic lunch once in a lifetime lobster magical place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2022

This review is a story in three parts.
Part One:
Looking for a luxurious, relaxing experience in the South Pacific, we found the idea of having one's own private beach, a secluded villa and exotic dining on a pontoon in the middle of a lagoon intriguing - a perfect get-away. We expected to share a few meals with other guests at the communal dining table - though that's not really our thing - and perhaps a wave to the staff and a fist bump.
Part Two:
When we landed on the island by seaplane - a gentle landing on a mirror calm lagoon - we were carried to shore through the shallow water by Fijians in traditional dress, and soon discovered that fist bumps and handshakes were out and hugs were in. Greeted by singing, drinks in hand, we were led to our "bure" where we were again serenaded in song and presented with a cake (gluten-free for our dietary restrictions) in celebration of our anniversary. We met our bure Momma Laite, who told us her sole responsibility was to make our vacation as wonderful as possible. Over the next ten days of our stay, we fell in love with this treasure of a woman...and her infectious laugh. Beyond that, everywhere we went we were greeted with a "bula, bula" and a great big smile. Although we took advantage of a private dine-out on the pontoon, a lunch at Cliff Point with our own private saltwater pool, or a few private meals at our bure, we found the communal dining an unexpected pleasure, with laughter, delicious farm-to-table food, and enchanting guests, each with their own story. Our hosts Rob and Landi were delightful, as was everyone we met. If it sounds too good to be true, you will be surprised.
Part Three:
We came to realize that the magic of this place rests with the Fijian people. It is the reason guests return, again and again. They are joyful, yet respectful of your privacy. It's what makes this the "Perfect Contradiction". If privacy is your thing, you can have it, but if you allow these people into your heart, it will transform you forever. We came as strangers and departed with new friends and a much larger family. Because even though this was our first trip here, we were greeted by the Fijians with a joyous "Welcome Home!" And they made it feel like we had come home.

All we can say is "Vinaka, vaka, levu"

P.S. The cost is not for the faint of heart, but when you factor in almost everything is included in the price, we found it well worth it

P.S.S. Learn a few words of Fijian, it will gain you an even bigger smile

Room tip: Villas with higher numbers are most private
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jamesandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Bula Bula ,
Thank you, James. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Sota tale. Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022

My wife and I are in high stress jobs and have been going full throttle for 2.5 years. We had booked Turtle island pre pandemic, and when the island reopened we jumped at the chance to go. We flew 10.5 hours from San Francisco and landed in Nadi, getting through customs and a produce check (take this seriously, they do) was the last thing we had to think about on the vacation. Picked up by Turtle Island staff, and taken to the seaplane base (Thanks Peter) then flown over the most beautiful ocean imaginable, to Turtle Island (thanks Dane!). Landing on Turtle Island, the staff sings and holds a sign that reads “Welcome Home”, it seems a bit odd at first but then they treat you like family, every minute of your visit, and that is the secret of Turtle Island, an amazing staff that treats you amazingly well, and takes unbelievable care of you during your whole stay. (Thanks BIll, Mama Vi, Mare, Jerry Joes 1-4, Sue, and literally everybody on the island.) The setting is crazy amazing the lodging absolutely beautiful and the pace is set by you and you alone. Want to go fishing, great go fishing, want to change your mind about fishing 6 or 8 times and finally not go at all? Totally fine. The food is wonderful, and there is as much as you would like, always. If you are a non-drinker like me, island concoctions are available and everyone will remember not only what you had but how it was made and offer the next. .

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank OrcaHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Bula Dana & Mary,
Thank you for your wonderful review
We are so happy you loved your stay with us
We all take personal pride to take care of all our guests. I will surely share your message to the team.
We look forward to see you both soon. Sota tale. Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2022

We have just returned home from a week on Turtle Island, celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Truly the best holiday we have ever experienced as a couple. They have thought of everything. Happy, kind staff and peaceful comfortable Bures. Cuisine amazing and the talented bar tender prepared all of our requests, while the waitress ensures your glass is never empty even if just water. The surroundings are pristine. Your bed is turned down for you while you are at dinner. The Fijian people have amazing voices and perform throughout the day for all occasions. Dream holiday. Vinaka Vakalevu.

Room tip: Rooms are quieter away from the arrival area but even then it isn't noisy, just that there may be more couples walking past your room.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibornmichellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Bula Tibor & Michelle ,
We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience. It was a pleasure of hosting you both on the island.
We are counting down to your return to the island . Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

We first visited Turtle Island in May of 2019. We bought a return plan and decided to use it now (instead of 10 years). To our surprise Rob and Landi were back as the general managers. More than 60% of the staff was still there and the new staff are just as amazing. Micka, Bill and our Bure Mama (Alissi) were still there too! What was amazing is how farm to fork they had become as a result of the pandemic. We ate some of the best food in recent years. Restaurants in the US and Mexico (we have been there too) are sub-par as they rely on distributors for just about everything. Turtle has a huge garden, chickens, pigs, bee hives and of course fresh fish. A visit to Turtle Island is not for everyone as it is very quiet
During the day when most of the 28 guests are at their private beach for lunch. There are no shops, golf or clubs. Come to enjoy the truly sincere people of Fiji. Bula!

Room tip: They do have different rates for different seasons. Check with them. Children only allowed twice a year.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karenmD8922NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2022

Bula Bula!! It was a pleasure hosting you all. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re happy you had a fantastic time with us! Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022 via mobile

Our first visit to Turtle Island was in 2016 (see my previous review). We were so taken with the sheer awesomeness of this resort that we booked a return trip before we departed that year! After three year’s worth of delays (thanks to COvid-19 and a medical issue), we finally made it back! I had no expectations that the Turtle Island family could top our previous experience, but they managed to do just that! By the way, I used the word “family” instead of staff for a very specific reason. I’ve never been to any resort in the world where the guests and “staff” develop a relationship that is tantamount to family! The Turtle family know you on sight and go about their daily routines with a completely genuine smile and pleasant nature that puts guests at ease from the minute you board the seaplane until you head off to the airport on the main island. Suffice it to say, they do it right.

Turtle Island is not cheap, but you get what you pay for! This resort attracts the kind of guests that enjoy interacting with each other on a personal level. Whether you are a multi-millionaire or a couple who has saved up for a once in a lifetime experience, everyone enjoys meals together (although private picnics and dining are common as well) and simply getting to know one another.

Gourmet meals are common and the all-inclusive nature of the resort is terrific! There is a rich Fijian culture to discover as well as opportunities for fishing, diving, snorkeling, horseback riding, or just laying out on your very own private beach (of which there are many!).

The exclusivity of this resort ensures you are well cared for during your stay. Each couple is assigned a “bure mama” to meet your every need during your stay (thank you Mama Leveti and Mama Lu for all you did for us!).

I can’t say enough about our Turtle Island experience! The happiness is infectious, the natural beauty is astonishing, the new friendships we made were real, and we will return!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ready2Jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Bula Bula!! It was a pleasure hosting you all. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re happy you had a fantastic time with us! Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews