We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
OrcaHombre
Portland, Oregon
4561
Best Vacation Ever!
Review of Turtle Island
Reviewed 20 Sept 2022
My wife and I are in high stress jobs and have been going full throttle for 2.5 years. We had booked Turtle island pre pandemic, and when the island reopened we jumped at the chance to go. We flew 10.5 hours from San Francisco and landed in Nadi, getting through customs and a produce check (take this seriously, they do) was the last thing we had to think about on the vacation. Picked up by Turtle Island staff, and taken to the seaplane base (Thanks Peter) then flown over the most beautiful ocean imaginable, to Turtle Island (thanks Dane!). Landing on Turtle Island, the staff sings and holds a sign that reads “Welcome Home”, it seems a bit odd at first but then they treat you like family, every minute of your visit, and that is the secret of Turtle Island, an amazing staff that treats you amazingly well, and takes unbelievable care of you during your whole stay. (Thanks BIll, Mama Vi, Mare, Jerry Joes 1-4, Sue, and literally everybody on the island.) The setting is crazy amazing the lodging absolutely beautiful and the pace is set by you and you alone. Want to go fishing, great go fishing, want to change your mind about fishing 6 or 8 times and finally not go at all? Totally fine. The food is wonderful, and there is as much as you would like, always. If you are a non-drinker like me, island concoctions are available and everyone will remember not only what you had but how it was made and offer the next. .
Date of stay: September 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
AU$258
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$277
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Trip.com
    AU$143
2.6 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$413
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$659
  • Hotels.com
    AU$660
  • Priceline
    AU$413
3.7 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$786
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$786
4.0 km from Turtle Island
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$278
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$213
  • Expedia.com
    AU$454
6.0 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Pool
Booking.com
AU$487
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$487
  • Agoda.com
    AU$488
  • Lol.travel
6.1 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$288
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
  • Agoda.com
    AU$238
  • Priceline
    AU$288
29.3 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$112
  • Hotels.com
    AU$320
  • Expedia.com
    AU$323
  • Trip.com
    AU$322
30.7 km from Turtle Island
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$388
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$823
  • Expedia.com
    AU$762
  • Priceline
    AU$388
32.9 km from Turtle Island
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$278
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$278
  • Vio.com
    AU$81
  • Hotels.com
    AU$465
44.5 km from Turtle Island
Pool
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$724
  • Trip.com
    AU$809
  • Agoda.com
46.3 km from Turtle Island
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Nanuya Levu
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
511
24
15
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
511
24
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bure mama private beach other guests our honeymoon new friends fijian staff communal table deep sea fishing sea plane fijian culture the entire staff welcome home long beach picnic lunch once in a lifetime lobster magical place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2022

We have just returned home from a week on Turtle Island, celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Truly the best holiday we have ever experienced as a couple. They have thought of everything. Happy, kind staff and peaceful comfortable Bures. Cuisine amazing and the talented bar tender prepared all of our requests, while the waitress ensures your glass is never empty even if just water. The surroundings are pristine. Your bed is turned down for you while you are at dinner. The Fijian people have amazing voices and perform throughout the day for all occasions. Dream holiday. Vinaka Vakalevu.

Room tip: Rooms are quieter away from the arrival area but even then it isn't noisy, just that there may be more couples walking past your room.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibornmichellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Bula Tibor & Michelle ,
We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience. It was a pleasure of hosting you both on the island.
We are counting down to your return to the island . Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

We first visited Turtle Island in May of 2019. We bought a return plan and decided to use it now (instead of 10 years). To our surprise Rob and Landi were back as the general managers. More than 60% of the staff was still there and the new staff are just as amazing. Micka, Bill and our Bure Mama (Alissi) were still there too! What was amazing is how farm to fork they had become as a result of the pandemic. We ate some of the best food in recent years. Restaurants in the US and Mexico (we have been there too) are sub-par as they rely on distributors for just about everything. Turtle has a huge garden, chickens, pigs, bee hives and of course fresh fish. A visit to Turtle Island is not for everyone as it is very quiet
During the day when most of the 28 guests are at their private beach for lunch. There are no shops, golf or clubs. Come to enjoy the truly sincere people of Fiji. Bula!

Room tip: They do have different rates for different seasons. Check with them. Children only allowed twice a year.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karenmD8922NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2022

Bula Bula!! It was a pleasure hosting you all. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re happy you had a fantastic time with us! Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022 via mobile

Our first visit to Turtle Island was in 2016 (see my previous review). We were so taken with the sheer awesomeness of this resort that we booked a return trip before we departed that year! After three year’s worth of delays (thanks to COvid-19 and a medical issue), we finally made it back! I had no expectations that the Turtle Island family could top our previous experience, but they managed to do just that! By the way, I used the word “family” instead of staff for a very specific reason. I’ve never been to any resort in the world where the guests and “staff” develop a relationship that is tantamount to family! The Turtle family know you on sight and go about their daily routines with a completely genuine smile and pleasant nature that puts guests at ease from the minute you board the seaplane until you head off to the airport on the main island. Suffice it to say, they do it right.

Turtle Island is not cheap, but you get what you pay for! This resort attracts the kind of guests that enjoy interacting with each other on a personal level. Whether you are a multi-millionaire or a couple who has saved up for a once in a lifetime experience, everyone enjoys meals together (although private picnics and dining are common as well) and simply getting to know one another.

Gourmet meals are common and the all-inclusive nature of the resort is terrific! There is a rich Fijian culture to discover as well as opportunities for fishing, diving, snorkeling, horseback riding, or just laying out on your very own private beach (of which there are many!).

The exclusivity of this resort ensures you are well cared for during your stay. Each couple is assigned a “bure mama” to meet your every need during your stay (thank you Mama Leveti and Mama Lu for all you did for us!).

I can’t say enough about our Turtle Island experience! The happiness is infectious, the natural beauty is astonishing, the new friendships we made were real, and we will return!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ready2Jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Bula Bula!! It was a pleasure hosting you all. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re happy you had a fantastic time with us! Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2022

From the moment you step off the sea plane, you'll feel like you've come home to the place your soul was searching for. I'm not exaggerating! As a photographer, I have seen some beautiful resorts and been to some amazing places. I've traveled around Fiji and am familiar with Fijian culture. Trust me when I say that this place is what you're looking for: 100% GENUINE PARADISE. Turtle Island combines the best of Fijian culture/hospitality with the most spectacular natural beauty, then wraps it all up for you with creative five-star service.

Maybe you've stayed in a place with butler service. There's no stiff-service-providing here; at Turtle Island you'll be introduced to your "Mama" or "Papa." Our Mama took care of our beachfront bure (villa), and our every need, from washing our clothes, to booking our desired activities and setting up our picnic lunch on a private beach. She wrote messages on our bed in flower petals, left us little notes and basically spent her entire day ensuring our happiness (her full-time job is to look after only one couple). She didn't hover, but she was there if we needed her with just a call on the hand-held radio. Want a milkshake whilst soaking in the in-room hot tub? No problem. Just call it in.

We had lots of options for meals. If we wanted to be alone, we could order breakfast in bed, or breakfast on the beach in front of our bure. We could choose from beautiful dine-out locations around the island for dinner, and we could picnic on a private beach for lunch. Or, for any meal, we could join the family-style dining at the long table, where we were seated with a host from the island and other guests. My husband is an introvert and wasn't sure he'd love the family style dining, but it ended up being one of his favourite things about Turtle Island. You will meet such interesting people here, and the atmosphere is laid-back, fun and relaxed. If you want solitude, you can have it. If you want social, you can have that too. It's the best of both worlds.

The food is primarily sourced from the island and the sea. Turtle Island produces much of the food on the island, including pigs, chickens, cows, honey, and a massive raised-bed garden and hydroponics system. You'll also eat a lot of seafood caught fresh from the ocean--definitely a highlight for us. I loved the food at Turtle Island, because it's healthy and island-grown, tastes amazing, and was beautifully introduced/presented personally by the chef who created it for us. One of the challenges of living on an all-inclusive island is pacing yourself with food/drink! (I'm up for the challenge though!).

As far as activities, we did the island tour first, which really helped us to understand the fascinating history of the island. If you bought an island, what would you do on it? Richard Evanson's vision created an amazing paradise, and his legacy is continued by his children. On the island you can also snorkel (beautiful snorkeling is just off the main beach), swim in the bathtub-warm water, kayak, SUP, subwing, sail, dive, or visit the nearby attractions. Relax in the sun in front of your bure, or book a private beach for as long as you want (we tried to visit as many of them as we could). The original "Blue Lagoon" movie was filmed here back in the day, and not much has changed. We felt like we'd stepped right into that idyllic tropical island paradise.

Photos can showcase the natural beauty of the island, but you'll just have to come in order to experience the warm love and hospitality shown by the Fijian staff. Many of the staff are from the islands and villages around Turtle Island, and they loved introducing us to their island home. The people of Fiji have so much joy, so much love, and are so gracious. Spend some time getting to know them! I cried when I left because I knew I was genuinely loved. What other resort makes you feel like that? You'll just have to come and experience it yourself.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LauraPittmanFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2022

Bula Bula!! It was a pleasure hosting you all. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re happy you had a fantastic time with us! Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2022

My husband and I are just back from a week on Turtle Island in early July. We had the most magical experience! it is truly so hard to capture in words what makes this island and the staff so special. You feel like you have "come home". The island is stunning but the staff make you feel like family. The warmth, love and generosity is like we have never experienced anywhere in the world before and we travel a lot! We have also been to 4 other resorts in Fiji in the past and have never felt the need to go back. We have already booked a return trip to Turtle Island. For anyone planning a trip to Fiji, Turtle Island will be an experience that you will hold in your heart forever. ❤️

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roving49702880734
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2022

Bula Bula!! It was a pleasure hosting you all. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re happy you had a magical time with us! Sota tale. Love from your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews