We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
511
24
15
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
511
24
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bure mama private beach other guests our honeymoon new friends fijian staff communal table deep sea fishing sea plane fijian culture the entire staff welcome home long beach picnic lunch once in a lifetime lobster magical place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2022 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at this magnificent, Turtle Island, resort in Fiji! I can write 100 pages and I still wouldn’t do it Justice! It’s one of those places that one simply has to experience on their own to understand. We were only there for 6 nights. The last night we didn’t want to go to bed, we just wanted to absorb its beauty, magic and serenity as much as we possibly could. We need ro make you all understand the beauty, magic and serenity we talk about doesn’t just come from the wonderful views but the people!!! OMG by day 2 we were just visiting family! We’ve never experienced such feeling before and we have travelled quite a lot all over the world. We have many beautiful memories from each trip but none like this. Oh and by the way, the food….. ah, absolutely incredible! The Island is pretty much self sufficient. They have a huge garden where they grown their own fruits and vegetables. They also have many chickens, hens and even some pigs! Talk about fresh food! Even though we ate, and ate, and ate some more (you’ll never go hungry here, they sure feed the family well!) we felt super healthy, despite all those delicious and refreshing drinks! All that your little heart desires! All we can say at this point is that it’s only been a week since we departed and we absolutely cannot wait until we go back and visit our new members of our extended family once again! To all the family back in Turtle Island…bula, bula and vinka vaka levu for such beautiful time! We are greatful for each and one of you! I hope all of you who are reading this, will get a chance to experience Turtle Island, you will NOT be disappointed! Vinaka!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank theflanngang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2022

Bula Nathalie and Jim! Thank you very much for sharing your Turtle Island experience with others on the Trip Advisor. We love to read that you enjoyed every aspect of the island. We can't wait for your return trip to the island. Sota tale. Love your Turtle Island Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2022

We booked this trip with high expectations and it surpassed every expectation by far. We were picked up from the airport and had an opportunity to see a little of Nadi and clean up as well as provided with breakfast. While still transitioning from COVID, we were unable to take the floatplane to the island, but we were accommodated with a beautiful boat ride out. After arriving, we were truly treated like family by the staff. We were given an upgraded bura, which was beautiful and had all amenities. Air conditioning was only over the bed, which made it comfortable to sleep. There are areas to go during the day if you need A/C, but the temperature was comfortable most days, and we would just get in the water if we got too hot. Some people may need to take advantage of the A/C if they are not used to heat and some humidity. Some small bugs will be found on occasion in the bura, but we expected that, and considering where you are, it was not bad and it wasn't a problem. We had a few, very small ants on occasion, mostly from the flowers they place in the room but we just wiped them off. There were a couple of small lizards also, but your bura is open air, windows open situation so they will get in. Beverages and daily snacks were left in your room. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and turned down at night. They would turn on the A/C in the evening so when you went to bed, the area was cool.
There are so many activities to do if you are inclined, however, for the most part, we just relaxed and enjoyed the private beaches. During our private beach time, lunch was brought out to us. We were able to call for anything we wanted or needed and it would be brought to us, always with a smile. We did try paddle boarding which was fun, but you can also snorkel, kayak, go horseback riding, and they have bicycles. Diving was not available yet when we went but we were told that it will be made available in April. Prior to leaving, you get to plant a tree, which makes you feel like part of the island.
The food is absolutely amazing and made with fresh ingredients mostly from the island. Couples can do dine-outs for a romantic meal alone. We did a dine-out on a pontoon which was absolutely magical. Dinners can also be done with the other guests, which is also nice to be social and meet new people. We did a sunset cruise one evening with the rest of the guests and a few staff members which was amazingly beautiful and fun.
We cannot say enough about the staff. They truly know how to make you feel special. They are the friendliest, kindest people we have ever met. You cannot walk anywhere without someone not only saying "bula", but they all know your name from the moment you arrive. They are always smiling and offering hugs if you are comfortable with that. They truly seem to be happy and always wanting to do anything for you. Our Bura Poppa took excellent care of us, ensuring we had everything we needed. The island had a master carver who does amazing work and you can order pieces to be made by him for a truly one-of-a-kind souvenir to take home that wasn't made elsewhere. The spa has amazing treatments and we were able to get a couples massage which helped us relax during our stay. We also got a hand and foot massage prior to leaving which was a nice way to end our stay. Bill and Bale would join us for meals on occassion and it was a pleasure getting to know them and the other staff members. Learning about their culture made the trip so much more enriching than expected.
We will return to Turtle Island. It was honestly a life-changing experience.

Room tip: Bura on the far end are quieter
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TourDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Bula Bula Tammy & Justin! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the rest of the world.
Thanks again for your kind words for our staffs and for being a fantastic guests. We look forward to your return to the island. Sota tale. Love your Turtle Island family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2022

A group of 20 of us visited the island on a company sponsored incentive trip.

Where do I start:

The island has a purpose to “inspire passion and create life changing memories”. All 105 members of the staff help you to achieve this every moment you are on the island. From the way they great you to begin your trip, their genuine approach to insure you are having the day you deserve or the life long friendships you develop, every moment exceeds your expectations.

Chef Beni- Better food than any Michelin Star chefs food I have ever eaten.

The spa is world class

And picnics on private beaches!

We have already booked a return trip to “come home” and see our new family.

Thank you Turtle Island!!!

Howie & Lolo

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank haroldjosephl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2022

Bula Bula Howie & Lolo! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I’m so glad to hear that our staff were able to make your experience with us a memorable one and that you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer. I will pass on your compliments to Chef Beni – our Head Chef is quite passionate about his work! We look forward to your return to the island. Sota tale. Love your Turtle Island family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2022

This is my 3rd trip to Turtle Island and it keeps getting better and better each visit. What sets this experience apart is that the entire staff cares deeply about the guest experience. I get emotional when it’s time to leave because I can feel the love coming from the entire Turtle Island family. I look forward to returning in 2023!

Room tip: Any of the 14 bures are incredible.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dawanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2022

Bula Dawane & Kellie , It was always a pleasure to host you both on the island . Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It will be a pleasure to have you both with us again in 2023. Sota tale. Love your Turtle Island family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2022

There is a reason I have been to this resort 13 times in 29 years - because it is like no other place on earth. It is a unique & special resort with an approach like no other. You will find resorts that have tried to copy Turtle Island, but none compares - it is the original. This is an updated review since I realized the last time I reviewed
Turtle Island was about 10 years ago and I have been back another 4 times(!) - so this is an updated review reflecting my most recent trip last month (and also discussing some past trips).
My most recent visit, with 3 generations of my family, during Family Time in December of 2021 reconfirmed everything I had felt about this incredible island paradise - it was a true getaway - it felt completely covid safe and for the 9 days we were there, we were able to actually relax, feel at home and enjoy our vacation without worrying about anything! We have already booked a romantic return trip this year during their regular couples time and can't wait to be back!
My husband and I first went to Turtle Island in May of 1992 as newlyweds. We loved it so much that we just kept coming back - 10 times with our kids (3 of those trips also with my elderly mother), and we also returned twice for romantic getaways, just the two of us. I will give you a detailed review below, but in a nutshell, this resort only has 14 huts, so during most of the year, the max capacity on the island is 14 couples! During family time, again, with only 14 huts, you will only get a maximum of 14 families. The relaxed atmosphere is not snobby and you will feel completely at ease and meet the most interesting people - guests from around the world and the kindest staff who hail from the nearby islands. Needless to say, in this covid era, the low capacity and ability to have space and eat outdoors make it a very unique and safe setting. For more on their covid precautions see their website, but let me just say, it was the first time in almost 2 years that we really were able to relax and not worry.
Okay, now for a more detailed review on the entire experience. What makes this resort so special is a number of things - first, it is the approach of the original owner/devloper, Richard Evanson - before it was "in" to be green, he championed a green approach to creating this resort. He re-forested the island and thoughtfully planted trees which could be used by local artisans to create gorgeous guest lodging huts called "bures" and the furniture that is in them. When you lay in your lovely four poster bed and look at the high ceilings in your bure, it is amazing to think these were created from wood grown on this very island! His approach to his resort was that as much as possible should be grown on the island or caught in the waters. All the food is fresh and you can tour the gardens and see the fruits, vegetables and herbs growing. You can take an island tour on a golf cart with a staff member and also see where the eggs are collected from the chickens, where the solar farm is, where rainwater is collected, etc. The next generation of owner/managers, his adult children, continue this vision and commitment to balancing new green ideas with local traditions and knowledge. Staff will show you which plants and leaves are used for traditional medicines and how to use palm tree fronds and coconuts to make all kinds of things from food to containers, twine, etc.
The cuisine is exquisite and beautifully presented, but not stuffy - it is fresh and flavorful and a treat to the eye and palate. The chef can easily accommodate food allergies and dietary preferences and my mother, who needs a gluten free diet found the gluten free bread and pasta to be some of the best she has ever had. The chef is happy to offer cooking demonstrations and answer questions which is wonderful for foodies or anyone who is just inquisitive about the cuisine.
What really makes this gem of a resort sparkle, beyond its gorgeous natural setting, is the phenomenal Fijian staff. The Fijian staff are so kind and wonderful - they treat you like family and really care for you and make sure that you are enjoying your stay. The Fijian culture is amazing and it is this opportunity to be welcomed into their culture (particularly through traditions like kava ceremonies, meke, and music), and their relaxed and sincere kindness that make it such a pleasure to be on this island.
As mentioned above, during most of the year, it is couples only on the island. The island only has this one resort, so there is plenty of privacy and lots of private beaches. If you sign up for a private beach, it is yours for the day, you can relax in a hammock, snorkel, skinny-dip, whatever you like. You get dropped off with a picnic lunch and drinks and can use your walkie talkie to request a pick-up when you are ready. There are lots of fabulous things to do on the island - you can horseback ride at dawn and watch the sun rise on the other side of the island as you sip champagne and eat a breakfast of your choice that has been set up on a table at the beach just for you - you can have a private dine-out floating on a raft or on a point with a private swimming pool overlooking the ocean - you can snorkel right out your front door on the main beach at the Blue Lagoon (the same Blue Lagoon where the Brooke Shields movie was filmed!), or scuba dive, mountain bike, paddle board, kayak, or go deep sea fishing, crabbing, or hiking and so much more - you can do lots of activities or just relax in a hammock reading between two palm trees. My husband's favorite things are that he takes his shoes off when he arrives and doesn't put them on until he leaves and that he can leave his wallet in the safe and doesn't have to take it out to pay for anything or tip anyone. Pretty much everything is included - the only additional costs would be if you chose extra spa treatments or to do more than one scuba tank of diving per day. All of your food, drinks (including excellent and exquisite wines, snacks, etc.), fishing, snorkeling a dive a day, horseback riding, boating, etc. are included. They are wonderful about special requests - you can ask for cheese and crackers and champagne to be delivered to you on the beach each afternoon at 3pm and it will be there. The bures (huts) are luxurious and huge - with double vanities, 2 toilets, a large double rain shower with double handhelds, too, and a big jacuzzi. There is a beautiful bedroom area and a spacious sitting area. The louvered windows give fantastic views and allow wonderful breezes to keep the rooms a perfect temperature. There are also fantastic air conditioning units in the bedroom area so if it is particularly warm and you want to cool off, you can flip the unit on and you will never be too hot. The bures are all located on the most gorgeous beach with soft light colored sand and calm water and are strategically placed far enough apart that you have privacy, but aren't far from the main area. Another wonderful feature at this resort is that it is VERY relaxed about attire - you can be barefoot the whole time except if you go horseback riding or hiking, and you never need to dress up for dinner. No fancy shoes and clothes needed - of course, if you want to wear a cute sundress for dinner, that is fine, but you won't find men in jackets or ties - nor in long pants.
Some of the best snorkeling is found just walking out the front door of your bure and swimming straight out into the water. You can see amazingly colorful tropical fish in the coral in the blue lagoon, or you can go on one of the snorkeling trips to the nearby islands to see stunning coral. Make sure to ask to be taken to the Cabbage Patch - Jacques Cousteau said it was the finest example of Cabbage Coral in the world!
As far as value goes, the price may seem high, but if you add up what you actually spend on a tropical vacation to a place like Hawaii or the Bahamas, really add up all those drinks by the pool, the dinners, the rental car, hotel, tipping, what you spend on scuba diving, deep sea fishing, etc. you might find, like we did that this is actually less than what you might actually spend at those other locations, and you certainly would not get such a unique setting with so few other guests. Since this is the only resort on the island, there aren't shops and roads - no cars, a golf cart or your feet will take you where you need to go - there won't be money spent on shopping - a very small gift shop is available for necessities or small gifts, but that's it. This is a resort to relax and unplug and really enjoy - there are no phones, no TVs, just wonderful conversations with other guests and staff who will become lifelong friends by the end of your visit. I have yet to depart the island and not find myself crying and I always see other guests shedding tears, too. That says a lot about a place. It is also a testament to this magical place that so many guests are return guests - people just love it. The attentive staff, the excellent management, and the amazing Bure Mamas who are like personal concierges, all make this place run so smoothly.
With regard to Family Times, of special note is the fact that each child gets his or her OWN nanny or "bula buddy" - so your child has a trained staff member assigned for your stay to make sure that your kid is having a great time and is safe - you don't have to worry about the water, someone is always watching your child - and the kids have a blast - you can spend as much or as little time with your kids as you want and the kids make great friends with other kids from around the world and with their nanny/bula buddy. Since each kid has an individual nanny, that means if one child wants to make sand castles while another wants to go fishing, each kid gets to enjoy the vacation. The staff are great with he kids and the kids get an opportunity to try new things, explore the natural setting and have fun. In addition, many families bring grandparents, too. The resort is great for older adults because the Fijian culture puts a high value on the elderly. We found my mother, who could feel very frustrated and negative at home, was all smiles and having a great time at this resort. When walking became harder for her, they just made sure they always had a golf cart parked by her bure and were ready to give her a ride anytime she needed one. They really put her at ease and make sure she is always comfortable which makes it easy to travel with her to this resort. She is able to enjoy her time with us and her grandchildren and also tour the gardens or the island with staff and learn more about plants that interest her.
I could go on forever about how unique and magical the experience is, but as I said, I think the real testament is the overwhelming number of return guests there are. It isn't necessarily the closest place from the US, but is is an easy overnight flight from Los Angeles or San Francisco - you get on the plane, fall asleep, and you wake up and you are there! And, the only airline that goes there is Fiji Airways and it is PHENOMENAL - the most wonderful planes and staff. You can book business class seats that lay flat or go in economy and you will still have seats more comfortable than on most US carriers.. As soon as you clear customs on the main island at Nadi Airport and have your luggage, you will be greeted by a Turtle Island staff member who will transport you to the sea plane and after a quick and amazing 30 minute sea plane ride, you will land on the water and step out into about a foot of water and be greeted on the main beach with songs and drinks - it is straight out of the old tv show "Fantasy Island". I have traveled all over the world and very few places have surpassed my expectations, but this one has since my first trip and continues to do so. I have been to this island as a young 26 year old who was just married, as a pregnant woman, and as a mom with my young children and then school-aged children, teens, and now adult children who are in their mid-20's and no matter what their ages or my age, I have always had a great time and loved this place. My kids consistently agree it is their favorite place for a family trip and some are even looking forward to going to Turtle Island for their honeymoons! I get absolutely nothing for posting this review - I am writing this from my heart because I love it and hope you will, too.
Oh, and one last thing! If you are looking for a place to get married (think small, unique, covid safe wedding), or to renew your vows - there is no place better - the cost for a ceremony is so inexpensive and it is GORGEOUS! We renewed our vows for our 10th wedding anniversary and have attended many weddings of other guests there over the years. We have also celebrated big milestone birthdays at Turtle Island and have seen others celebrating special birthdays - it is a wonderful place to mark a special occasion.
Family time tips: Christmas is a great time to go, but often fills up, the end of June/early July is an awesome time to go since it is less humid, even if it is summer in the US, it is a wonderful getaway since the temperatures are pleasant but not as hot and humid as in the US (and of course, if you are coming from Australia, it is your winter, so a great time to come), but no matter what time of year you go, since it is so close to the equator, the temperatures do not vary much!
I will put something in the room tips, but honestly, all of the bures are fantastic - you can't go wrong with any of them. That is one of the great things about this vacation is that you don't have to worry about getting the "right room" or activities - book directly with the island and they can help you with getting your airfare sorted out if you need help. You don't need a travel agent or anyone to make sure you get it right - everything about this vacation is easy and accessible, which is yet another reason why it is so great.

Room tip: Truly, all of the bures (the lodging huts) are gorgeous - there isn't one that is better than another.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank opinionatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Manager, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2022

Bula Julia, Thank you so much for sharing your Turtle Island experience with all of us. We are always delighted to have your family on the island. Thanks again for being a fantastic Turtle Island guests and for always choosing Turtle Island over and over again. We look forward to your next visit. Sota tale. Love your Turtle Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews