We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
424
23
14
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
424
23
14
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bure mama private beach other guests fijian staff deep sea fishing communal table sea plane the entire staff fijian culture magical place picnic lunch main beach anniversary celebration special requests kava ceremonies go fishing great friends
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2019

Turtle Island is one of a kind — it’s a breathtaking resort with wonderful people. Truly a hidden gem with everything you could possibly want on a private resort vacation. We will undoubtably be back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jet23393095487
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landi B, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Bula! Thank you very much for your review - It is hugely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary recently. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality and warmth of the Fijian people. They have such a strong faith in the Lord which brings such a peace and joy to their whole environment. The island is such an amazing place!

We were fortunate enough to meet people from New Zealand, Australia, Canada, and from all over the US who were there. The intentionality in meeting people and getting to know the Fijian’s who worked on the island enhanced the overall experience. There are so many people to thank I could write a review on them solely but will highlight a few.

Mary greeted us and made us feel welcome immediately. Landi and Rob provided everything we needed and Zack (the dog) found enough time to join us for walks on the beach from time to time! Simon’s daily food creations were so good you wouldn’t even know they were ‘special’! Mama Taru tended to our every need and it was truly a privilege to watch her and the other bure hosts. Ms Sue, Vasu, Nikki, Maika, and Erami were our morning smiles and hugs and songs and laughter! Everyone was super kind, friendly and full of joy!

This was not a vacation where you just stay by yourself but you get to interact and engage with everyone. You could I suppose (and some folks did) but we believe you will miss out on the overall experience. It was truly something special.

We can’t wait to join our family again in the future!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Krob34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landi B, Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Bula! Thank you for your review! It is very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019

My wife and I loved our experience at Turtle Island. We wanted to experience the beauty of the Fiji Islands and were not disappointed. Our Bure was lovely, and we stepped out each morning onto a white, sandy beach. Our Bure Mama, Adi, saw to our every need. She, and the entire staff made our visit most memorable. We have never encountered friendlier, happier or more genuine people! The locally sourced food was exquisite, as was the experience of the community table mixed with private dining experiences all over the island. We thought it was a perfect setting, but it won't be everyone's cup of tea, so fo your research;
It is a self-sustain tropical paradise 50 miles from the mainland with only 28 guests. Therefore, no extensive menu, though the food is great and they can cater to certain needs (my wife is allergic to seafood, there was always an accommodation). The Bure is gorgeous, but the air conditioning is limited to over your bed during the sleeping hours. It worked great, and the beds were wonderful, but during the day, the Bure windows are open and cooled by fan. We just didn't spend much time in our Bure during the day! We were at the private beaches or visiting other guests with a cocktail down by the dock or horseback riding or paddle boarding or visiting a local village, etc! The point is, if your looking to totally unplug and be pampered on a private island, this is the best you will find. IF you want a huge menu, a world class wine list (their wine was very good, but we weren't in Bordeaux for crying out loud), nearby shopping and nightlife (Kava time beats any nightclub) then go somewhere else. For our money, Turtle Island was the best vacation we've ever had!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Escape43534530072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landi B, Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Bula! Thank you for your review! It is very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019

This was our second time to Turtle as we were there in Feb. 2018. This trip was so memorable too. The island staff honored us with a "Celebration of Life". We had Leis and cake and music and every one cried. it was so wonderful! My husband, Pat, was again honored to be chief for a week. That means he is Kava king too!

Our island hosts, Rob and Landi are just the best hosts. I think we left with even a greater love of the Fijian people. Our Mama Taru was again our go to person.

Room tip: There are only 14 buras to choose from and all are great. some more expensive than others
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Merridith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landi B, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Bula! Thank you very much for your review - It is hugely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2019

Food was gourmet (including, yes, a cheeseburger) and 70% is locally grown. They continually refer to you as family but royalty is more applicable. The private beaches are fantastic. Snorkeling and scuba are world class. Being off the grid allows intimate connection with the other guests (28 guests max). The Fijian staff is beyond description- from your Bure mama to food service to entertainment to maintenance to activities. It is fascinating and fun to learn about and participate in the Fijian culture, ceremonies, and activities. They make you forget about the heat, humidity and mosquitoes.

Room tip: Both European an US electrical outlets are in each room.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jet34490616770
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landi B, General Manager at Turtle Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Bula! Thank you very much for your review - It is hugely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews