We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach front resort in an isolated area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rancho Estero y Mar
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Luis Talpa
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beach front resort in an isolated area”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

When I e-mailed about this hotel, I was offered a good rate. I only found out when I arrived that they have a daily minimum charge at the hotel restaurant. Still, the Estero Y Mar is nice for a get away and you hear the surf from your cheerful room (when they are not playing music on the grounds). The rooms are green and yellow and the grounds are well kept. I had a balcony. The staff is nice. There is a computer for guest use in the lobby (no extra charge). If you want to stay right at the beach in El Salvador and not spend luxury hotel hotel prices, I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZarahL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    96
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
85
53
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Since everyone warned me of crime in San Salvador, I decided to look at beachfront hotels instead. But I don't like high prices or all inclusive package style resorts. When the Estero Y Mar offered me a good rate after I sent an e-mail question, I decided on it. It is a $30 taxi ride from the airport. There is nothing much around the hotel which would indicate peace except they play outside music till about 9 or 10 pm which gets to be annoying as it can be clearly heard in the rooms. I'd rather hear the waves crashing than some tinny loudspeaker. But , at least, it is not late at night. The grounds are nice and kept clean, as are the rooms. My only major complaint would be that they didn't mention that there is a restaurant charge each day regardless of if you use the restaurant. So if you decide to go elsewhere for lunch, you will be charged for lunch at the hotel restaurant. That isn't really fair but since there are no nice restaurants nearby, I didn't complain. The restaurant bills you $15 plus tip each day (after breakfast). This may not seem like alot but considering that a good , filling meal can be had in El Salvador for $3, it isn't so wonderful either. Anyway, I did enjoy the Estero Y Mar, the beach and the nice staff. Despite the drawbacks I mentioned, I would suggest friend stay there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZarahL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josmenmo, Manager at Rancho Estero y Mar, responded to this review, 25 November 2009
Dear Zarahl_8:

Thank you for your recomendations, we take care about the music isue and we change it, we put relaxing music with a low volume and have a new schedule looking for not bother our guest!.

On the point of the food charge, we request a minimal consume for $15 per person (This is not a charge you can consume it in food and drink)

Hope to have you soon and if you have more questions please let me know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Tecla, El Salvador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

we went there with my wife and her family wich are from el salvador, her sister had told us about the place so we gave it a try and we were very impress. food was good especially breakfast. they have good ambience the only downfall is the beach area is not so nice for swiming the locals know so and they know when not to swim but the hotel has no sings or warnings about the dangerous currents we were cought in one and almost died. also to get to the hotel is a little far. they also offer boat rides and four wheel rides but the sand area is not to flat for that.
in the other hand the owner is extremelly nice, very friendly and she is constantly on top of all the datails around the property. they have some funny exotic animals they are fun to watch. they have a kareoke night wich we enjoy so much. the staff is very friendly. over all we are pleased and will be back to visit for sure.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMELIAS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

I stayed at the Estero Y Mar as part of a group with The Fuller Center For Housing - about 120 people who came down to El Salvador to work alongside low-income people to build simple decent housing for them.
The Estero Y Mar isn't big enough to accommodate all 120 of us, so some stayed at another hotel in La Libertad.
Getting there was quite an experience. Your vehicle leaves the paved road and goes down a dirt road parallel to the beach for quite a way. Some of the housing along the road is quite primitive.
Then suddenly, there it is. A brightly-painted compound (there is a wall around it) full of trees, etc. Accommodations are of differing sizes, and scattered throughout the complex. The Pacific Ocean, and a nice beach, are across the dirt road from the entrance to the compound.
There are three pools, at least one bar, and at least one "restaurant". But the staff is extremely accommodating, and will bring you food or drink no matter where you're sitting within the complex. It may take quite a while, but they will bring it to you.
There is wireless internet, but my companions found that it was often iffy, depending on the distance from the front office. And there is one computer in the office lobby for general usage.
Our room had one double bed and a bunk bed. And no hot water. Ever. Evidently they're still working on getting hot water to all the rooms, and hope to do so by yearend. The water in our shower (no bathtub) was not icy cold, but never even reached lukewarm. Not exactly what we needed to wash off the dirt of a day of concrete block house construction, or to ease the pain of overstressed muscles.
But, they do have a massage therapist on staff, and for the incredibly low price of $15 you can have a massage (about 45 min) in a cabana on the beach.
They have monkeys in a large cage (don't get too close, they steal eyeglasses, cameras, cellphones, etc.) They also have a few macaws and a LOT of chickens. Including roosters who like to start making their announcements somewhere around 4 am or so. Odd thing to have at a resort/hotel.
On weekends, expect to see more people at the hotel - but not as overnight guests. Evidently, they sell day passes to use the facilities. We saw a number of families, all wearing wristbands.
I'm really glad we were able to stay here - it had a lot of local flavor - but if hot water for bathing is important to you, check with them to see if they have a unit available that has it!

  • Liked — Well off the beaten path - closer to a taste of local culture
  • Disliked — No hot water!
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

This is truly a paradise in El Salvador. Great place to stay to enjoy the beach. Great service and good food. We will go back again definitely.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank icas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Talpa
22.6 km away
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Bahia del Sol Hotel
#2 of 3 in La Herradura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
32.6 km away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
34.1 km away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Hotel Pacific Paradise
Hotel Pacific Paradise
#1 of 3 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
34.5 km away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
8.7 km away
Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto
Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto
#1 of 2 in San Luis Talpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Estero y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Estero y Mar

Property: Rancho Estero y Mar
Address: Final Playa El Pimental, San Luis Talpa, Departamento la Paz | Near El Salvador International Airport (Sal), San Luis Talpa 1616, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > La Paz Department > San Luis Talpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Luis Talpa
Price range (per night): $94 - $107
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Estero y Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach resort just 45 minutes away from the main capital san salvador and near from el salvador international airport (SAL). You can find 4 pools, beach area, mangroves, mini zoo, spa, bar and restaurant, pool tables, free wifi available for our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Rancho Estero y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Estero y Mar Hotel San Luis Talpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing