We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our doubts were swept away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our doubts were swept away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Having spent time in Egypt before in the Cairo / Nile Cruise and encountered problems with the begging etc, I booked a week in the intercontinental with some doubts but I need not have worried. From the greeting with cold drinks to the excellent room and staff this was an excellent chill out week which was exactly what was required.
We had room 1402 which was really good - large spacious very clean and the shower !! We could have had a part in there it was that big.
Pool area was good even though the heating was turned off towards the end of the week - bit chilly ( but it was summer ) and El Shanhat (sure the spelling is wrong the pool man ) and Alaa from the bar really made the week fun.
The BBQ by the Lagoon was a nice night, the food although may not be to everyone's choice but there is always something to eat even if we didn't like everything - however the bread is to die for.
My only little disappointment was the evening entertainment although the animation team worked very hard - sorry Zane I never did make it to the Bingo.
Wife (The Boss) has already said that we will be going back again later in the year. See you all there

Room Tip: For the prefect Red Sea view pick the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just2collect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear just2collect,
happy to read that your trail did work out well for you! Thank you for sharing this open feedback. We will be discussing it in our next quality focus meeting!
Wishing you Happy Easter... and give our regards to the "boss"... we like her for wanting to come back!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    591
    228
    91
    74
See reviews for
541
1,087
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just got back from a week at the Intercontinental (27 Mar-3 Apr), 6th time to Egypt but 1st time to Taba Heights. I won’t waffle on and repeat everything that everyone else says about the hotel but we had a great time, the hotel is very clean and we had a lovely room overlooking the children’s pool which was very quiet. The huge walk in shower in the bathroom was great. It was also nice to be able to make tea and coffee in your room.

Staff in main bar and beach drinks service were excellent.

The only things that we would change would be for there to be more choices of meat at the evening meal buffet (all other food and the choices available were excellent).

We also did the dine around and we ate at the Thai Birds Nest restaurant and had the Romantic dinner at the Lagoon restaurant both of which were lovely.

The other thing we would change would be to provide free wifi in the Reception area as at £6 per hour (1 use though you are not able to log on again if you have minutes left) or £36 a week was way too expensive especially if you want to quickly log on each day.

We did the trip to Petra in Jordan with Thomsons and although it was expensive (£203 each) thought it was well worth it as this was the main reason for us going to Taba. Very early start at 4.00 a.m. returning to hotel about 10.30pm.

All in all met some lovely people and had a great holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_A_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Carol,
thank you very much for some great feedback!
We have reworked our buffet plans and Chef Gilbert and his team are certain that you will find what you are looking for. In regards to Wifi we are in constant negotiations with the provider to find a reasonable way to provide access to our guests which suits their needs and wants.
We shall not rest until all is close to perfect...
Hope to see you back soon at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, and keep returning. The hotel must be doing something right.

There are lots of reviews about the hotel, facilities, staff, and Management on this forum, so we will not duplicate the outstanding reviews in this post.

We have just returned from a month’s stay. The hotel just keeps on getting better and better.

It’s difficult to explain, but this hotel seems to exert a magical influence on lots of its guests. They just cannot wait to return.

Through March, around 120 visitors arrived each week, on average, from the UK. About twenty percent of these visitors were repeaters. A high percentage of repeaters are a reliable indicator of satisfaction.

Take your next vacation at The Intercontinental, Taba heights. You will not be disappointed. We return for 28 days in May/June, and would love to see you there.

However, beware; you could fall under the hotel’s spell.

Feel free to contact me if you want any background information.

Regards

Romey & Geoff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomeyandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi you 2,
looking forward having you back with us... as for all our repeaters it is a buyers market out there and we are very proud to have you with us again and again... not because we are the cheapest or the easiest to get to get-away in Egypt, but because you are convinced... We will continue to work hard and keep it up!
Looking forward having you back with us.
The team @ your favorite hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental for a week in September 2011, we loved it so much that we're going back this September for two weeks this time!
The service here is absolutely fantastic, they can't do enough for you. The hotel is fantastic and it really was the most relaxing holiday I've ever day.
If you like snorkelling then the coral just off the beach is fantastic for it. We spent a couple of hours every day last year snorkelling and saw Rays, parrot fish, eels, turtles and all sorts of tropical fish.
The food was what you'd expect from an all inclusive and there was always a great selection. Whilst I did have an upset stomach I think this was just climatising to the heat, food and drink. Rather than being the fault of the hotel.
Intercontinental beach seems to offer a lot more space than the others at Taba Heights and the staff are always around to help you with towels/drinks etc.
The rooms are really lovely and have plenty enough space for two.
We did the Sinai by Starlight trip which was excellent value for money. We also played 9 holes on the Taba Heights Golf course which was also fantastic. We teed off at 9am but an hour in it was very hot so would recommend taking at least a couple of bottles of water round with you!
It's also well worth a trip up to El Wakala when they have the weekly festival on, we went up and did some shopping and had a few drinks in The Flying Carpet and there was a great atmosphere.
Overall, an amazing holiday and I really can't wait to go back!! I'm counting down the days!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiegirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi Jessie,
thanks for your kind lines! Will share those and certainly pass on some of your tips to the travelers to come. It does happen at times that the sudden heat is a little aggressive, but rest assured that we are not only having a designated Hygiene Manager and use bottled water for cooking only, but that those efforts have also won us the SGS Hygiene Award for Egypt for 2011... so you are in safe hands with us.
Therefore: Why wait... come back soon!
Your crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Despite us all getting a nasty virus from the flight, we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The outside of the building might not be as attractive and the grounds not as colourful as some of the other hotels but the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms very well appointed . The beds are the most comforatble I have ever slept in and how nice to have the tea and coffee we Brits crave as a facility. The balcony was huge and private with a stunning view of the Gulf of Aqaba and Saudi Arabia. The beach was lovely despite those who love to discard their ciggie buts in the sand. Everywhere was as immaculately clean as guests allow and the staff never seem to stop.
Our bell boys were gems..so obliging and thorough.
In the dining room, I first thought the choice was more limited than the hotel we stayed at in Hurghada but on reflection, I always found something I could eat. Most dishes were tasty although sweets tend to be bland or samey .However I am a fruit woman rather than sweet-toother so others might have been happy. We did find both the coffee/tea and wine/water/soft drink service slow in the dining room even when it was not very busy.The staff seemed to disappear..maybe to other duites after the initial glass/mug. A minor point glasses are small and a mug not very attractive! Also those chairs seem a little low and maybe contributed to the way some nations seem to appear to shovel their food down and not bother to use their cutlery as my "ma" taught me. Though, with a few notable exceptions ,( aggressive addressing of the staff which may be down to frustration with language after all) I found my expectations of wall to wall bad behaviour by eastern Europeans ill-founded ( and we Brits can turn out a few obnoxious characters now and then). I do wish though people (of all nations)understood the concept of SMART casual..there is a clue in the way the staff are attired and I really don't want to see "bum-cheeks" through chiffon at evening meal.I appreciate how difficult it is to enforce standards but not impossible.Maybe TO and reps should do more to advice guests.
Because we were only there for a week, we did spend time in the Courtyard and while they are not very skilful dancers, the animation team make up for that with their energy and enthusiasm although ladies pro. dancer SMILE a lot.. Having said that our two young ladies from Latvia were delightful and so hard working.The DJ is great and Andrew's quiz great fun for a good cause.The singing duo whilst good were far too heavily amplified. The tannoura,fakir and belly dancer were good quality entertainment Our last evening had a damper on it because the young waiter decided to play a "joke" on us and it did NOT translate but this was handled immediately by his line manager and taken up by the (excellent) rep ,Andrew and a director the next morning. You do get the feeling that this is a managment who care very much and are visible and accountable..impressive.
I did have to put up from some rude comment from one of shop keepers but this was well and truly negated by the others' welcome and low preasure and from the traders in Uptown where we had to work a little harder and haggle. I do hope, flights and fate depending to return to Taba Heights and would have no hestitation in chosing the Intercontinental again .

Room Tip: Trips handy for dining room and reception tend to be noisier but Courtyard entertainment ends at 11p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ej47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear ej47,
thank you for your detailed review. Gladly we will share those positive points among the team! The tweeks, challenges and observations you are outlining are well placed with the management team who is keen to keep our hotel the best hotel in the destination for the 4th month running...
The InterContinental Taba Heights Resort team awaits you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
15.6 km away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
27.0 km away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
12.6 km away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
1.2 km away
Sofitel Taba Heights
15.3 km away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price range (per night): $108 - $190
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Wotif.com so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing