We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, nice staff, but to few guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tobya Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nice staff, but to few guests”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

As a last minute decision we went to Taba, Egypt to spend the last days of 2010. We stayed at Tobya for a week and had a wonderful time, even though it was raining 2 days. The rooms were nice the staff was more then helpful and the surroundings were beautiful. No demand was too great; we got everything we wished for. However there is one problem: their weren't enough guests. For a hotel this size about 10 guests isn't right. So visit the hotel have a nice and quiet stay and tell your friends, but not all of them, because 100 guests is nice but let's keep it tranquil as it is with just enough people

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pablito50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
(Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I've been desperately trying to think of the words which would adequately describe this resort, however I've been having difficulty in doing so, so I'll try and start from the beginning, describe our personal experience and then review the amenities etc at the end.

The Resort is an hour and a half from the airport - this is fine as we were mentally prepared after reading the trusted reviews on Tripadvisor. Our Longwood Rep, Russell was funny, informative and conveyed to you the better elements of the hotel as well as the lacklustre ones. This was refreshing to hear from a tour Rep and managed to prepare us for the problems that we encountered. If only this particular Rep was there all week! Unfortunately, Russell then went away on holiday and we were left with another one, Sayed. More on him later.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tmtmgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I booked this hotel really to just spend a night at Taba, on my way from Jordan to Sharm. I arrived farly late (it was dark), completely exhausted after the long journey and a bad customs experience in Israel. So didn't really have a chance to get a taste of the place. This was around the end of December 2008.

Overall, the grounds look nice but labeling the hotel "Boutique" is seriously misleading. The rooms are a little bit on the old side. The restaurant food was OK. we saw only a handful of guests. Yes, among those the proverbial Russians that roan the peninsula :)

Common areas and pool looked decent too. Among the other positives: value was decent. Reservations and contact with a certain Nadia were flawless. I had to change my whole itinerary after missing a connection to Jerusalem in Cairo and she was very prompt to accommodate

This hotel is a bit out of the way with regards to the rest of the town. Not that there is anything to do there. And a taxi ride was not expensive (about 20 LE?). This being said, there are clearly more beautiful/newer options available. For me it didn't make a difference since I was only overnighting. And the hotel was good enough. But somehow I felt pictures presented a nicer vision of the hotel compared with what it really was. If I were to return to Taba (and seriously can't think of a reason) I would consider first staying at one of the classier options but wouldn’t turn a blind eye to this one. It is beautiful and good value.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Not being a fan of the big, impersonal chain hotels, I found the Tobya via Trip Advisor as I was unsure as to which Red Sea resort to visit. We virtually had the hotel to ourselves due to credit crunch and other world events hitting the Russian tourist market . Consequently we had undivided personal attention from the staff and Nadia was fantastic. The hotel is beautifully presented - very artistic and aesthetically pleasing!! We were upgraded to a lovely suite with views over the pool and on the horizon across towards Jordan. There were a number of trips that the hotel organised on our behalf - a visit to the Coloured canyon (again - we had a guide to ourselves!), a boat trip with 3 stops for snorkelling andswimming (do mind the Coral - its not a great idea to accidently brush against it as your skin could react quite badly if you do - witness my partner!), and a fantastic meal at Castle Zeman. Didnt go into the pools as the water was cold - the sea was warmer and a lot more interesting, although do beware of the sea urchins which have incredibly long spines when going in the sea from the hotel beach - the water can be quite shallow! The only slight negative for me was that, as the resort is relatively undeveloped, nightlife can be very quiet especially if there are few other guests. I would recommend this hotel to any travellers who are looking for something out of the ordinary in a quietish resort, without hesitation. Thank you very much to Nadia and her staff for looking after us so well and making us so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Weffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We've been to Taba several times as we love diving in the Red Sea and always stayed at the Hilton. Not any more! We've found a great new hotel which we can't wait to return to.

The Tobya Boutique Hotel is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and offers a truly authentic Egyptian experience for anyone who doesn't like the big chains and the tacky 'all inclusive' holiday.

The hotel is owned and run by Nadia and Sadiq Shalaby and their fantastic team. All the rooms in the hotel are different, there are two beautiful swimming pools and a private beach with its own coral reefs teeming with fish.

We stayed on a half-board basis and weren't disappointed. We had the chance to try a variety of Egyptian specialities including falafel and koubeba, as well as stone baked pizzas and fresh salads. There are three chefs at the hotel so you won't go hungry and Egyptian wine is delicious!

Nothing is too much trouble at the Tobya and we made some great friends in the two weeks we were there - Eygptian hospitality is some of the best in the world.

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in a gorgeous location with wall to wall blue skies and that personal touch that is sadly lacking in so many hotels, look no further than the Tobya - you wil not be disappointed.

Tip: Book your flight through www.thomsonfly.co.uk and your accommodation direct with www.tobyaboutiquehotel.com - you'll get a much better deal!

  • Liked — Every room is different! And they're styled in a truly authentic Egyptian way.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KRH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
0.0 km away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
0.0 km away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 km away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Swiss Inn Dream Resort Taba
0.0 km away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.0 km away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobya Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobya Boutique Hotel

Property: Tobya Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 2, Taba International Road, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Hotel Class:4 star — Tobya Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Tobya Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tobya Boutique Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing