We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,888)
Filter reviews
1,888 results
Traveller rating
804
560
293
110
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
560
293
110
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pergola restaurant main pool main restaurant fish sister hotel animation team pool bar fantastic holiday beauty salon old market sun loungers cleaned every day food was lovely aqua park sea entertainment egypt
Filter
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 1,888 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Hi all just back from Dreams Beach resort Egytp weather good food not bad hotel not 5 star
but a good 4 star not a lot to do at night time but it was relaxing holiday room ok bathroom was a bit out of date the beach 500 yards away from our room will be back 2011 for some more sun from a wet scotland

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DELShotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Me and my girlfriend (both aged 25) stayed at the Dreams Beach Resort for 11 nights from the 3rd September 2010.

The hotel is around a 30 minute coach transfer from Sharm El Sheikh airport. Upon arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by friendly reception staff who swiftly checked us in. We were immediately taken to our room with our luggage by the very friendly bellboy.

Our first impression of our apartment was very good. Very clean and very spacious. Apartments are in 2 storey blocks. Because of our late night arrival time it wasn't until morning that we were able to appreciate the position of or our apartment - we were in apartment block 32 which is the furthest from reception but the closest to the beach, upon opening the patio doors in the morning we had a perfect view of the sea. (ground floor apartments have there own terrace and first floor apartments have there own balcony)

Because of our late night arrival the only resteraunt still serving food was the L'Opera snack bar. The snack bar offered little more than french fries but being typical Northerners we were pretty happy with chip butties!!

The following morning we sampled breakfast for the first time and there was plenty to choose from!! There was fresh bread, an egg station were the chef would make your eggs however you wanted them - omlettes, fried eggs, boiled eggs etc. The only thing I was dissapointed with was the sausages - you have the choice between chicken sausage or beef sausage and neither taste very nice!! Breakfast is served in the L'Opera resteraunt!!

After breakfast we had our welcome meeting with our Thomson rep Claire. She was very helpful and she actually lived at the Dreams Beach so her availability was brilliant. We wanted advise on tipping - Claire told us it was impossible to tip everytime a member of staff did something nice so she advised us to tip our room cleaner 50LE per week (around £5) and only to tip if any staff went above and beyond on a regular basis. Take plenty £1 coins as they prefer to receive tips in sterling, they save the £1 coins until they have £10 so don't be suprised when you are asked if you can swap the £1 coins for a £10 note!! There were many excursions to choose from, we decided to book the VIP Red Sea Cruise which is a must for snorkelling!!

We had no problems getting a sunbed around the pool and this continued throughout the holiday. There was quieter pools to choose from if you wanted a bit of peace and quiet but we preferred the main pool because there was a little bit more going on!! The swim up bar was fantastic, although we didn't have to venture to it very often as the glass collector / waiter would continuously bring us drinks all day every day - even if we were in the pool cooling off he would come and find us with 2 Fantas. (we tipped him mid way through the first week and at the end of the holiday) You will no doubt get a little annoyed with the sellers around the pool who constantly try to sell you henna tattoos, newspapers, massages, scuba diving etc etc but once you get a bit of colour and they realise you aren't interested they start to leave you alone!! To solve this you can however get a do not disturb sign from the towel hut which you hang from your umbrella!!

Lunch / Daytime Snacks are served at The Pergola (Italian) The Grill House (Beach BBQ) and L'Opera (International Buffet) and are all included within the all inclusive. For your evening meal the above 3 resteraunts can be visited as many times as you like throughout your stay (you must however pre book The Pergola and Grill House at least 24 hours in advance) These resteraunts however became quite repetetive!!

In addition to the above resteraunts there is The Sombrero (Mexican), Asia House (Chinese and Indian) and My Place (Steak House) which will incur a minimum charge per person of 100LE (around £10 each) regardless of what you order but are well worth the money!! (all inclusive drinks are still included when you visit these resteraunts) We really really enjoyed The Mexican, so much so we went 3 times during our stay!! Our bill for a 2 course meal for 2 was never above 250LE (around £25)

The evening entertainment wasn't the best. Every night between 10 and 11 you had the choice of a middle aged Egyptian man singing love songs (not very well) at the Oasis Cafe or the Animation Team in the Roman Theatre playing games such as Mr Dreams Beach and Mrs Dreams Beach etc!! The Animation Team ran all the daytime activities such as water polo, water volleyball, aqua aerobics etc. There is a disco / nightclub in the hotel grounds but we didn't pay this a visit!!

Our room was kept immaculate and we always returned from a hard days sunbathing to different towel art - swans, flowers etc - this was always a nice suprise!! The mini bar in the room is topped up daily between 4 and 6 with Coca Cola, Sprite and Water!! On several occasions our room cleaner still entered our room when the do not disturb sign was on the door but once we reported this to reception this no longer happend!!

Because of the time of our return flight we decided to pay for late check out, this cost 250LE (around £25) The hotel manager called us on our final day to thank us for choosing The Dreams Beach and asked what time we would like the bellboy to collect our cases. The bellboy arrived to collect our cases at the agreed time.

Although this wasn't the fault of the hotel I must stress the importance of checking your coach pick up time. Our coach transfer to the airport was over an hour late with no explanation and was then caught up in a road closure meaning we made it to the airport as the plane was boarding, luckily we didn't miss the flight but it was a mad mad rush!!

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and will definitely return one day. Don't forget your sun cream, the temperature never dropped below 38 degrees!!

Marc and Hayley

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marcb7585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Just got back, never to go again, this hotel is deffo not five star, The so called mini bar is a fridge with a bottle of water each and a sprite each,Wine is only served until 10pm,
The Food is so bad I lost 6Ibs couldnt eat buffet at all, the resturants were ok but you had to pay extra for mexican, asian and steak house, loads had tummy bugs including myself and husband, The entertainment is awful same thing every night and that stops at 11 o,clock,
The only place for a late drink is reception and here you struggle to find a seat,
bottled water during the day to buy is £7 so take it from your fridge,
the so called beach is shingles and an hell of a climb back up has the Hotel is built on a cliff.
The rooms were very clean but need an up lift, around the complex never saw cleaning done with bleach or disinfectant,
the Rep For Thomas cook was a complete waste of time, very bad mannerd ( tarek ) just wanted to sell trips with you,
Pool area noisy and again never bleached,We are used to five star being a five star this is not

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

There were four our us who stayed at this hotel for two weeks and loved every minute of it. It as a totalling relaxing holiday which we all wanted . .The rooms were clean and the cleaner attended every day, he made some nice designs out of the towels and bed covers. . Yes the bath looked a bit yellow and well used but can honestly say it was clean. I had a few problems with Ants invading the tiolet late at night and a quick phone call to the house keeper and someone one arrived within minutes to get rid of the ants. The grounds were lovely and well maintained. The beach was clean and lovely also quiet, beautiful view and able to snorkle to see the beautiful fish.
It was the staff who made this holiday as very helpful and cheerful even during their ramadam. they couldnt do enough for you. nothing was a problem for them.
If you dont want to be pestered by anyone trying to get you to book their restaurant then there is a 'do not disturb sign' you can get from the towel guy and just hang this on your umberella. However we would definately recommend booking the Italian restaurant which is with in your all inclusive and the food and service is brilliant. we actually went 5 times. The Asia House is not to be missed although this is chargable, the drinks are included in your all inclusive. The food Chinese or Indian is excellent. Staff again were great. I didnt get a chance to try the Mexican but my sister in law did and although she enjoyed the food it would have been better if able to eat in an air conditioned place instead of outside where it was still extremely warm in the evening. The grill house is lovely in the evening, nice food again and the staff brilliant although during the day, the food has a limited choice. The steak house called 'My Place' is another lovely restaurant which is payable, but food excellent, staff very helpful, and prices dirt cheap. The only problem we came across was trying to cash our travellers cheques and advised to go into naama bay to the Thomas Cook Bank which we couldnt find. However there is plenty cash machines which will give you egyptian pounds. Apparently not many hotels or banks are happy to take travellers cheques due to fraud. Another piece of advice is if you buy a shisha smoke pipe then try and put this in your suitcase or make sure it is properly packed as not allowed to take it as hand luggage on the plane. There isnt a lot of entertainment in the evening but we were happy to go for a drink after our meal and have a wander along to the sister hotel - Dreams Vacation . They have an excellent bar manager and the bar staff were friendly too . a nice atmosphere in the main hall with comfy sofas.Nice atHowever we werent too impressed with their dining hall and choice of food, it was far better in the dreams beach hotel. All in all we had a great time and would certainly go back again.

Date of stay: September 2010
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Janeymcdowall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

first of all, id just like to say one thing.. some people go on holiday just to criticise. we read a lot of reviews on here before we went away, and we were quite worried due to all the negative ones that were on here.

when we got there, the man took our bags and took us to our room. my boyfriend offered to carry one of the bags up the steps as they were heavey, but the man said "no, you are on holiday now" which we thought was lovely. we got there at 11pm at night and were very hungry after a long flight. there is a snack bar open from 11pm till 1am which was a life saver! the man in there is very funny and made us laugh.

the hotel was very clean and very tidy, staff were always cleaning and making sure everything was spotless. our first day was great. we got a "do not disturb" sign from the towel man, so we did not get pestered by the sellers. all we did was point to it, they still ask how you are and if you are ok, but thats it. they are very very pleasant.

the man who brings you drinks round the pool is great, just tip him a 20 and he will make sure you have atleast 2 drinks in your hand all the time. we didnt even have to ask for ours, as soon as he seen our glasses empty, he brought us more. even when we were in the pool and we wasnt at our beds, he made sure we had some.

we went to the mexican for my birthday at night and it was fabulous, 100 egyptian pounds per person, drinks all free. very worth the money and the FAJITAS were amazing, we were so full.

to be honest, we didnt even go out of the hotel once on our holiday, everything we needed was there. for a change of scenery we went to the vacation via taff taff (who is amazing) which is a lot quiter atmosphere.

you can get KFC, Pizza hut and Mc D's delivered to your hotel aswell. they are cheaper than they are in england and they are supersize!!!

we went quad biking, vip cruise and would definatly recommend both of them.

please dont be put off by any reviews that are horrible. WE CANNOT FAULT THIS HOTEL ONE BIT! always plenty of food to choose from, people are very happy and friendly (apart from the russians!!!)

we will be going back in 2012 and we cannot wait.

the rooms are spacious and cleaned every day, TIP leave a matalan card or something in the electric slot and your air con will stay on all day, which you will definatly need!!! and please drink plenty of bottled water as you will get dehydrated and its not a nice feeling.

we did not get "egyptian belly" once when we were there, we took hand sanitizer and drank bottled water and we were fine. no complaints.

the weather is blistering and if you want a good tan get yourself to the beach, there are always plenty of beds. i dont know why but we caught a better tan at the beach! the pool always has plenty of beds free, we ran down at 7.30am every morning to put our towels down but really didnt need to!

although the hotel was full, it didnt seem like it. you were never bumping into people and always had enough space.

the only thing i would say is that we went to the Grill House and wasnt too pleased with it, but that might just be us and others may love it.

please tip the Taff Taff if you use it as he works from 9am to 11pm on the same route. he always smiles and is very funny.

if you dont have your snorkells to snorkell at the beach, you can hire a set from the beach wich will cost you 20-25 egyptian pound, which is about £3-£4 which is very cheap.

i hope this helps and as i said dont listen to the negative comments, some people are arrogant and just love to moan.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sampax04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews