We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great facilities, would recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreams Beach Resort
Ranked #110 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in early September 2012, for two weeks all-inclusive. The hotel is very modern and has a lot of things on site to see and do, with 5 pools at the hotel and a water slide, table tennis and tennis courts and also pool sports daily, we found plenty to keep us entertained on site as well as plenty of sun beds for when we felt more like relaxing. The pool bar is a great plus point for this hotel too, it was great being able to order drinks without even having to leave the pool - the only downside to the alcohol was that it was local branded and not the best tasting but for all-inclusive you can't complain :) There is also branded available if you would like for an additional charge, there is however branded soft drinks available such as; coke, diet coke, sprite and fanta. The food at the hotel was good, with the main restaurant open for breakfast from 7-10, and then various other times in the day for snacks and then again for dinner in the evening from 7-10pm had a good selection of food that changed from day to day, aswell as the main dinning room the hotel has a grill house; which you can visit for free (however you have to make a reservation to eat here as it is more popular and serves a variety of grilled - fish, beef and chicken dishes, another restaurant that needs booking which is well worth visiting is le pergola an Italian themed restuarant that serves great food, finally there is a Mexican which you have to pay for but having tried this it was one of the best meals we have had and the quality is fantastic, well worth trying.
There are different entertainment shows on each night at around 9pm onwards which is a good way to spend an evening, there is also a great beach down some steps that belongs to the hotel which is great for snorkling and swimming in the sea.
The rooms are modern and spacious, they are cleaned every day with new bed sheets and towels given, the fridge in the room is re-filled daily too with bottled water and soft drinks,
Air conditioning and the safe also come free of charge,
Overall this is a great place to stay and at a reasonable price too for an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

After reading the reviews on here, I begged and pleaded with my Fiancé to cancel our holiday, or at least change the hotel. Luckily, after a few heated discussions, he talked me around. I'm so glad he did. We have just returned from our two week break to Um El Sid Cliff and had an absolutely amazing time!

From what we had read about this hotel, I was expecting a complete dive but, in fact, it's quite the opposite. The hotel is very clean and the staff are absolutely brilliant - they cannot do enough for you...and it's not about the "tip" you give them, as some would have you believe.

Rooms - yes the rooms are basic, but very comfortable. The bathroom is shabby and does let the decor down a bit, but how much time do you spend in the bathroom really? The rooms are cleaned every day, before lunch, and our fridge was refilled with bottled water and soft drinks every day between 5pm and 6pm. The cleaners are on a weekly rota. We tipped our first cleaner just £2 on arrival and most days, he took the time to turn our beach towels into funky flowers and animals. Although we didn't tip our second cleaner until we were checking out, he also did this for us. A nice touch I thought! Also, I've read a few comments on here about the water being yellow and the hot water not working. The water when we first ran the tap was a little yellow, but after that I didn't notice anything different. Also, there is a sign in your bathroom explaining that the water is heated via solar panels, so sometimes it can take a while for the water to get hot. Also, it never really gets properly 'hot' as we would have it at home, but this didn't bother us in the slightest.

Pools - the main pool in dream beach is very busy and can be noisy at times. The animation team run an aqua gym every day at around 10:30 and also play water volley ball. The water in the main pool is quite shallow (waist height on an adult) so it's child friendly. There is a deep plunge pool right next to the main pool (280cm) and also a shallow pool (55cm) under some shade, which would come in handy for those travelling with babies and toddlers. There is a very quiet, fairly deep, pool over in dreams vacation hotel which we visited a few times. I would recommend this, if you don't mind a short walk. However, after a few days we decided to stick to the main pool in dreams beach. It is advisable to save your lounger before breakfast, although to be honest we never had any problems getting a space, even in late afternoon. When we got to the pool every morning, one of the recreation team came over to us, took our towel cards and brought us our towels, an ash tray and a do not disturb sign. He didn't expect a tip at all, but we did tip him a couple of times. During our stay the swim-up bar was open, but it is only open during the summer months just so you're aware.

Salesmen - this is a big part of most of the negative reviews on here. Personally, for us, we didn't consider the sales people to be "harassing" us in any way, shape or form! They are such lovely people and most of the time are happy to just have a chat with you. Even if you say you don't want to go on their trips, use their spa or buy their products, they will still be really pleasant and say thank you before walking away. Also, they are fantastic at remembering a face so you'll rarely get the same person asking you twice, unless you've shown a mild interest in what they have to offer. Some of the nicest people we met were salesmen and they always said hello and shook our hand. They also remember what you tell them and will ask you how you enjoyed your trips, dinner etc. If you want, you can get a do not disturb sign from the towel guys, but it won't stop people talking to you completely. Also, please be aware that the hotel staff will also use the pool to ask you to book a table at a restaurant. This is how we met the manager of the Mexican restaurant and how we booked our table. He remember us for the rest of our holiday and was always happy to talk to us.

Food - I don't know what all the fuss is about! The food was very tasty and we both ate very well, during our two week stay. The main restaurant, L'Opera, offers plenty of choice for all meals if you look carefully. There are starters, mains, salads, a grill station, pasta and a wide choice of fruits and desserts. The only thing I would say is that lunch in L'Opera is more like a main dinner, so I would recommend that you eat lunch in the grill house or the Italian instead. On arrival, we were informed that the all inclusive package had changed so you can eat dinner (evening meal) for free, as many times as you like per week, in the Italian (Pergola) and the Grill House as long as you book in advance. This can be done at lunch times or the day before. We actually didn't take advantage of this, as the food in L'Opera was so tasty! We did, however, pay the extra to eat in the Mexican restaurant in dreams vacation (Sombrero). I would highly recommend this restaurant! The food is really excellent, easily the best fajita's I've ever had...in Egypt of all places! We both had a starter, a main and my other half had bottled beer (extra charge, just £1.50 for a large bottle) and the total price was just 380 L.E (around £38), which I thought was very reasonable, considering we ordered one of the most expensive starters and one of the two most expensive mains. I only noticed the Love Boat open once and during our stay, the My Place (steakhouse) was completely closed. Also, in the full two weeks, neither of us got the dreaded "Egypt" belly. Just read what you're eating. I overheard so many British people complaining about the food. For example, in the grill house one lunchtime a British gent was loudly moaning about his "lamb" kofta and how rubbish it was...if he'd have read the sign correctly, they were clearly labelled as BEEF kofta!! Also, they are very tasty with the salad and the freshly made pitta - yum!

Beach - the beach is great and if you explore a bit, you can find alternative ways to the jetty without going up and down all the stairs! (Near the grill house, there are some loungers and a few steps. If you keep following this and follow the path around, you're at the main jetty and you will walk past the beach bar and the crepe station.) The sea is lovely and warm and the fish are fab! Although do be careful, the jetty is slippy and the fish are cheeky! One of them decided to nibble my ankle, which was a bit of a shock! There are signposts to an elevator to the beach, but in our two weeks here we didn't notice it and, as per above, it wasn't really necessary.

Evenings - There is a show on most evenings, but we spent most nights in the Bedouin tent or venturing outside the hotel. A few guests we spoke to complained that there was a lack of things to do in an evening, but we were happy in the Bedouin tent trying out all the different Shisha flavours!

Tips - If you do decide to go out for a walk, when you leave the main entrance to dreams beach, cross both roads and turn left, keep walking. After a short while, there is a supermarket, pharmacy etc on the opposite side of the road, which are very cheap if you need supplies. If you stick to the side of the road you started on and follow the road, you will soon find yourself at a shopping mall (IL Mercato) with bars and gift shops etc. We really liked it here. The shop owners were lovely and often give you a little free gift, just for visiting. It is slightly more expensive than Na'ama bay, but it was our preferred option. We went to Na'ama Bay just the once and it wasn't really for us. Aside from our dinner in the Hard Rock Café, which was awesome! Each to their own I suppose, as I know some people like Na'ama Bay but for us, it was crowded, noisy and the people were pushy and extremely rude - a complete contrast to what we had seen so far from the Egyptian people.

If you want to avoid getting ill in Egypt, be vigilant with the hand gel. Use it every time you handle the money and before and after you eat. Read the signs in the bathroom - the tap water is NOT for drinking! There is tea / coffee making facilities in your room, but use the bottled water and not the tap water. When you brush your teeth, silly as it may sound, use bottled water and don't rinse your brush in the tap water.

Trips - The star gazing trip is excellent, although I did advise our rep that it should be re-named to the Bedouin experience, as the star gazing is very minor part of the trip. You ride a camel (if you like, if not you can stay on the coach) through the Sinai desert with the Bedouin tribe, to their main "tent". You then hang out there for a while and take photo's of the sunset. You then eat a meal prepared by the Bedouin ladies, which is really, really tasty! The tribe then have a bit of a song and a dance, which you can join in if you like and then you look at the moon and the astrologer talks about the starts for around 20-30 mins only. (To be fair, there was a lot of moon light pollution and clouds when we attended, so the star gazing may take longer for some visitors.) We also did Cairo by coach. It was an amazing experience but if you want to do Cairo, I would recommend you pay the extra to fly there. The price isn't too much different and it is worth it. The trip took us a total of 27 hours and the majority of this is spent travelling. It is worth it but I would have enjoyed it so much more if we had just paid the extra to fly!

Overall, this holiday was brilliant. Egypt is easily the best place I have been so far and the Egyptian people are lovely! I would recommend this holiday to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

just got back from egypt 2 days ago, and the holiday was amazing the hotel was stunning and was in a great location, in a taxi it was only a 5 minute drive to a place called old market which was just full of traditional markets (great for shopping) also the hotel was about a 5 minute drive from Naama Bay. The staff at the hotel were lovely and friendly, our room was always nicely cleaned everyday and the mini fridge was always full, also we went all inclusive and didnt realise that the mini fridge was included into our package until the 2nd day which was a nice surprise, the shops on the hotel premises were great we brought papyrus paintings from the shop on the hotel the sales man Casper was amazing very knowledgeable and friendly and did an amazing price. the perfume shop was also very good they were very caring and took there time to help you. The only downfall of the hotel me and my boyfriend would say was the food, it was edible but it was very repetitive, so it got boring after a while. But all in all the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Firstly the food, yes in the main restaurant didnt have too much variety and option but there was nothing wrong with the food that was offered. Secondly to eat at asia house or the mexican did cost money but when your only paying £15 for two courses + drinks (bottles of heinekin etc - imported drinks) who can really moan!

Secondly the entertainment team were around the pool at schedualed times during the day with music playing, aqua gym, water polo and volley ball. Had they been there all day an music playing all day you would have people complaining there was no peace! The animation team were all very friendly and even organised nights out, transport and drinks included for a small price. EVERY NIGHT there was entertainment provided at the Ampi-theatre whether it be a fire show or a comedy show put on by animation team.

Thirdly people are sayin that there was no way to drink outside, plastic glasses could be asked for in the lobby and also sisha and drinks were provided outside at the 'Beduin Tent' where you could get drinks to take over to the ampi-theatre.

Also if you do fancy a night out in Naama Bay the hotel offers a FREE Shuttle Bus service so if you book on in the morning there is no need to pay for taxi's. Should you need to use a taxi our Thomas Cook Rep warned us at our welcome meeting to agree a price before getting in. This avoids over priced Taxi fares!!

Our Rep Tarek frm Thomas Cook could not do enough to help us, giving us alot of good advice and even sending reminder texts about excursions which is he didnt have to do but nothing was too much hassle for him! He even gave us a lift home from the Social Night when we missed the bus. Again going beyond the call of duty!

Our room was always clean and we must have had the worlds friendliest housekeeping man, our fridge was always replenished and you could ask for coke/fanta. whichever is your preference!

IT IS NORMAL THAT THE WATER IS YELLOW THIS DOES NOT REFLECT THE HOTEL! There is always water in the mini bar for brushing teeth and drinking!

Overall had a fantastic holiday and would go back. Don't listen to all these bad reviews!

Room Tip: We were in block 35. Within easy reach of everything, Pool, Restaurant,Supermarket!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

just back from the dreams beach resort, what can i say about this place for what we paid we were over the moon .we been to sharm now 6 times each time keeps getting better this hotel ticks the right boxes in every way nice friendly staff room was brill mini bar always stocked up every nt chamber boys was always there when you wanted something .just wished the main bar at night was non smoking only downside i could find we went to sister hotel most nights had a ball of a time then to night club in hotel all this in the 24 hour bar food was ok in hotel we had a few meals in the chine ,love boat, mex rest we met a loads of nice people just like one big family was great nice big poolbar in main pool we had the 4pm club chance to catch up with friends must say a big hello to the welsh girls xx just a great experiance this is a honest review we will be back dont understand how people can complain about this AMAZING HOTEL!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: block 35 any rooms all refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.8 km away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#63 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,208 reviews
0.6 km away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#100 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
800 reviews
1.8 km away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#25 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
562 reviews
1.5 km away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,747 reviews
2.7 km away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#55 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Beach Resort

Address: Um El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#103 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $47 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dreams Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Dreams Beach
Dreams Beach Resort Egypt
Dreams Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Dreams Beach Egypt
Beach Dream El Resort Sharm Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing