We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Oonas Dive Club Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gafy Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Albostan Park Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Bostan Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,030)
Filter reviews
3,030 results
Traveller rating
1,514
867
390
143
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,514
867
390
143
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitadel restaurantblue wavenaama bayfishanimation teamgreat holidayswim up barmain restaurantbuffet restaurantsonestapoolssunbedsegyptentertainmentwaiterstipbarman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,388 - 1,393 of 3,030 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Chose this hotel from majour tour operators brochure...as the second week following a cruise...BIG mistake.
Seasoned travellers...been to Egypt before...and really enjoyed it...hence the repeat....

Wasnt impressed with the first room...it was small and dark...with an interconnecting door, without a lock. No no!! Fridge was dirty & neglected and badly iced up. (Photos)
Bathroom was dirty....and very small. Sister is 5 foot, and she had difficulty using the loo...(see photo) Loose wiring for the air con controls (photos)

Second room..a long long way from reception or the restaurants or beach. Too far dear sister to walk...so another NO NO...

Third room...smelt awful...like a gents urinal...and given I had a cold...it must have been bad...No No...

Fourth room...brighter and better....lovely room, much brighter...and reasonably clean...with a sunken marble bath..not really possible for anyone with walking difficulties to get in and out of....Steps in room...and 9 to access the room at all....with no alternative access...

This review of rooms took place over a three hour period...without so much as a glass of water being offered.

Sitting in the reception area....noticed the dust & dirt in public rooms...(See photo)

After a lot of hassle...we managed to get a move to a different hotel for the following morning...and had to spend a very sleepless night in the first room offered....the others were no longer available.....

While checking out...we were the only clients for whom "must check the mini-bar" as our word that we hadnt used anything was challenged. No one else had the room stocks verified...and this took 30 minutes....

Feel badly treated and let down by the hotel. The staff were rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ApricotSilk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear ApricotSilk14 ,


Whilst the Sonesta Beach Resort – Sharm EL Sheikh caters to several hundred guests daily, we are very sorry to read this tripadvisor review. Further we are very regretful that we were not able to extend the services the way you have expected them to be.

Nevertheless we have taken your comments as serious as all other guest comments and we will continue to work restlessly on improving our product and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a family holiday to Sonesta Beach Resort, Sharm, with a group of 10. After reading a lot of reviews on here, mostly good but some bad, we were unsure what to expect. Well, either we are a very easy going, easily pleased family, or there are a lot of very fussy people around! We found the rooms clean and comfortable, and they were cleaned every day. The choice of food was excellent with something different on offer every day. The waiters were always polite and cleared the dirty plates away quickly, kept us topped up with coffee at breakfast and soft drinks and alcohol at lunch and dinner. There was always plenty of bottled water available too. The towel guy on the beach was happy to move around sunloungers for us all to sit together, so we tipped him and every day after that he saved us some beds down by the water. The barmen at the Blue Wave pool were always pushing tables together for us, and having a laugh and joke. There was entertainment on every night, although we were happy to sit at the outside bar as the weather was warm enough in the evenings. The only bad thing I have to say about the pools and beach, are the amount of people wandering around trying to sell you day trips, boat rides, sessions in their health club, etc. when you just wanted to lay there and chill out. We booked all our trips through the Thomson rep. They were a bit more expensive, but at least we knew we'd have a properly organised trip with all transport provided. And the bartering got a bit tedious after a couple of days, you just wanted to go in a shop and buy something but there were no prices, they just made them up as they went along. And make sure you agree the price of a taxi before you get in, those taxi drivers are quite sneaky in the way they try to charge you extra. All in all though, it was a brilliant holiday and I would definitely go back if I got the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just returned from the Sonesta beach Resort after a two week holiday.
It was super. The hotel is lovely and clean. The food was great. The weather was good.
The staff in The Dome restaurant were particularly warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Mohammed and ibrahim working outside in the patio part of the restaurant were really attentive and helpful!
We didn't like the beach area - it was very crowded and full of russians (whom we found extremely rude and bad mannered !!!). It also always smelt of petrol from the boats and small craft moored up , engines running , waiting for business. We did love the Cactus bar pool and sat there most days and swam in the heated pool.
We will definitely return to Sonesta Beach - we loved it !

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one ! It was up by the Cactus pool and although we were on the ground floor with people above us all the way through , it was very quiet and we slept like logs!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjillsandford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear anniversarygirl54


My absolute pleasure was to know that some of our team members have managed to create a really nice experience for your. It’s our goal to provide the highest level of service for our dear guests and to let them feel most relaxed and comfortable while staying with us. I will surely pass your feedback to all my colleagues to share the good feelings you experienced.
Waiting to host you again soon at our resort

Regards from Sunny Sharm EL Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have been to the resort twice and enjoyed it on both occasions the rooms are large and clean but in need of an update the food can be very nice with a good selection on offer the pools are well maintained the main pool can be loud at times the beach is small and rocky night life is low key all this said this resort is still very good and may go back for the 3rd time

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deinnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Dear Deinnor

Thank you for your lovely review and nice comments; we are happy we contributed in making your vacation a memorable one and hope to have you as a regular guest in our resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just got back and cannot praise the staff highly enough, i think they went over and above to see we had a pleasant stay, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. All areas clean and tidy, some perhaps showing their age, but the staff more than made up for it. So from my grandaughter Jessica can i say a big high five to all the beach guys, pool bar staff and waiting staff at the dome. She loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews