We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quiet, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Very nice hotel, small enough so it does not feel oppressing like so many hotels in Urghada. Quiet area away from the city of Urghada, 5mn walk from the beach, very quiet, nice rooms. Friendly staff and very professionals

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julient05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Team123, Guest Relations Manager at Jaz Makadi Star & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Julien,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Jaz Makadi Star. We appreciate your comments regarding that everything was up to your respect expectation. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in Jaz Makadi Star.

With my best regards,

Your Jaz Makadi Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

First it is like everyone knows what to do without being told to.
Second the cleanliness , hospitality & kindness of the whole staff is exceptional
Really recommended for any honeymooners

Recommending the private pool suite very much

Mostafa Shaaban

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mostafa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Team123, Guest Relations Manager at Jaz Makadi Star & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Mr. Mostafa,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Jaz Makadi Star. We appreciate your comments regarding that everything was up to your respect expectation. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in Jaz Makadi Star.

With my best regards,

Your Jaz Makadi Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I have visited this hotel three times in the last 7-8 years and I always stay in the royal suite with the private pool. I have to say that the 1st time (Dec. 2009) was so good that I thought this hotel could be the best -overall- in the country.

3-4 years later I've been there again and I still get to enjoy my stay, even though it's quality wasn't as impressive as the 1st visit. There was a noticeable drop in the overall quality of everything, specially staff and service. But it was still good.

This month was most recent visit to Jaz Makadi Star and I am really disappointed with the decline this hotel is undertaking in terms of service quality. Staff are totally unprofessional, starting from the security person at the hotel door and restaurant waiters to front desk employees and receptionists. Some of them are absolutely clueless, some are rude while others just don't care!
Although I was paying a lot of money to stay in their most expensive suite with an all inclusive package, I didn't feel special or welcome most of the time!
There were a lot of useful info that wasn't communicated to me on arrival -even though I asked!-, like being entitled to use the Aqua Park for free, having a free breakfast/dinner in the room or the late check out possibility. One receptionist told me all the details -out of pure luck- when I was trying to book a romantic dinner inside the suite. I was seriously angry, because I did ask the dumb person who checked me in and I only got a mixture of lies and misinformation crap out of him. Because of this, I missed my chance to spend a day in the Aqua Park and I could've missed more benefits I was entitled for.
Food wasn't good too.. I tried the Indian restaurant there for a change, and it wasn't bad for my first Indian food ever. The problem there was with staff. Those guys were unprofessional, offensive and really creepy!

I love the place.. It's great for a romantic getaway not for a family vacation. But I don't think I would enjoy staying there again with this disappointing level of service quality..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FaRouK N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Team123, Manager at Jaz Makadi Star & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Mr. Farouk,

Thank you for your comment and feedback. We are sorry that this time your stay was not as enjoyable as it have been all previous times.

We will do our best in order to handle the negative mentioned points.
Regarding your comment about the privileges of our Royal suite guests we would like to mention that we are placing the letter in each room with all the details. As we have seen that you have chosen to have a Romantic dinner in your suite and we hope that it was up to your satisfaction.

We apologize once again and we hope that you will give us another chance in order to prove to you our real level.

We will be glad to Welcome you back again in Jaz Makadi Star and Spa.

With best regards,
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

It was my third time. The hotel the staff all I can say it was warm feeling thank you all. It were some little problems but the reaction were fast and the way to deal with it from the staff was very effective. Thank you again and keep going . For sure it will not be my last time .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mohamed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Team123, Guest Relations Manager at Jaz Makadi Star & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Mr. Mohamed,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Jaz Makadi Star. We appreciate your comments regarding that everything was up to your respect expectation. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in Jaz Makadi Star.

With my best regards,

Your Jaz Makadi Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great time with my family . Staff are friendly , polite and helpful. They all want to give you best service to make your stay a remarkable one. They take any comments on board and try to accommodate it immediately . I liked the hotel as not crowded as others ...very reasonable capacity. Rooms are clean and spacious. Only negative is quality of food which can improve to make it a real 5 stars hotel experience. There is variety of food but quality of some of the items can partially spoil the meal . I would recommend it to families and definitely will go again . Thanks Mr. Mohamed / or MahmooD at reception and all Mahmouds in the hotel who served us

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dalia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Team123, Manager at Jaz Makadi Star & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Ms. Dalia,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Jaz Makadi Star and Spa. Hotel team is always doing their best in order to provide the guests with the highest level of service. It is heartwarming to hear your beautiful compliments about their work.
We are sorry that the quality of food left room for improvement. We are taking all your comments very seriously and we will try to do our best in order to meet your expectations during your next visit.

We will be glad to Welcome you back again in Jaz Makadi Star and Spa.

Sunny regards,
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 km away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,498 reviews
1 km away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,011 reviews
0.8 km away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,351 reviews
0.4 km away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort
#6 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,085 reviews
2.3 km away
Jaz Aquaviva
Jaz Aquaviva
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Star & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Star & Spa

Address: Makadi Bay - 34 Km Hurghada - Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $115 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Star & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. Located by the Red Sea in Madinat Makadi, this resort is 5 minutes’ walk from its own private beach. Facilities include regular nightly entertainment, a diving centre and outdoor pool. The elegant rooms at Jaz Makadi Star & Spa feature private balconies that overlook the garden or pool. Each room is spacious and offers a tea/coffee maker and satellite TV. Guests can enjoy a wide range of food and beverage options, with over 10 different restaurants and bars. Drinks and light refreshments are available at the El Negma beach bar. Jaz Makadi has a scuba diving, snorkeling center on site, allowing guests to explore the coral reefs of the Red Sea; water sport facilities, windsurfing, diving, snorkeling, canoeing and also horse riding all are applicable to the guest convenience with an extra charge. Feel light and beautiful with our Mividaspa, which includes offers reviving and reinvigorating treatments, water therapies, massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaz Makadi Star & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Makadi Star Hotel Hurghada
Jaz Makadi Star And Spa
Jaz Makadi Star Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing