We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Egyptian escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good Egyptian escape”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It appears from the previous reviews I've read that we all clearly have differing standards and expectations. Having been to different parts of Egypt I was under no illusion what to expect from a 5 star hotel.

The rooms were pleasant and clean with large bathrooms and white and blue decor. Ours had the same painting on adjacent walls!

The complex is huge and has a number of a la carte restaurants which are themed. These are well worth a visit and can easily be booked on a touch screen computer in reception. We particularly liked the Asian one. The main restaurant is as expected, large, busy and sometime you are having to bite your tongue at the rude Russians. The food is average but no worse than any other hotel I've stayed in Egypt or Turkey. They are catering for many nationalities so it's varied to say the least.

The beach area is small and there were a few jellyfish on the beach however these were quite harmless and disappeared when the tide went back out - not stingers!

There were plenty of sun loungers, no arguing over beds or towel. Just pretend you're asleep or reading when the tour salesmen come round - they can get really annoying!

The gym opens at 10am and has some really good equipment. Plenty of cardio and the selection of weights and strengthening machines were almost as good as any UK gym.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the week away and particularly the adult only pool!



  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheldrake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,548
    1,085
    427
    133
    89
See reviews for
3,001
1,898
104
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just arrived back from this wonderful resort.Hotel perfect,weather perfect,beach perfect and very close by,pools are lovely although a little murky and very slippy to get into.....take care when taking children in as we did see a few slip and bang their heads.Main restaurant was manic with no organisastion however we decided to use the med restaurant for breakfast and lunch which was much quieter.I decided to have a manicure and pedicure whilst there,in the room their was a female doing my nails and a male doing my feet they asked me if i spoke any Arabic when i said no they started speaking it and laughing uncontrollaby i felt totally humiliated i was supposed to go back 4 days later for a second treatmement but decided against it,but that was the only real complaint.Will i go back there?for sure.

Room Tip: Not block 10 if you like a siesta
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatiania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Travelled here for a week this March and had a great time. We were prepared for this to be a quiet relaxing holiday and thats exactly what you get in Makadi Bay - its the middle of nowhere and thats a good thing!

The hotel itself is a massive complex, Its not 5 star standard but is a good standard, rooms are basic enough but the rest of the complex makes up for it..

As a Thomas Cook Select customer you are on ultra all inclusive which means that you can eat in all the alacarte restaurants - this is one of the massive bonuses of this hotel, notably the asian, beduoin and greek fish restaurants are a much better standard than the Italian and Steakhouse.

The main buffet restaurant is very busy but has a great selection of food, it is quite catered for the Russian guests but there is still plenty to eat.

The drinks are great aswell and we were well looked after in the lobby bar (premium spirits) by the friendlilst staff member of the lot, Faddy - drinks were never empty, thanks :)

We got this on a late deal with Thomas Cook and couldnt have been anymore satisified!

Room Tip: We had a connecting room and had very noisy Russian neighbours who were very loud, try to avoid conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exrepmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Spent two weeks at end of March at this hotel.
Lovely surprise as everything was absolutely lovely. I am a fussy eater and I ate well the whole time we were there. We used all the a la carte restaurants, Aisian was our favourite.
All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us even without tipping.
The entertainment staff were fantastic and never stopped from morning to very late every night. They asked everyday for us to join in the activities and although we said no each time they kept trying without being annoying. The shows were a nice end to each evening after dinner and before our nightcap cocktails? It did get cold in the evenings so you do need to pack a few jumpers.
Enjoy your holiday.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

When we arrived a welcome drink was given,and our room keys very efficient. We met Mr Hasim,front of house manager, excellent reassuring and caring as was all reception staff we spoke to.7 AL-A-Carte Resturants. Asian was our favourite.Siade Hassein Kalid always smiling. Mexican a favourite where Manager Mr Mamood could not do enough for us,also Naseem.Steak house was very good a bit windy ,as this is outside.We shopped at the tee shirt shop in the Hotel,where Beshoy gave us excellent service. Animation team, Mido curly,Joe,Midoo,Jenar were amazing shows. Pool Bar service by Saleh, Bassim And Mohamed (Maradona) was excellent. We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.7 km away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.6 km away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
13.4 km away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.9 km away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
18.5 km away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price range (per night): $101 - $207
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing