We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shedwan Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 158
USD 143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 210
USD 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sea World(Hurghada)
USD 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 206
USD 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
USD 209
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
22
48
25
8
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
48
25
8
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I can not believe it! We book holidays for one week in Hurghada, a horrible place! there are no roads, streets are all unfinished, the buildings are also unfinished, rubish everywhere.... You need to see it to believe it!
The egyptian man are dirty and smelly, the only thing they want is your money! They look at my wife constantly with their dirty disgusting looks! Taxi drivers, hotel staff, bazar shop guys.... are like a pest!!! they don't let you alone, constantly asking for money.
It was so bad, that we cancel the holidays and move to a place called El Gouna! Only forty minutes hurghada. What a difference, even the filthy egyptian look nicer there! There was nice educated and rich egyptian people. The bazar guys and hotel seem to be trained to not hassle the tourist.... What a diference! I recommend el Gouna but I will never ever go back to Hurghada!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to El gouna, Steigenberger, Movenpick or Sheran
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The hotel is good for all kinds of vacation for both mature people as well as for young, because the hotel is located not far from the center, so it is easy to go out even every night.
The staff is really friendly and the service is on a very good level.
The food is nice and various.
Wish to come back...)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gvktoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I stayed there last summer and found the staff courteous, the food nice and the pool and area well maintained.

Dont be fooled this is NOT a 4 star hotel. Maybe 3 star but not that perfect. It was quiet and near the beach but the sea is very salty and it was too hot to stay by the beach.

The main thing you need to know is; the hotel is quite nice and I have no servere complaints and the staff were very friendly but the surrounding area is like baghdad! Its broken buildings and wastelands are not pleasant. The main thing is the locals. every shop liteally tries to drag you in and if you do go in a shop you cant browse as you are forced and pushed around with people shoving things in your face.

We went to a bar once and stubmled on a party on the way back. they invited us in and were very friendly but when it came time to pay for our 1 round of drinks they charged us about 10 times the normal amount.

All they want to do over there is rip you off and I would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timmallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We arrived at the Shedwan Garden hotel... or the 'prison cell' on 6th april 2010 and were horrified to be told by the unhelpful reception staff, that the hotel is in the process of shutting down for renovation! This meant that almost all of the facilities that had made us want to come to the Shedwan Garden were in fact shut! That includes the health club and gym, all but two of the restaurants, and the entire animation program such as beach games and nighttime shows. This meant that there was absoloutely nothing to do at night other than sit in the lobby and gawp at the atrocious clothing of the numerous russians staying at the hotel! We were initially allocated a room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the busy, unpleasant main road, the room was also dark, dingy, and smelt strongly of cigarette smoke despite a no smoking sign on the door. We then asked them if we could have a different room with a better view and possibly a balcony. After a few hours they showed us our new room... Oh dear!... Although i admit that the view was much better and we had a balcony, i have to say i have stayed in better youth hostels! there was one plug socket in the entire room which was meant for the fridge so to charge our phones or use the hairdrier we had to make the decision whether to unplug the television or the fridge! In addition to this there was a constant smell of urine/sewerage in the bathroom and when we opened our door to go onto the corridor which overlooked wasteland with corregated iron shacks! This meant that we got no sleep because the wind made the corregated iron sheets clatter and created an unbearably loud clanging sound! We felt that our room was totally insecure, even the safety deposit box was missing, which made us think that it had possibly been stolen as the door into our room didn't lock easily and even when it was locked i was fairly sure that my sixteen year old daughter could have kicked it down had she tried! The food was... well... dreadful. All the tables and cutlery were.. sticky! all the food warmers and toasters were greasy and could of done with being replaced. One lunchtime when eating around the pool I went to open a metal food warmer only to be subjected to a painful electric shock! this was the final straw for us and at the welcome meeting that follwed, i begged our holiday rep Mohab to move us to a better hotel. He initially offered to move us to the 'Grand Resort' for £50 each and we agreed but then when he came back later that evening he said that there was no longer any availability but that he could get us into the Siva Grand Beach the following day however it was going to be £100 each! by this point we were so desperate to get out of the Shedwan that we agreed. On the morning of our departure even the waiters and porters who were reasnobly friendly, cheered and seemed happy for us that we were escaping. When we asked them if they knew anything about the Siva Grand Beach they checked to make sure the managers wern't nearby but then openly admitted that it was a much better hotel than the Shedwan, and they gave us the impression that the Shedwan had a bad reputation in Hurghada. We believe that the Shedwan may have been awarded its supposed '4 star' status a VERY long time ago however it is definitely past it now and we would advise anybody who has booked to stay here in the near future to alter your accomodation before you leave the UK, as we feel we may have been ripped off by the travel company in Egypt. We would happily recommend the Siva grand beach as we found it be brilliant. Thankgod we only spent two days at the Shedwan Garden hotel, we wouldn't wish it on anybody!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank motheranddaughter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

It has a 4 star rating but I feel that this must have been awarded a long time ago. It was like a hotel being 'run down' prior to sale or something. The whole place was dirty; the food equipment (grill etc) was filthy and covered in tatty silver foil to hide its caked on grease. The bathrooms had no plugs for the sink or bath. The grouting was green and black with mould, the tiles were chipped and dirty. We were allowed only one small toilet roll per day, shampoo etc were not replenished (it was one teeny bottle to last the week). Yes, you could get some more if you went to the very grumpy receptionist and asked for it. In the restaurant the food was edible but average. The milk was watered down (honest, it was - it hardly resembled milk but was labelled 'full fat milk'). The pool had a ring of scum around the edge and the sunbeds were constructed of rotting wood which were, in the main, broken; upon which you placed your threadbare beach towel. The management 'barked' at the staff constantly so that they were surly. Nobody was overly pleasant to the guests as the Egyptians usually are.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Egyptaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews