We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Palm Royale
Ranked #13 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We spent a wonderful week at this hotel during the Easter holidays. It was a wonderful, relaxing experience, just as described in the brochure. The main reception area was sheer luxury whilst the grounds are beatifully designed and kept in an immaculate condition.
Our bedroom I could not fault and all of the restaurants were of good quality. It was a pity that some dishes had to be purchased as extra when we were on an all inclusive package. The drinks were good and we were always served promptly. The beach was clean and there was never any problem in obtaining a bed. Our son was impressed with the watersports he was able to enjoy.
However, what really impressed us were the fantastic staff who could not do enough for us and always made us feel so welcome. We were even given a cake for our wedding anniversary. Too many staff to name all, I'm afraid, but I do have to mention the people on reception, Haitham and Kassem, the staff in Johnny's Bar and the pool bar, Aziem, Adel, Katam, Mohammed Samir and the lovely young Italian man on the animation team.
Would we go back again? Without a doubt, yes!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,902 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

What a wonderfui hotel. From the magnigicent reception area with domed ceilings and gilt statues everywhere to the large palm tree lined beach, heaven. The staff were exceptional, from the cleaner Abdul who always had a smiling face to the bar staff at the Azur Bar and Johnnys Bar and the Food and Beverage Manager Mr Iranka Mallawarachchi who was so kind to us. We had a beachfront room and had a wonderful view overlooking the sea and it was lovely and quiet.
The food in all the 5 restaurants was of a good standard, our favourite was the Greek restaurant
which was very authentic having a Greek Head chef and a Greek Guitar player and singer.
The staff there were of a very high standard. Everywhere you went the staff couldnt do more for you and we were very impressed as we are used to Dubai hotels where the service is of a high standard and this hotel didnt come far short of that. Only two negative remarks, the bed in the room was exceedingly hard and the water in the outdoor swimming pool was too cold, it needed heating as I just couldnt swim in it which was a shame as I do love swimming, I had to swim in the sea which was much warmer but it was shallow and you couldnt have a proper swim but at least it cooled you off!
All in all a lovely holiday in an exceptional hotel for Egypt and we will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room on the right hand side, it was very quiet and had lovely views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Having read the excellent reviews we decided to take a second trip to Egypt, (after bad experience last year with the egyptian tummy) The hotel standard lived up to our expectations and exceeded in some areas. No point repeating the goods things mentioned but concentrate on the areas that caused us some issues. Firstly we travelled with T Cook and the flights / transfers mean that you arrive at the hotel late in the evening. No provisions were made for us and therefore arrived at the hotel to find the restaurant closed and the only option of food was to call the room service and pay for the food. We were surprised to find an hotel of this standard does not a 24 hour snack bar available, On your last day you will find that you all inclusive ceases at 12 noon (unless you pay 50.00 euros to keep your room longer) therefore you have to pay for any drinks you need after this time. This would not be an issue if you were leaving in the morning but most of the pick up seem to take place after 6pm. It seems unfair that you are penalised at the start and finish of the holiday.
Secondly In your mini bar there are some thing which are free and some you have to pay for - this can be confusing. Think it should just be all inclusive or filled with things that are free.
Thirdly this hotel is marketed for both families and couples. We found very little effort made to accommodate those travelling without children, this was mainly an issue when dining. This could be easy rectified by offering adult only areas in the dining room and the option of adult only dining in the speciality restaurants ( for example adults only after 8pm or 1 night assigned to adults only) This can easily be accomplished as they made special provisions for a large group of italians that were at the hotel when we were there.

My husband and I both got ill on the last day and the doctor was superb in getting us fit to travel. I was about to add that I thought it must have been an isolated case (but just read a further review dated 5/5 which mentioned that people had sickness and rash - which was exactly the same for us) I must say however, I have never seen such cleanliness and excellent standards of food preparation and serving in the buffet. All staff seems trained and fully aware of what was required. We are putting our problem down to a visit to the Italian speciality restaurant, which was a real shame as upto that point had mainly been impressed with the buffet and speciality restaurants (Greek for us was the worst)

My final comment is just a thanks to all the staff who were so friendly and accommodating, and I believe are the reason why people continue returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NEtravellers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

First impression very good. Reception staff however a bit aloof and unfriendly some times.Room very good and position on beach great. A bit out of the way if you want to get out of the hotel . If you like walking along the beach you can only go so far because the are all private.
Entertainment is poor and not worth bothering with. All inclusive package is all local drinks and they stick to the bar times to the minute. We could not check out until 18-00 and from 12-00 on the dot the all inclusive package finished. They would not even give you water. Food just about passable in the main canteen. Some days better than others. They have different restraunts you can try which are better than the main buffet area and it is waiter service.
The majority of the staff are very friendly and helpful. You get asked to go on scuba diving trips and have massages regularly but they do not go on and on and will leave you once you say no
We went for a sunshine break and relaxation . We certainly got that and for the cost of the holiday it was well worth it.
However it might seem petty but why they cannot keep open the all inclusive until you leave is beyond me. It is the last memory we will have of our holiday and that is a shame

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view. Some rooms in the main building overlook the stage and bars but it was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

We were stay at Palm Royale last month. There is no word to describe about the hotel. As per previous comments said paradise in the earth. This is absolutely correct. I am really wonder why some of them giving minus point about this gorgeous hotel. I have been most of the countries around the world and stayed world class hotel. I can say one of the best hotel among them and best in Egypt. Normally I do not like to write review in any web site. Especially I thought to write after reading negative comments about this superb hotel. I wondering how come this real 5 star deluxe can go to rank 6. Service, Cleaness,Facilities, Beach and Friendly staff. Always willing to help. Great hotel in Egypt

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gooddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
36.2 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
2,538 reviews
18.5 km away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
35 km away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
27.6 km away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#3 of 222 in Hurghada
1,406 reviews
22.4 km away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hurghada

Been to SENTIDO Palm Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Palm Royale

Address: Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Palm Royale Soma Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $95 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Palm Royale 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the 1.2 km long private sand beach in Egypt is the Palm Royale. Here you can relax and enjoy the perfect holiday with your family and friends. The two bays offer a perfect atmosphere for privacy and enjoying the weather. The Palm Royale is just 45 km away from the airport of Hurghada and 50 km to the city center of Hurghada. Moreover, the city Safaga is just 12 km away from the Palm Royale. You have got the possibility to use the free WIFI from the hotel. Furthermore, the Palm Royale offers a kids club, Babysitting, a playground for children, a gym and four tennis courts. The meals are served in form of a buffet with fresh cuisine in the Palm Royale. Furthermore, several a la carte restaurants offer a huge variety of fresh meals. Many sport activities are offered during your holidays. You have the possibility to play beach volleyball, water ball, use the gym and many other water sports activities. Furthermore, the Palm Royale has got a spa area to relax and enjoy the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Palm Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing