We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have previously been to the crystal bay hotel and thought it was fantstic, well it has upped the bar even more. We arrived at the hotel just after 9pm and given a welcome drink, checkin took about 10 minutes from there we were took straight to evening meal so that we wouldn't miss it. There was 7 in our party my mother who is 74, myself, 2 sisters and our partners from the start this was a holiday to remember. We have all stayed in all inclusive and we rated the accomodation, the food, service as good if not better as the 5 star's we had stayed at.
The food was excellent and none of us struggled. I would highly recommend the oriental in the hotel next door, but for all 7 of us the indian was one of the best we have tasted.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and met all our requirements, you do need to ask for an iron, previously they were in the rooms.
Service was excellent, but special thanks to Kaeser on the bar, Mohammed who waited on our table in the buffet and a big thanks to Yousif in the lobby bar.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and will be going back in the future
Carol

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Ms. Carol,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you and your family again in SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,093 - 2,097 of 3,746 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just got back from an 11 night stay here. I have stayed at lots of 4-5 star All Inclusive holiday resorts over the last 15 years and have to say this is THE best I have ever stayed at. As with everyone's reviews of this hotel, the Staff really are amazing, I dont just mean some of them but every single one. However a few special mentions to Yousif from the Lobby Bar, Sameh and Abden from the main dining room, Mamoud( Chef ) from the Main restuarant.and Alaa from the Beach restaurant and Club Lounge bar. Food very good, Al a carte restaurants being exceptional. Cleanliness in the hotel is second to none. The rep said that the hotel never books more than 60% of capacity and it shows. None of the usual carnage at meal times or struggling to find a sunbed after 9 in the morning. If you are looking for a nice relaxing, smart hotel then look no further . You will not be disappointed. Recommend booking a beach cabanna for at least a day. Well worth 20 quid. We went on a snorkeling trip with Blue Waves based in the hotel next door against advice from the rep and I am glad we did, it was amazing., it is a must. The food on the trip left a little to be desired ( or had I just been spoilt by the food in the hotel? )

Room Tip: Room 557, a junior suite gets the last of the sun on the balcony and has a view of the beach. Is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dave0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay in our hotel and we are very pleased to know that you had a great time with us.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back home in SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort and make your next stay an unforgettable experience.

With best regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Overall: we had a great holiday and really enjoyed staying at the Sentido Crystal Bay. We hope to go back, money and time permitting.

Staff: really friendly, hardworking and helpful, particular mention to Karim and Natayla on the Entertainment Team and Mahmoud the fantastic bartender at the Lobby Bar. Any problem and Yulia the guest relations manager was ready to help us.

Room: very comfortable-we had two small double beds with quality linen and two comfortable big pillows with a fifth in the wardrobe. As noted in another review the bathroom was a bit tired but perfectly adequate. We noticed after a couple of days that we had been bitten by mosquitoes. It was not until the end that we discovered the source of the mosquitoes-the bathroom. We think they might have been coming through vent or drain. We did not mention it as we were leaving shortly but are confident the issue would have been promptly dealt with had we raised it. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom but if you have long hair we would suggest taking your own.

Grounds and pool: The grounds are nicely landscaped and were being finished off during our stay. There are two huge swimming pools and a kiddie’s pool and a large Jacuzzi pool. The table tennis table is situated between the pools. Throughout our stay, staff were to be seen constantly cleaning the public areas and the pool-very impressive. We had requested the third floor and we were very happy. However, if stairs are a problem we would suggest requesting a ground floor room as there are no lifts to the rooms. The hotel has its own private beach and has a nice lagoon in which you can swim. Sometimes there are jelly fish but we were told they are harmless. The adjoining hotels do not have a lagoon area so if you want to swim in the sea this is a good hotel to stay at especially as there are sand banks when the tide goes out. We used the fitness centre on a number of occasions. This is fully equipped with treadmill, stepper, cross trainer, multigym and free weights. It is also staffed while open which is comforting although a bit boring for the attendant. The hotel has a modern look about it compared with the neighbouring hotels which go for a more traditional/historical look. As a result as you approach it, it looks less impressive. Don’t let this put you off. We looked round the adjoining hotels and the Sentido is much fresher, luxurious and contemporary.

Restaurants and bars: The main buffet restaurant is great. You can either eat outside (you are sheltered from the sun by canopies) or inside taking advantage of the air conditioning. We tended to eat outside save for breakfast when we ate inside. The buffet is of a high quality with a large selection. A lot of the food is typical buffet food-lots of salads, vast array of breads and rolls, two soups, pasta, as well as Egyptian and other European hot food. For pudding there is a large selection of fruit and cakes. In addition to the main buffet restaurant there is a beach restaurant which as well as serving some food which is the same as the main restaurant also serves snacks. Our preference was to use the main restaurant but we understand that people who used the beach restaurant were very happy. The beach restaurant also incorporates a bar. In addition to this bar there is the pool bar, the lobby bar, a cocktail bar, nightclub bar and sports bar. The lobby has a pianist in the early evening-he is very talented and it was a pleasure to sit and listen to him while having a cocktail prepared by Mahmoud who looked after us really well. There is also live music on the terrace outside the lobby bar (a singer with backing tapes). Again we enjoyed listening to these performers some of whom are very talented. In addition to the main restaurant there are two specialty restaurants-an Indian and Italian. These you have to book in advance. They don’t seem to open every day so suggest you book as soon as you arrive (via a computer screen in the main lobby). We went to the Indian twice. The food is very good but as noted in other reviews the portions are small and you generally can’t order more than one item for each course. We spoke to someone who went to the Italian who said it was again very good food but the portions were on the small side. The pool bar and beach restaurant closed at 5.00pm although the information leaflet we were given on arrival says 6.00pm. Our all inclusive package included local drinks-both beer and wine was very drinkable. The beer in the lobby bar is bottled whereas the beer in the main restaurant, pool bar and beach bar is draught. Personally we preferred the draft which seemed a bit lighter.

Animation team: work very hard to get guests involved in the various activities such as boules, morning gym, darts, step aerobics, water polo football and tennis. We joined the morning gym class most mornings-essentially yoga/pilates which was run by Natayla. She was great fun and very talented; however, you don’t have to have done yoga before to enjoy yourself. Each evening there was a short show in the amphitheatre lasting about forty minutes. There is a bar there as well. What the show lack in sophistication is made up by enthusiasm.

Outside: There are some shops opposite the hotel. We didn’t see anything worth buying but no doubt you can pick up some souvenirs. There is also a shopping mall within easy walking distance with lots of designer brands and a large supermarket and a McDonalds. However, there is not much else to see. Next door on both sides are just more hotels. The two on the right (as you face the sea) are run by the same company. You can go round these and the windsurfing is based in the first hotel. These seemed a lot busier with a high number of Russians. During our stay the Sentido was less than fifty per cent full with the guests being mainly French English German and Russian.

Weather: very hot and sunny. On some days by late afternoon the sun was blocked by clouds but still very warm. Most days there was a nice breeze although this could make the sea choppy if you are planning a boat ride.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank D3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to get such a detailed and positive review. It is great to know that you are happy with your holidays and you high evaluation of our hotel and the staff is very much appreciated.
We do hope that for your next vacation you will again choose SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from 10 day stay at this hotel.It has a beautiful reception area and staff are always willing to help.
rooms are large and airy. Was a little unsure why we had weighing scales in the bathroom! Unless it was so you could check you we not eating too much in the nice restaurants.
Food was great with no issues finding a table or queuing for the excellent choice of foods
No problems getting sun beds at any time of day
Only have 2 negative comments...could do with laying soon food on for late arrivals and improve the appalling Internet connection. We paid for a week only to discover that the only place we could log on was in the lobby
Definitely worth another visit

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank chatterbox21362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear guest,

We are very pleased that you had a nice and relaxing stay with us and would like to thank you for sharing your holiday experience.
All the team will be happy to welcome you back home in SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort to make your next holidays as comfortable as possible.

With best regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

From our arrival at Sentido Crystal Bay to (sadly) leaving to come home, everything was perfect.
Every part of the hotel we saw was super clean and beautiful.
Our room was spotless and quite large, and was cleaned well every morning.
The pool areas were good, we had no trouble finding sun loungers, towels etc. There were sellers around the pools but they weren't nearly as persistent as we've seen in some other hotels, and you could put a red flag up to deter them if you don't want to be disturbed.
The food at the main restaurant was varied, and very tasty. We were ultra a/i and could book any of the a la carte restaurants for free as many times as we liked. I would definitely recommend the indian a la carte.
The drinks were nice, especially the cocktails, to my taste there wasn't really a difference between the local and branded varieties.
The animation team were great, so funny. All the shows were good, but the Comedy Show was a must see!
All this and what really makes this hotel is the STAFF. They are really friendly. They couldn't do enough for you, and just want you to have a great holiday. They don't ever expect a tip, no hanging around unnecessarily after helping you. They are all up for a chat, but never impose if a guest wants to be left alone.
There were so many people who deserve a mention: Mahmoud, Youssif and Mahmoud in the lobby bar; Aldo, Mimo, Negga, Kimo and Marco from Animation; Sayed in the pool bar, Krm, Aziz and Mohamed from recreation were also very helpful every day. The list could go on and on as every member of staff we met were brilliant.
Thanks to them all for making our holiday perfect. We are already planning a return trip!

Room Tip: We had a pool view room, which was central, not too far from the main restaurant or lobby, pools or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gemma_smallpeice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort. We do appreciate your high appraisal of our hotel and the staff. It is good to know that you were happy with your holidays and it will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back home in SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#30 of 222 in Hurghada
2,648 reviews
17.8 km away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
14.6 km away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#22 of 222 in Hurghada
3,864 reviews
9.3 km away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,447 reviews
13.9 km away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Address: Safaga Road | KM 20 Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $103 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Prestigia, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing