We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“miserable !”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Arena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arena Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“miserable !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

stayed at Arena during December . Its about 22 degrees during the day, but down to 12 in evening. This is obviously not Arenas fault but the bar is wide open to the outside at night . Every one huddled around in coats trying to look like they are enjoying themself.
The place is run down and grubby but not dirty!!
Lots of mozzys about and with bad fitting windows, drain vents and not so good AC
it was a real problem
The staff are mostly very friendly and helpful.
Will I come back .? In summer (march to October)maybe but price would have top be very keen.
There are lots of better places at similar prices

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    218
    67
    31
    14
See reviews for
89
216
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Third time in El Gouna, Third time at the Arena Inn - everything that was good on the previous visits, were equally good this time. Friendly staff, rooms well maintained and as always the waether was great - although the staff hadnt much control over that part!
Unfortuantely it would seem that UK tour operators such as Thomas Cook, First Choice/Thomson are moving out and will not offer it next year - just means that i will have to look at alternative ways and means. Thanks once again for a great holiday - Arena Inn

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baz_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Hotel is perfect for relax and enjoy holiday in Elgona, hurgada , Egypt.
Price is god, friendely stuff , clean room , houskeeper do there job well.

i recommend the hotel 100%
Hotel stuf is friendly and helpful, great impration once you arrive and they do there jobe as it have to be done, the pool stuf is friendly and they make there best to make the gust enjoy there holiday , the activety on the pool side is good enough to fill the day and they offer some snorkel trips too. organized scheduel for the pool activty and the best in wednesday is the oriantel show is great

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolfin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I've been to Gouna 5 times in the last 4 years and stayed at the Steigengerger and Sheraton before choosing this time to stay at the Arena. We stayed at the Arena knowing everything about it is reasonable. The evening buffets can be good if you catch them on the right day and so-so if you go when the menu is not so good - subjective I know - The Downtown area the Marinas and the tranquil no hassle life of El Gouna, is for me what makes it the best. The Arena Inn is a nice clean cosy little place to rest your head. You wake up to a fantastic breakfast, then the day is about golf, snorkelling, relaxing by thier nice pool or choosing between the lagoon and the sea for a quick dip. Sea fishing desert trekking I've tried and enjoyed them all. Wonderful restaurants downtown, thats why I wouldnt reccomend all inclusive. Its always good to return to nice clean hotel room at the end of a energy sapping hot sunny day. Big up Arena, Big up Gouna Nothing against the Arena but next time I'm going to rent an apartment or a villa, Inshalla!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigbobbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

After quite a bit of homework about both El Gouna and The Arena Inn - I have to say I wasn't let down by either!
Hotel is in a great location, exceptionally clean and staff just brilliant - all super friendly and smiley and very, very helpful. These guys work long hours and yet they always had a smile and joke for you. Just remember, it's not a big, plush, fancy hotel, but more of a nice, comfy, down to earth hotel, where you are treated as a welcome friend rather than just a room number, which I personally prefer.
My room overlooked the pool/lagoon - had a nice little balcony with the usual two chairs and table, so lovely to start each day off sitting admiring the view for a few minutes! The room certainly not the biggest I've ever stayed in, but more than comfy enough and kept spotlessly clean by Ashraf. Always hot water for showers, bed really comfy, air-con, safe, hairdryer included, tv in room but never even switched it on! Mini bar extra with usual mini bar prices.
Breakfast was great - scrummy pastries, fresh fruit salad, omlettes/pancakes made freshly to order. I was originally going by myself and had booked AI, but then a friend booked to come along and wish I had changed to B&B - as personally I found the evening buffet selection very poor and seriously struggled on a couple of nights to find anything at all. But not a major problem due to choice of restaurants downtown, which was literally just a couple of minutes walk away.
No getting up at crack of dawn to bag a sunbed either, which was lovely! maybe when hotel is full this is different? but for sure this time you had your pick at any time of the day. Pool was kept super clean, nice thick mattress on lounger, big pool towels provided and more than enough umbrellas - everything you need for a hard day's sunbathing!!
My only slight moan is for non-smokers it was almost impossible to find a smoke free zone at the bar, most nights we ended up taking our drinks and sitting on a sun bed by the pool - hardly the end of the world I know!! but a few comfy chairs by the pool/in the garden area for us non smokers would have been a bonus. But that's just a personal thought.
So, all in all a brill week - El Gouna is just lovely, super clean and safe, and super great not to be hassled to death by pushy shopkeepers. I really wish I'd gone for two weeks instead of one - still, never mind, guess it's a great excuse to have to go back again soon! We've only been back two days and are already checking out prices for later in the year!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank soozieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.4 km away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.5 km away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.3 km away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#13 of 18 in El Gouna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.6 km away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#17 of 18 in El Gouna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.9 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Inn

Property: Arena Inn
Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#13 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price range (per night): $39 - $102
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Inn Hotel is a convivial mid-sized El Gouna hotel offering all the amenities expected of a Red Sea holiday resort. Built along the saltwater lagoon that separates the island of Kafr El Gouna from the Downtown mainland area, the hotel offers a peaceful waterfront setting a few steps from all the facilities and services of the fully integrated resort town of El Gouna. Cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, shopping galleries, and evening entertainment venues with live music and shows are all within walking distance. The hotel's infinity pool overlooks a swimming lagoon bordered by a small sandy beach. Arena Inn guests also have access to the hotel's sea beach on nearby Zeytouna Island, reached by shuttle boat or bus, where some of the best snorkeling in El Gouna can be found. Arena Inn's main restaurant, Laguna, is built to resemble a wooden ship's interior. It boasts splendid views over the turquoise lagoon from its panoramic wooden deck. The Arena Inn counts 144 hotel rooms in three main buildings facing the lagoon on one side and the golf course on the other. This Red Sea hotel is family friendly, offering entertainment opportunities, a kids playground, as well as connecting rooms for added convenience. It also welcomes couples and groups of friends. The Arena Inn is particularly appreciated for its very nice atmosphere, and repeat guests praise the staff's friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Otel, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Arena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel El Gouna
Arena Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing