We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Dawar El Omda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dawar El Omda
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here for a week in February 2012. Should have stayed here 12 months earlier, but because of the troubles at that time, most hotels in El Gouna were closed, and we were transferred to the Movenpick.
We found the Hotel to be exactly as we expected. A small boutique hotel, very Egyptian. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Stayed B&B and breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.A chef was on hand to cook omelettes and other egg dishes. Only criticism would be the lack of lighting around steps and stairs etc. Not good for the frail or poor of sight ! Rooms were cleaned every day.
Hotel is literally round the corner from the town square, and all the restaurants and shops located in ' Downtown'. We ate out at various restaurants. In particular, the greek Athena restaurant was good, as was the Thai restaurant. We met a couple from Sweden there, who had dined there 6 times during their stay. Plenty of choice from Algerian to Mexican to even Egyptian. Easy to get to Marina area by Tuk Tuk where there are many other places to eat.
Spent day times in Beach Club opposite hotel, because it had better shelter from the wind, which can get up at this time of year. Complimentary boat shuttle to Zeytouna Island is very handy, although once you get there, it is not immediately apparent which part of the beach is for Dawar guests. Not much there but again the restaurant was fine for lunch. Obviously a good place for sun worshippers when it shines.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

Nice Hotel, Good location and Good for value of money

Room Tip: Roon number 100 which they call it the honeymoon suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamedghanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Nice and friendly, reasonable clean, average standard, close to shops and restaurants, ok breakfast buffet (didn't try the restaurant).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredrikGillving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Almost made the mistake of requesting a hotel change prior to our visit following some of the reviews - thank goodness we didn't! On previous visits to Egypt my daughter and I have stayed in 5 star accomadation in Luxor so the Dawar El Omda had a lot to live up to, and I'm pleased to say that it well and truly did!!
What a wonderful gem this place is. It has a charming shabby chic quality and the location is stunning. Quiet; intimate; first class, non intrusive service; lovely touches such as daily treats from the kitchen (those kiwi tarts were to die for!), wet face flannels, fruits and sorbets round the pool were a lovely surprise and much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were always checking that you were happy with things.
Thank you so much to all the staff for making our stay so special - I am confident you will do the same when we return next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Spent 11 nights here and cant wait to go back! i love el gouna anyway, this was our 2nd time and the hotel was nice n peaceful, really clean, very pretty, and such nice staff, so friendly and helpful.
theres a shuttle boat that takes you to a zaytouna beach which is really nice for a bit more life and activity! lots of water sports down there and a nice couple o resturants. you could actualy swim to it from the hotel!
our room was a deluxe & really spacious nicely furnished too, massive comfy bed, good shower and a big balcony looking over the lagoon ......... lovely!
we only went b&b as we like to go out to eat and the square is a realy good place to eat ( the henna) but the brekky was good, the usual stuff.
if you like to dive the boys at www.dive connection.com are the best! they are really lovely people, spesh `sayed` he was our instructor, he really looked after us and is so funny! lunch on the boat was yummy and the dive sites were stunning, posiedon gardens was my favorite, just beautiful.
We had visits from dolphins on 2 out of 3 days! fantastic, they stayed with us for 25 mins one day!
Thrers a beach club opposite the hotel which we spent quite a bit of time at, they serve great food & cocktails, play good music, have a good size infinity pool and great double sunloungers & hammocks! showers and nice clean washrooms, really pretty place. A girl called rebbecca makes organic face creams & stuff in the spa there too, i got some lovely products from her.
all in all a fantastic holiday, cant wait to book the dawar el omda again for next year.

Room Tip: room 215 was great, but i would imagine they are all nice, very quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracenlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 km away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 km away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
262 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
409 reviews
1.8 km away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
480 reviews
0.8 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawar El Omda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawar El Omda

Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#12 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: $40 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dawar El Omda 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique establishment among Red Sea hotels, Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is built in the style of an old Upper Egyptian mayor's mansion. The traditional house's architecture is authentic to the core. Domes and arches in natural beige tones grace the exterior, while superb interior design gives pride of place to antique furniture and handcrafted decor pieces. Spanning across the saltwater lagoon that separates the island of Kafr El Gouna from the Downtown area of Tamr Henna Square, the hotel extends on both sides of the waterway, which are linked by a stone arch bridge. Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is reserved for guests aged 18 and over Guests at Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel can swim wherever they fancy thanks to direct access to the lagoon from the hotel's small private beach, an infinity pool overlooking the lagoon, and shuttle boat access to the hotel's sea beach on nearby Zeytouna Island. Situated in the heart of El Gouna, Dawar El Omda is also adjacent to a myriad of bars, restaurants, shopping arcades, supermarkets, service providers, and entertainment venues featuring folklore shows and live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dawar El Omda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawar El Omda Hotel El Gouna
Dawar El Omda Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing