We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet place to unwind and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet place to unwind and relax”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from a relaxing holiday in the sun with my wife (March 2012). Location is in stumbling distance from downtown area but is nice and sheltered with a quiet pool overlooking the lagoon and quick boat shuttle to Zeytona beach.

Can't fault the rooms, and the view was quite nice - no screaming kids or drunken chavs. Staff were very friendly and helpful - most likely tho because my wife is pretty damn good lookin :)

Food was surprisingly good and again staff were great. We tried out 2 other hotels with the dine around scheme - Ocean View was tasteless, hectic and horrible (won't reccomend) and The Steinberger had great food but a bit stuffy atmosphere with a bad karaoke singer singing out of key (altho that seems to be the norm for all "entertainers" in el gouna)

Oh and the sunshine, even tho we were in the tail end of their windy season, was very nice. (altho I've been living in the UK for over 6 years now so I'm quite easy to please when it comes to sunshine).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tosh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    295
    61
    21
    10
See reviews for
183
337
70
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

i stayed at the Sultan Bey in Novemeber and have visited Egypt on many occasions. El Gouna being one of my favourites. The hotel is smll compared to others in the area but the staff are friendly and helpful. The infinity pool is lovely althouh again, its not huge like some. The rooms were comfortable and we had a terrace looking out onto the gardens. We only ate at the hotel once as its in such a great spot to get into downton El Gouna.
El Gouna is beautiful, complete contrast to the likes of Hurghada and Sharm. If you want the weather but not the hassle this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethcamp
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Sultan Bey hotel El Gouna.What a marvellous place!.The location is perfect,close to the square and Downtown and the boat leaves from the lagoon outside to Zeytouna island.The staff are wonderful..nothing is too much trouble for them We booked a Thomas Cook flight and the hotel through Booking.com .The hotel will arrange a taxi for you for 120 egyptian pounds each way.Its around 35 mins from the airport.If i had to moan about anything, there were no coffee making facilities in the room but we could always get hot water at the poolside bar!.Do try the clubhouse next door, the food at lunchtime is lovely and they have a beach and pool that you can use at no cost.They also have free WIFI access.
Abu Tig marina is well worth a visit...50p in a Tuk Tuk takes about 5 minutes.There are some fabulous restaurants and the marina is stunning....although it was very quiet the night we went.
Other reccommended restaurants are the White Elephant, Ceviche (which also has free wifi access) Jobos sports bar, Tambal which is an "irish" pub where the Guiness costs £10 a can...but again..free WIFI !!!!. The Oriental Grill was great and also a place called Upstairs, which was gorgeous.
Wine can be bought from the Bst Way supermarket for around £6 a bottle..expect to pay at least double that in a restaurant.!
It is such a shame that so few are visiting El Gouna at the moment, as it is a marvellous winter destination.We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Some of the downstairs rooms are very gloomy we stayed in room 303 which got no sun.Also ask for a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We only stayed in the Sultan Bey for one night but it was a delight! The disadvantage is that it is expensive and on some dates the same price as the Movenpick which is amazing as the hotel is not in the same category, however attractive and appealing. Neither will the management negotiate a discount over the telephone; however we were passing the Sultan Bey and called in to talk about the price. The staff were every friendly and helpful when we met in person and we managed to get a 25% discount because the hotel wasn't full. We still thought the price was high, even after the discount but they offered to throw breakfast and dinner in for no extra cost so we took the offer. To be honest we nearly didn't use the hotel for dinner because there are so many lovely restaurants in El Gouna and it was the last night of our stay, but we decided to try the hotel and go out to the town afterwards. It was an unexpected treat to delight the senses! The restaurant was very pretty, with huge windows overlooking the lagoon, full of exotic flowers and pretty patio style furniture. The waiters were warm and welcome. And the food was definitely not bland as a lot of hotels food, but so well cooked and delicious, with a fantastic choice served buffet style. It really matched the standard of any of the best restaurants in town and we were even entertained with belly dancing and live music whilst we ate. The food included Egyptian and oriental food as well as a wide range of International food. The choice was superb, the food was piping hot and it was all cooked beautifully. One of the other major advantages of this hotel is that it is so Arabic in design and you really do feel that you're experiencing a real bit of Egypt when you stay here, whether it is in the traditional Arabic architecture, the opulent Islamic decor, the warm Egyptian staff or the oriental furnishings (including cushions on the floor, Egyptian carpets and shisha pipes in the courtyard). The Sultan Bey also has an exquisite setting, next to the lagoon and set in an abundance of colourful pots of flowers, shrubs, bougainvillea and trees. The swimming pool is only small but we weren't bothered about that as you can swim in many of the lagoons nearby, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the speedboat hire place, and many bars and restaurants. It really is a little gem in the oasis but you really do need to negotiate a lower price than advertised. It is charging the same as 5 star plus hotels without all the same range of facilities. But if you can negotiate a special price and especially if you can get breakfast or the evening meal included, then you have got yourself a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

El Gouna is hasel free and relaxing with a wonderful climate from Oct to Apr. This was our 3rd visit and it lived up to our past experience. There is accommodation to suit all tastes and pockets but our firm favourite is the Sultan Bey Hotel. Whilst it was one of the first to be built in El Gouna, about 30 years ago, and some parts are looking a little tired, it has so much to commend it that it rates as our favourite. The staff from the Manager through to the gardeners are extremely friendly and polite, and those that serve the guests do everything to ensure an enjoyable holiday - nothing is too much trouble. Food is buffet style with a very wide choice for breakfast and dinner. We stay on half board and have been more than happy with the food. For a change, we use the "dine around" feature which lets you dine at other hotels with a voucher or have the occasional meal in a local restaurant. Sultan Bey is ideally located on a lagoon but only about 5 min walk to Tamar Henna, the square in Downtown, where there are shops restaurants, and banks with ATMs. The Hotel boat ferry runs regularly to the beach and sea at Zeytouna island. The 115 rooms are in 5 blocks of interesting arabian style which are built around lovely gardens and many with lagoon views. The complex is compact with easy access. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean with good storage, free safe and free Air Con/heating. They have good ensuite, mini bar fridge, and flat screen TV with satelite channels. Rooms have balconies with chairs and table. The hotel will organise airport transfer at reasonable cost. For us, Hotel Sultan Bey represents excellent value for money and provides our preferred holiday accommodation in El Gouna.

Room Tip: Rooms very similar but orientation and view differ. Tell Mina in reception what you prefer and he w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.1 km away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.2 km away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#10 of 18 in El Gouna
494 reviews
1.8 km away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#2 of 18 in El Gouna
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
242 reviews
0.6 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.8 km away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Bey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Bey Resort

Property: Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Family Hotel in El Gouna
Price range (per night): $84 - $223
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultan Bey Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Bey is a labyrinth of alleyways, courtyards and domes spreading from the shores of the turquoise lagoons to the heart of Downtown Kafr El Gouna. This 4-star hotel prides itself on providing its guests with services of the highest standard in intimate surroundings. Beautifully decorated rooms enjoy balconies or terraces with views of the lagoonor central courtyard.The hotel provides 115 rooms, standard room with garden or Piazza view and superior rooms with lagoon and/or pool view. Several restaurants and bars are spread over the property, one on Zeytouna Beach Island which is easily accessed with a short Shuttle boat ride to enjoy the open sea. Some chairs and umbrellas are also available on the lagoon beach.Swimming pool and some sport activities are organised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sultan Bey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sultan Bey El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing