We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic weekend”
Review of ICONA Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ICONA Avalon
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I had stayed at the Golden Inn years ago. It was a tired old hotel in desperate need of renovation. I did not return. Until this past weekend. I would not have believed this renovation was even possible. It is fresh and beautiful, with impeccable decorating. The rooms are spa like and fresh with an all white theme. Simply elegant. We ate breakfast and one dinner at the new Brew Pub and Petar was attentive and friendly. Although we like to explore area restaurants since this was our first trip to Avalon, it is nice to be able to grab something to eat right on the property.

The front desk staff could not have been nicer. A lovely women (whose name I cannot remember but begins with A??) was accommodating and friendly. As we requested a room change when a king bed became available for our second night, Matthew make the transition seamless and went out of his way to deliver superb service. Thank you Matthew! He even booked our next year's vacation before we left.

Kudos to Icona!! You developed a true treasure in Avalon. We look forward to our week with you next July!!

Room Tip: 2 chaise lounges are included in the daily room price so no need to drag chairs if 2 is enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at the Golden Inn. You can't ask for a better location and they offer great amenities. The pool area is spacious with two bars near by and a fire pit to sit by in the evening. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I look forward to returning for another vacation there in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Icona Golden Inn was a wonderful stay! Very courteous employees, very clean, nice pool and awesome beach bar restaurant. First time I was in Stone Harbor/Avalon and it's lovely!! - I'd highly recommend it!

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank S564BRlisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The ICONA Golden Inn has been our girls weekend spot for years....on the water, pool, and staff are the reason we keep coming back. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the service is top notch! Alex and CarrieAnn have been outstanding employees in so many ways!
Looking forward to next year!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We made a last minute decision to do a long weeked at Icona...what a great decision. The roooms(we had 2) were gorgeous, the hotel grounds stunning. Staff members Alex and Carrie Ann (sp) and were attentive and outgoing and Alex handled a minor billing snafu quickly. We can't wait to go back and spend more time at this beautiful resort.
Being able to walk to the beach in seconds is perfection.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
14.7 km away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,345 reviews
1.6 km away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
288 reviews
20.1 km away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Beachcomber Resort
27 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
21.2 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ICONA Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ICONA Avalon

Address: 7849 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1071 (Formerly Icona Golden Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range: $159 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ICONA Avalon 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Iconic landmark in Avalon New Jersey, ICONA Avalon beachfront resort stretches across an entire oceanfront block giving guests access to some of the most coveted beach views in New Jersey. ICONA Avalon's seaside decor gives a nod to Nantucket. The all-new interiors, custom furniture, and upscale finishes are the perfect complement to the classic luxury of Avalon. ICONA Avalon is open year-round for family vacations, romantic getaways, corporate meetings & retreats, beachfront weddings and events! Nestled on the dunes of Avalon's award winning beach, ICONA Avalon provides the perfect atmosphere for your dream seaside wedding. Experience a new brand of service and style at the Shore at ICONA Avalon. We can't wait to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your ICONA Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Avalon
Golden Inn Avalon Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing