We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Salinas(Salinas)
USD 460
USD 267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chescos Hostel Hotel & Bar(Salinas)(Great Value!)
USD 28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebeach(Salinas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Al Viento(Salinas)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
18
19
19
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
19
19
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Blue Bay Hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms with excellent views of the Malecon of Salinas, it has a covered garage a little small but safe. Staff is friendly and ready to help in any need. It has a small but clean pool. The location is prime sea front. The prices of the suites start fromn $70 , the suites are large and are equipped with kitchen and refrigerator. When it's season time the Blue Bay gives you complimentary passes for boat rides, free cocktails, among others.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christhian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Seriously go somewhere else. This hotel may have been nice at one time, but the maintenance and customer service has made this a truly poor experience.

We came during the off season and were one of only 3 rooms occupied during our stay. We were placed on the 8th floor in a room on the backside of the hotel with a partial view of the beach, there was no one else on our floor.

Immediately we noticed that our room had an extremely weak connection to the hotel WiFi. The connection to our phones would drop constantly. While frustrating, this wasn't the worst thing that could happen. The connection was decent when working, but obviously didn't reach the corner rooms well.

Shortly after settling into our room we went to shower. We had flown from Quito to Guyaquil at 6:30AM and then bused from Guyaquil to Salinas earlier that day, a warm shower sounded perfect After about 10 minutes of waiting we accepted that we would have to shower cold. We informed the front desk about the issue and they said they'd send someone to check on the it. They didn't actually check the issue until the next morning and their solution was to offer to move us to the room next door. A westward facing room with absolutely no view of the beach. Again this is a 12 story building with something around 74 rooms, 3 of which were occupied, and the best they could do was move us to a no-view room on a completely unoccupied floor.

The final straw though was the laundry service. We were told their dryer was broken, but we desperately needed to do laundry so we asked for the nearest lavanderia. They gave us directions, however it was closed when we arrived. We went back and asked them again. They offered to take our laundry to a different laundromat and bring us a receipt. We were given our laundry the next day, when we asked for the receipt they informed us that they did the laundry in house (what happened to the broken dryer on day 1?) and that the cost was $15. The amount of clothes we had washed fit into one backpack, one load of laundry at most. We asked for the receipt and the front desk clerk responded with "it's on the computer."

The Jacuzzi was empty, the pool was dirty, there was no pool table, no ping pong table, only one of the two elevators were running and even then only sometimes and the laundry service they promised "wasn't working" the first day and then was extremely expensive the second.

This was a terrible experience that cost almost $100 per night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jpatriquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion; 40 yrs. High School reunion, the place has a wonderful Banquet Room. Food service as well as hotel service were outstanding, all decorated with that special touch. There is a cafeteria next to the hotel were you can have any kind of seafood typical dishes like Ceviches and more. Delish..!!! You are just across from the Sea shore and can hear the sea at night if you seat by the balcony. Morning view and evening as well were both incredible. Anyone that goes there will fall in love with the view by the dock. Over the Dock side they have hour rental on boats to go see the humpback whales. Another awesome experience.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bachita0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Scary story - DO NOT STAY HERE

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The cost per night was approximately $200.00 USD plus tax. The room and location were okay, outdated but large and clean. The included breakfast at the restaurant next door was good. The issue we had was upon departure. We came down to check out and, via walky-talkie from the maid in our room on the 11th floor, we were told that there was a small towel missing from the room.

Ironically, I had LEFT a large scarf in the room. So the maid came down to return my scarf and I thought everything was fine - but I was wrong.

The manager arrived and, in collusion with the front desk person and the maid, they were insisting that they be able to go through our bags to look for the missing "small" towel.

Essentially, they wanted to be bribed for the towel and were holding my receipt (with credit card number) hostage until we let them rummage through our things or paid for the towel.

In case there is any question - there was NO MISSING TOWEL – only a plot to get a bribe from two PAYING guests. We enlisted the help of our driver as a third person and witness. He helped us to stand our ground. Eventually and reluctantly they gave us our receipt so that we could leave.

I would not recommend this hotel – EVER – to anyone. The situation could have been a lot worse if our driver didn’t help us.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Sierra1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

I recently stayed at the Hotel Bleu for a single night as part of a packaged tour where the final trip destination in Ecuador was Cuenca. By the luck of the draw, I received a room with a great view of the Salinas Malecón and beach. The suite was spacious and clean and I had a good-night's sleep in what appeared to be a Queen-sized bed. The hotel's convenient location made it easy to walk to a dinner spot located along the Malecón. The following morning, I was served a standard breakfast of eggs, bread, and juice at the restaurant located just outside the front door of the hotel lobby. While the meal wasn't extraordinary, it served its purpose. As a final note, I would add that if you happen get a room on one of the upper floors, be prepared to wait several minutes for one of the two working elevators to arrive.

Room Tip: Street noise not a factor when staying on the higher floors
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews