We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Salinas(Salinas)
USD 460
USD 233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaqana Lodge(Salinas)(Great Value!)
USD 25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca Suites(Salinas)(Great Value!)
USD 75
USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chescos Hostel Hotel & Bar(Salinas)(Great Value!)
USD 34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 28
Booking.com
View Deal
Bluebeach(Salinas)(Great Value!)
USD 28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Ralph's Hostal(Salinas)(Great Value!)
USD 32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 61
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
8
1
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We did struggle to find this oasis and most travellers would be put off by the surrounding areas which In a few years will undoubtably have changed for the better.
It was our first stay on our trip up the coast and we spent two nights here
The only negative was the local dogs who can create at night but that is in part reassuring that we were safe!
The setting, decor and aura of the property is certainly calming for the hard working soul.
The staff are friendly but unobtrusive and the standards of cleanliness are high.
The owners Cecilia and her husband - are knowledgable and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and they were warm and obliging.
It was a huge surprise to open the door and find this "wonderland"
Highly recommended but probably best for adults

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaCanelaEcuador, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for your nice words. So sorry for the local dogs are noise.
Best Reagards
Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

One time I Headed to Salinas with my family and forgot to plan beforehand I had to go around plenty of hotels just to be turned down either by prices or by them being full. a taxi driver referred me to this hotel and said it was a little far but was nice and may have space. I agreed and we went there. the first thing i noticed was that it was on a side of the city that was not treated the best. when we arrived the only thing that i noticed were parrots and plants and a small door that let the way inside. the sun was still up and as we entered we encountered ourselves with a welcoming natural environment and really well thought commodities. as we checked in one of the owners came to us and spoke with us for a while, she was a really nice person she offered to give us a special deal that would save us plenty of money for a couple of rooms to fit the family and make us feel comfortable. when we entered the room we felt nothing was missing and everything was clean and full of detail, the only thing that bothered me was an abundance of mosquitoes but that sums up all of our troubles. overall it was a really nice stay and I would recommend the place for people that love nature and animals since one of the owners rescues animals and takes care of them and don't care to pay a little extra (5$) for transport to the center of the city.

Room Tip: rooms are pretty much the same, overall it depends whether you like to hear the parrots a little more over night or not. and if you like to socialize a little bit try picking a room near the bottom as the owners sometimes are near and make for a really pleasurable time as they play the guitar have stories to tell and occasionally offer a few soft drinks, but again remember they are not always present.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andresfcordovag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you want a retreat style getaway, this is an ideal location. Lots of attention is put on the garden. It's beautifully done and very pleasant to the eyes. Added attractions are the 4 beautiful parrots and the love birds. And let's not forget the 3 small well behaved dogs (Luna, Saphie and the boss Bruno). There is also a nice souvenir shop on the premises. Cecilia the owner and her staff go out of their way to help, complementing your stay with an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: There is only 8 rooms, you just can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudedeslauriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Gorgeous grounds, the hostess is an interior decorator and the rooms are beautifully done in an international style. The spot is located way out of town, you will need lots of taxi rides for lunch, dinner, shopping. Make sure you establish meal and transportation prices ahead of time : we had a lovely lunch the second day which was charged at $18 , I am assuming our two rides into town were included in that price. Nice to know beforehand, however. If the Señora is not there, it will be difficult to get fed, you will need to send out for meals. And pay the delivery fee as well. Those small things aside, it was a lovely experience in beautiful surroundings away from the crowds, listening to the ocean right outside your door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful getaway with excellent personal attention, this is definitely the place. My girlfriend and I recently spent a week at Playa Canela and it was very hard to leave! The rooms are clean and well kept daily, the morning breakfeast is delicious, and the staff is ready to help you with all of your daily needs as you relax in the jacuzzi and swimming pool, or just lounge in a chair and listen to the ocean. Ceclilia and her staff earned 5-stars from us!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews